We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing, large property and well equipt with...”
lead photo: house and front lawn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
lead photo: house and front lawn
Stunning views over lawn and golf course Kits room - lovely south facing bedroom, great for a kids get together, double and three singles
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
104 reviews
lead photo: house and front lawn
Stunning views over lawn and golf course
Kits room - lovely south facing bedroom, great for a kids get together, double and three singles
All beds are dressed with Egyptian cotton sheets and guests are provided with towels
Large comfortable TV lounge, Sky HD+, Sky Sports, BT Sports, books, games and toys
Large comfortable TV lounge, Sky HD+, Sky Sports, BT Sports, books, games and toys
The snug - a hideway that's a great place for a sundowner with a balcony looking south and west
Baby grand piano - tuned and ready to go!
Stunning main lounge - light, huge and lovely! Wood burner, 3 large sofas, music centre, piano.
Stunning main lounge - light, huge and lovely! Wood burner, 3 large sofas, music centre, piano.
Stunning main lounge - light, huge and lovely! Wood burner, 3 large sofas, music centre, piano.
Stunning main lounge - light, huge and lovely! Wood burner, 3 large sofas, music centre, piano.
Time for tea..
Eat-in kitchen, range style cooker, side by side fridge freezer, dishwasher, pots & pans galore
Eat-in kitchen, range style cooker, side by side fridge freezer, dishwasher, pots & pans galore
Eat-in kitchen, range style cooker, side by side fridge freezer, dishwasher, pots & pans galore
Eat-in kitchen, range style cooker, side by side fridge freezer, dishwasher, pots & pans galore
Eat-in kitchen, range style cooker, side by side fridge freezer, dishwasher, pots & pans galore
Tea time
The house looking from the South garden
Playing on the lawn
The house looking from the golf course
The house looking from the garden terrace
Oak paneled dining luxury with natural light from the south garden
Oak paneled dining luxury with natural light from the south garden
Oak panelled dining room for dining in style
Christmas Day in South Wing
Oak paneled dining luxury with natural light from the south garden
Oak paneled dining luxury with natural light from the south garden
Twin bedroom, TV, west facing, very comfortable
Twin bedroom, TV, west facing, very comfortable
Twin bedroom, TV, west facing, very comfortable
Ruby room, double bed, en-suite bathroom, TV, views south over gardens and gold course
Ruby room, double bed, en-suite bathroom, TV, views south over gardens and gold course
Ruby room, double bed, en-suite bathroom, TV, views south over gardens and gold course
Ruby room, double bed, en-suite bathroom, TV, views south over gardens and gold course
Master bedroom, super kingsize bed, 3 piece suite, en-suite bathroom, dressing room.
Master bedroom, super kingsize bed, 3 piece suite, en-suite bathroom, dressing room.
Master bedroom, super kingsize bed, 3 piece suite, en-suite bathroom, dressing room.
Master bedroom, super kingsize bed, 3 piece suite, en-suite bathroom, dressing room.
Master bedroom, super kingsize bed, 3 piece suite, en-suite bathroom, dressing room.
Master bedroom, super kingsize bed, 3 piece suite, en-suite bathroom, dressing room.
Louis room, double, single and en-suite shower room, views east to sea and south over gardens
Louis room, double, single and en-suite shower room, views east to sea and south over gardens
Hunmanby beach, seven miles of beautiful beach
Scarborough Spa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Hunmanby, Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 104 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Deborah B
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing, large property and well equipt with extras!!”
Reviewed 9 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Had a lovely stay with family. The property was very large and easily accommodated us. The rooms were lovely and the garden space large.

The place was well equipt with extras and lovely touches of nice glasses etc

Situated ideally for places such as Scarborough and Whitby as well as filey and many other interesting places. Some nice local pubs as well.

Great stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large rooms so it was not cramped
Liked least: Some decoration issues on the ceilings - Paint falling off
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2015
Hi Deborah, thank you very much for taking the time to post this review which is much appreciated. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and it sounds like you got to see some of the lovely sights in this beautiful part of North Yorkshire. We hope to see you back at South Wing in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grayson12...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best wk end away ever”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The wk end we had was fantastic and what a beautiful house . We have never stayed any were as fab as this and cant wait to go back . There was 12 girls that went to help me enjoy my 50th and we felt like lady of the manor. What a place and has every thing you need plus a breakfast to start us off . I have never seen bedrooms so big and beautiful and down stairs was massive also. you could get lost in the place maybe i will take my grand kids next yr they will love it thanks andrew for a fab stay in your house

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous accomodation for family or friends”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I cant tell you how much we all enjoyed returning to our old school!
The Old School wing we found to be so tastefully updated whilst retaining many of the original features.
We found the accomodation very clean, comfortable and warm, Beds all good and quality bedding and towels.
The kitchen was well equipped, vg cooker etc and everything we needed catering for 12 of us without running out of anything!
Plenty of room to find your own space if needed and fab outdoor space with oodles of indoor games and books for a wet day.
Village provides shops with most things including butchers and bread/deli shop/ supermarket
Lovely walks and wide sweeping beaches at Hunmanby Gap and Filey.
Many thanks for a fab holiday, cant wait to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable space
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2015
Thanks very much Jane for taking the time to post a review. I think you have summed up the house and village really well! We get a fair number of visits from former pupils wanting to see how the old Hunmanby Girls School has been transformed in to a lovely comfortable house. I hope we see you back at South Wing in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Jul 2015
Hi Aysh41, thanks very much for taking the time to write a review and delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thanks also for the heads up on the piano and the bbq. I'll make sure we give the piano some tlc - we do keep it tuned but its obviously in need of some attention. Great to hear you had bbq weather as the gardens are so lovely in the sunshine and the nearby beaches as you will have seen are spectacular! Hope to see you back at South Wing in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole experience gardens and a wonderfull lounge and dinning room
Liked least: when we had to leave !!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Jul 2015
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, its always good to hear our guests experiences. As you have seen for yourself South Wing is an excellent all year holiday venue with large comfortable rooms inside and lovely gardens to enjoy when the sun shines. We hope to see you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review and for your lovely comments. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we'll see you back at South Wing in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: A fantastic space for a large group
Liked least: The odd chipped bowl in the kitchen - but only one or two so a minor complaint
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 May 2015
Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review which I really appreciate. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and it sounds like you made good use of this lovely house and the grounds. I'll weed out those chipped bowls next time I am there and thanks for the heads up! Hope to see you back at South Wing in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing