We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful overnight stay with friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wrangham House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hunmanby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed here with our friends last night, we couldn't be more pleased with the whole experience! The staff were friendly and most if all human! Lovely people in a lovely hotel .... Oh yes the diner we had would not be out of place in a top London restaurant ( but a fraction of the price)

If you are looking for an amazingly priced hotel for a great relaxing break with friends.... This is your place

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryPhilipson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
There are newer reviews for Wrangham House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2013

Called here for coffee. It was snowing outside but the elegant sitting room was warm and the welcome even warmer. The coffee was good and my scone (gluten free and home made!) packed with fruit and served with jam and oodles of cream. Neither of us could eat the home made biscuits, but they looked delicious.The bill was a nice surprise. We saw the dining room, which looked impressive, and I can't wait to go back for lunch or dinner; The lunch menu had all the usual things as well as some interesting additions. You don't have to stay at the Wrangham to enjoy its civilized atmosphere and hospitality, but you need to look carefully for it, because its down the narrow path next to the church.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueP186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Just got back from a weekend at Wrangham House Hotel. This is a wonderful hidden gem! We were made to feel extremely welcome by the fantastic hospitality of Stacie and her team, who could not do enough to make our time wonderful. The hotel itself is beautiful, with lovely period rooms and very very comfortable beds. Our children (aged 3 and 6) were catered for and considered at all times. The best part of our weekend was the food. The evening meal was truly fantastic, our party enjoyed a range of meals including pheasant, venison, steak - with everyone saying their meal was the best! The food left us overwhelmed with its proper Yorkshire portions!!! All in all, we loved our stay and will definitely recommend (and rave about) Wrangham House hotel. We will definitely be returning if only to try some more of the menu!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

yet again the hotel surpassed itself both in cuisine and hospitality. peter and stacy really are the brilliant hosts. the staff are always polite professional and there to make your stay simply the best. we would highly reccommend this hotel to anyone including families. the room had a different layout to last time, and the kids bed was a double not bunks as before. the gala new years eve dinner, 7 courses, was lovely even the kids enjoyed it. if your kids are picky eaters like ours are dont worry peter caters for that too and offers kid type meals too. a very enjoyable 2 days thanks.

Room Tip: we had the coach house outside the main bulding and was quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Situated just 3 miles from Filey, Wrangham House is well worth considering if staying in the area. With just 9 rooms it has the feel of a country house hotel. The bar and sitting room are comfortable and furnished to reflect the age and period of the house. We stayed in room 8 which had a 5', extremely comfortable bed and a large en suite bathroom, The shower was difficult to regulate leaving one open to being frozen or scalded and there was limited hot water on the day we arrived ... I suspect the heating had just clicked in as an hour later it was plentiful.

Breakfast are perhaps a little basic for current trends: a range of boxed cereals are available as is fruit juice and a full English breakfast,, kippers, eggs are locally sourced and cooked to order but the toast ( white or granary) looks like sliced bread. Fresh fruit is provided on request but a greater range of yoghurt, fruit and a variety of bread would have been appreciated. Dinner at night was good and again used local produce: portion sizes were too large for me and I would have preferred fewer but more imaginative vegetable. Catering on a smallish scale is never easy and one option would be to ask guests to make their menu choices by 5pm if possible in order to facilitate this.

These are minor quibbles. We enjoyed our stay and would certainly stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosyposy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

The staff was very polite the food was good overall a very gd night. great location and the people are friendly I wld definitely go back.The bed was abit soft and there was a few cobwebs.my brother and his wife had a fantastic wedding reception.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RothwellMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

My Partner and I had the most amazing and romantic stay at the Wrangham Hotel 2 days ago. The owner Peter was so amazingly hospitable and helpful, even making us personalized vegetarian sandwiches one afternoon, and delicious dinner which was enjoyed all the more in his beautiful restaurant, all of the staff were just so friendly and we felt so at ease there, i can't wait to till we take our next trip to Hunmanby. Our room too was very clean, cozy, and in great taste. Thank you all again for such an amazing stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mark r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunmanby
2.1 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
409 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,909 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
588 reviews
10.2 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,892 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrangham House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrangham House Hotel

Address: Stonegate, Hunmanby, Filey YO14 0NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey > Hunmanby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hunmanby
Price Range: £99 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrangham House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Wrangham House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrangham Hotel Hunmanby
Wrangham House Hotel Hunmanby, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing