We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Southgate Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Hunmanby B&B and Inns
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

This is a first class b+b. the welcome is excellent as are the facilities and with a superb freshly cooked breakfast. Everything is perfect as you would imagine with a brand new venture but you cant beat the warm welcome from the hosts who could not do more to make you feel at home
we would thoroughly recommend this establishment

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trefor e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
49
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

Excellent quality B &B accomodation in the charming village of Hunmanby,conveniently situated near Filey ,Scarborough and Bridlington.
Peter and Shirley will certainly make you very welcome.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jandk19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

very happy with this b& b very clean , very warm welcome on arrival and throughout our stay , good service and very comfortable , the breakfast was quality , overall we were very delighted and will definately be returning

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ingabonny85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We got a good feeling about the property as soon as we saw it and we weren't disapointed, we were made to feel welcome and at home on arrival. The property was exellently decorated and modern, the management were friendly and extremely helpful. It is located in a beautiful village with lots of choice nearby, we would definately recommend this b&b to anyone and we are looking forward to returning to this property soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonnyboy242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Southgate B and B.
It is ideally located and we found the locals very freindly and welcoming, close to 2 little village pubs.
The rooms are tastefully decorated and furnished with all up to date facilities, the shower was excellent.
Breakfast was a full English, needed a hearty appetite to finish it requested a smaller one for the second morning.
The manager was freindly and very welcoming.
When we enquired about staying there he asked us if we would like to see a room once we saw the room we knew we wanted to stay.
We will be visiting here again and would recommend this hotel for quality and value for money and would definatley recommend a stay at this B and B.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llesliesheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

This B&B has only been open 3 Months, and everything is brand new and the inside of the building has been totally renivated and refurbished. The owner showed us around all the bedrooms which are modern and tastefully decorated, with lovely carpets and finishings.
Breakfast consists of fruit juice, tea or coffee, cereals and a brilliant cooked breakfast, the best we have had in a B&B, Guest house or hotel.
The Southgate is ideally situated in the centre of Hummanby, with lots of car parking to the rear, just up from the B&B are two nice old traditional pubs.
We found the hotel ideally situated for Filey and Flamborough golf courses.
We hopefully will be returning later in August. Have a look at their website www.southgatebandb.com for photos.
Many thanks to Peter and Shirley for a very enjoyable and welcoming two nignts stay on the 23/24 of July.

Room Tip: Splash out the extra £10 and go for the large suite for that special occasion, we would have but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pales30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunmanby
2.2 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
2.4 mi away
Esmae House
Esmae House
#2 of 19 in Filey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dale Farm
Dale Farm
#1 of 4 in Hunmanby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Southgate Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southgate Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Southgate Bed & Breakfast
Address: 8 Bridlington Street, Hunmanby, Filey YO14 0JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey > Hunmanby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hunmanby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Southgate Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful, family run Bed and Breakfast is situated in the quaint village of Hunmanby on the East Coast of Britain. Hunmanby sits on the outskirts of the seaside town of Filey with Scarborough and Bridlington only 9 miles away. You will be spoilt for choice for beaches, golf courses, walks and cycle routes in the area. We pride ourselves on the quality and cleanliness of our rooms, with a good breakfast to start your day. We have one downstairs suite which has a wet-room making it ideal for guests with limited mobility. We are happy to serve breakfast to anyone booking this room who is unable to manage the small step up into the dining area. We are happy to cater for any dietary requirements by prior request eg: Vegetarian, Vegan, Coeliac, Allergies etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Southgate Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Southgate Bed & Breakfast Hunmanby, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing