We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the perfect place for a quiet luxury break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wrangham House Hotel

Wrangham House Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wrangham House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hunmanby
Certificate of Excellence
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the perfect place for a quiet luxury break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

This hotel is very peaceful, tucked away behind the church in the village of Hunmanby near the east coast resort of Filey, The proprietors are very friendly, Peter is an excellent cook, his wife Stacey serving the food and looking after the guests. Rooms are comfortable, everything very clean. We have already made another booking.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    40
    10
    9
    11
See reviews for
57
73
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hunmanby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

fantastic hotel in the heart of hunmanby, former home to Rev Wrangham.
mine host are friendly and welcoming, and the food is well worth going back to the hotel again.
Ideal for weddings or just an evening in comfort, Do yourself some good, and give it a try.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewh163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed here with our friends last night, we couldn't be more pleased with the whole experience! The staff were friendly and most if all human! Lovely people in a lovely hotel .... Oh yes the diner we had would not be out of place in a top London restaurant ( but a fraction of the price)

If you are looking for an amazingly priced hotel for a great relaxing break with friends.... This is your place

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryPhilipson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Called here for coffee. It was snowing outside but the elegant sitting room was warm and the welcome even warmer. The coffee was good and my scone (gluten free and home made!) packed with fruit and served with jam and oodles of cream. Neither of us could eat the home made biscuits, but they looked delicious.The bill was a nice surprise. We saw the dining room, which looked impressive, and I can't wait to go back for lunch or dinner; The lunch menu had all the usual things as well as some interesting additions. You don't have to stay at the Wrangham to enjoy its civilized atmosphere and hospitality, but you need to look carefully for it, because its down the narrow path next to the church.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueP186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

Just got back from a weekend at Wrangham House Hotel. This is a wonderful hidden gem! We were made to feel extremely welcome by the fantastic hospitality of Stacie and her team, who could not do enough to make our time wonderful. The hotel itself is beautiful, with lovely period rooms and very very comfortable beds. Our children (aged 3 and 6) were catered for and considered at all times. The best part of our weekend was the food. The evening meal was truly fantastic, our party enjoyed a range of meals including pheasant, venison, steak - with everyone saying their meal was the best! The food left us overwhelmed with its proper Yorkshire portions!!! All in all, we loved our stay and will definitely recommend (and rave about) Wrangham House hotel. We will definitely be returning if only to try some more of the menu!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

yet again the hotel surpassed itself both in cuisine and hospitality. peter and stacy really are the brilliant hosts. the staff are always polite professional and there to make your stay simply the best. we would highly reccommend this hotel to anyone including families. the room had a different layout to last time, and the kids bed was a double not bunks as before. the gala new years eve dinner, 7 courses, was lovely even the kids enjoyed it. if your kids are picky eaters like ours are dont worry peter caters for that too and offers kid type meals too. a very enjoyable 2 days thanks.

Room Tip: we had the coach house outside the main bulding and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Situated just 3 miles from Filey, Wrangham House is well worth considering if staying in the area. With just 9 rooms it has the feel of a country house hotel. The bar and sitting room are comfortable and furnished to reflect the age and period of the house. We stayed in room 8 which had a 5', extremely comfortable bed and a large en suite bathroom, The shower was difficult to regulate leaving one open to being frozen or scalded and there was limited hot water on the day we arrived ... I suspect the heating had just clicked in as an hour later it was plentiful.

Breakfast are perhaps a little basic for current trends: a range of boxed cereals are available as is fruit juice and a full English breakfast,, kippers, eggs are locally sourced and cooked to order but the toast ( white or granary) looks like sliced bread. Fresh fruit is provided on request but a greater range of yoghurt, fruit and a variety of bread would have been appreciated. Dinner at night was good and again used local produce: portion sizes were too large for me and I would have preferred fewer but more imaginative vegetable. Catering on a smallish scale is never easy and one option would be to ask guests to make their menu choices by 5pm if possible in order to facilitate this.

These are minor quibbles. We enjoyed our stay and would certainly stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosyposy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunmanby
2.0 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,491 reviews
10.3 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
8.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrangham House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrangham House Hotel

Property: Wrangham House Hotel
Address: Stonegate, Hunmanby, Filey YO14 0NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey > Hunmanby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hunmanby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Wrangham House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrangham Hotel Hunmanby
Wrangham House Hotel Hunmanby, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing