We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country House Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wrangham House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hunmanby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The hotel is in an ideal location in which to explore nearby Filey, Scarborough and Whitby. We stayed over bank holiday weekend at fairly short notice and received a warm welcome to this lovely country house hotel hidden away down a gravel drive in the middle of Hunmanby. The hotel is set in a large leafy, garden with its own private car park. The house decor is in-keeping with a building of its age, with high ceilings and uneven creaky floors which add to its charm. There is a cosy bar and lounge with leather chesterfield sofas and chairs and an open fire which would be great in winter.

We had two rooms;- the blue room, which is a well furnished, spacious double with a small en-suite shower room; and a huge room with beams on the top floor which has a very comfortable 6' bed, large easy chairs and a massive en-suite with a bath big enough for two people, though sadly no shower. The complimentary bottles of water in the rooms were a nice touch.

Breakfast was plentiful with 4 different fruit juices, assortment of cereals, toast and cooked full English with eggs any way you like. The service was attentive and polite. It was refreshing to hear a background of classical music instead of loud pop which we are usually bombarded with in most places, however, something a little lighter would perhaps be a bit more uplifting. We took dinner in the hotel, only intending to have two courses but the tempting menu won. (Well, I can't say no to a creme brulee.) The portions were large and well cooked. Particular mention for the pate, it was excellent; and the pork which melted in the mouth.

We had an excellent weekend and hope to return. We are recommending this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel-in-style-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
There are newer reviews for Wrangham House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stopped over weekend 19/7/13. The hotel is set in beautiful gardens with plenty of areas to enjoy quite peaceful time ( weather permitting), there is a good sized car park, the food was cooked to perfection portions good and served by very polite staff. The hotel is very well kept & clean, room was a good size. Very very short walk to local shops/ pubs/places to eat if needed. We will go back to stay again, thanks for good food yand pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

July 13 --14
We decided to spend the weekend at the coast and called into the Wrangham House Hotel to see if they had any vacancies we chose the double room over the four poster.
The room was up a spiral iron staircase which was a bit precarious The room was charming very clean and the bed was one of the most comfortable beds I'v ever slept in.
The breakfast was very good
This was our first stay but we will be back shortly.
Well done Wrangham

Room Tip: Room three is really charming with a GREAT bed
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gatkinson40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

As we have just moved into the area and it was our anniversary we thought we would give the restaurant a try. We arrived and was asked to wait in the bar area where a young girl of 15 was serving. On trying to purchase drinks we were told to wait a minute, this stretched onto 10 so we went into the restaurant without drinks. The meal was nice and service was adequate so we ordered coffee to finish. We were told our coffee was in the lounge area, we went into the lounge the only coffee available was at a table with people seated so we waited, when no coffee arrived we asked the people seated if they had ordered coffee, they had not so we presumed this was ours.
I then went to the bar for the bill, the young girl was talking and talking and talking. I broke in and asked for the bill. 10 minutes passed, 15 minutes passed so I went looking for someone and found the owner who told me the bill was being prepared. We did hear the landlord comment that people of the village do not use the restaurant and after the way we were treated I can understand why. We were under the impression that our money was not important only residents were important. Although the food was nice we will not be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 918Tony11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

we have visited this hotel many times, the location is stunning and handy for everywhere. This place is family run giving extra attention to details to make your stay perfect. The food is exceptional, fresh, lots of local produce and fayre, you cant make a bad choice as its all amazing. The rooms are beautiful continuing the character of this grand period property. The whole place is immaculate throughout and well maintained.
Also can recommend peters and staceys' home made scones.....

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clk-3982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We were delighted to spend a couple of nights here. The food was varied and delicious. The approach by staff, very casual. The hotel a little scruffy around the edges, maybe a little tied. The weather was perfect. Thank you

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We got married in June at Wrangham House it was the best day ever thanks to Stacie who is the greatest organiser and makes you feel really special and the fantastic food cooked by the one and only Peter. The gardens were in full bloom and look great on our wedding photos. And yes the furnishings are a little tired but what do you expect in a house full of charm. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a lovely intimate wedding or for the food alone. Thank you Stacie and Peter

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngieKerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunmanby
2.1 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
408 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,908 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
588 reviews
10.2 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,889 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrangham House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrangham House Hotel

Address: Stonegate, Hunmanby, Filey YO14 0NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey > Hunmanby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hunmanby
Price Range: £99 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrangham House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Wrangham House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrangham Hotel Hunmanby
Wrangham House Hotel Hunmanby, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing