We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Southgate Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Hunmanby B&B and Inns
Rotherham
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Weekend Break”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed 3 nights a birthday treat for my partner.The Southgate is an excellent B&B modern but tasteful decor and absolutely spotless.Breakfast was well cooked and more than enough to set you up for the day and nothing was too much trouble if you fancied something different. Carl and Niki make you feel very welcome. The B & B is ideally situated for both Bridlington and Scarborough, both are are a short drive away.There are two other pubs in the village The Cottage does meals and just a short drive away in Muston there is an excellent Pub serving meals The Ship Inn.which we can certainly recommend. If you like fish and chips try Harpers at Staxton a 15 min drive away.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jontonyrotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
50
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hambleton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed here for one night and will definitely be returning. The owners are really friendly and helpful.

Our room was huge with a very comfy bed and a corner sofa. The breakfast was lovely! Good quality bacon and sausages!

The village of Hunmanby is very pretty and very well placed for visiting Filey, Bridlington, Scarborough etc.

All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennymc_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalat
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Great bed and breakfast, all staff very friendly and helpful, rooms immaculate, great location, v tasty breakfast. Close to Wold Top Brewey and Scarborough. All rooms have a lovely bright deco and it is a lovely place to stay. I woulsd love to come stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirdDange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Great place to stay for short break birdwatching at nearby cliffs. Warm welcome from friendly owners. Clean and comfortable room. Great breakfast, freshly cooked to order. Lots to do and see in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JL256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Southgate B&B was the ideal base for a short stay near the coast to do walking and bird watching.
The room was comfortable, the breakfast very good and just what was needed to set us up for a day out. Our hosts were friendly and helpful. We only had to walk a few steps to the local pub for a very filling and inexpensive evening meal and the Southgate is at the centre of the village.
Anyone considering visiting the Yorkshire coast to birdwatch or walk should consider making this their base. It is a short drive from Filey, takes about 15 minutes to reach the RSPB reserve at Bempton and not much longer to drive into Bridlington. Scarborough and Whitby are within easy reach to the north. We are already booked in again for a couple of nights in September.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2013

A very very warm and friendly welcome coupled with a spotlessly clean, spacious and tastfully decorated family room. Even the linen smelt divine! The traditional English breakfast was top notch, quality ingredients, simply delicious. Nothing was too much trouble and were very accommodating. Thank you both for making our stay relaxed and pleasurable. We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeebaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Stayed at Southgate in a dark and wet January on business with some colleagues. Rooms: light, clean and contemporary. Shower room very good. Decent shower of a good size you can actually move in! Breakfast a good Full English. The husband and team are very helpful. Only downside is no evening meal but they know all the local places and will phone to check availability and make reservations. We went to the chippy down the road, a takeaway, so they provided table in the breakfast room with cutlery, plates, tea and bread and butter! What more could you ask for? Wifi? That too and free! They also have a deal with the pub 100 metres away. I could not find anything to fault.
I shall be staying there in a few weeks when I have to go back on business. I would also use the Southgate for personal use

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phaedsys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunmanby
2.2 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
2.4 mi away
Esmae House
Esmae House
#3 of 19 in Filey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dale Farm
Dale Farm
#1 of 4 in Hunmanby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Southgate Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southgate Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Southgate Bed & Breakfast
Address: 8 Bridlington Street, Hunmanby, Filey YO14 0JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey > Hunmanby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hunmanby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Southgate Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful, family run Bed and Breakfast is situated in the quaint village of Hunmanby on the East Coast of Britain. Hunmanby sits on the outskirts of the seaside town of Filey with Scarborough and Bridlington only 9 miles away. You will be spoilt for choice for beaches, golf courses, walks and cycle routes in the area. We pride ourselves on the quality and cleanliness of our rooms, with a good breakfast to start your day. We have one downstairs suite which has a wet-room making it ideal for guests with limited mobility. We are happy to serve breakfast to anyone booking this room who is unable to manage the small step up into the dining area. We are happy to cater for any dietary requirements by prior request eg: Vegetarian, Vegan, Coeliac, Allergies etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Southgate Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Southgate Bed & Breakfast Hunmanby, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing