We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Evening”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wrangham House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hunmanby
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic Evening”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Went for a special birthday with hubby and sister and brother in law on Thursday night
What a lovely night
The friendliness of the staff was perfect and the meal !! Thank goodness I'm not watching my weight. The meal was lovely and the portions were massive .
Thank you Peter and Stacey for making it a lovely night
Look forward to coming back

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetoshes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    44
    10
    10
    12
See reviews for
64
77
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Four of us stayed on a Saturday night having just completed the Great Yorkshire Bike Ride. The staff were friendly and found us secure storage for our bikes. We had two rooms, a double and a twin. Both rooms were nice but the bathroom in the double room was a bit small and narrow. The showers in both rooms were poor being very sensitive to small movements of the temperature control and to changes in the water pressure within the hotel. Overall the hotel is very characterful with a lounge, bar area and dining room which is also used for breakfast.

We paid for bed, breakfast and an evening meal. Dinner was an extra £40 per room (£20 per person) on top of the bed and breakfast rate. Dinner was somewhat of a disappointment, three of us ordered rare to medium steaks which came over cooked, chewy and somewhat tasteless. Our fourth main course of belly pork was very good however. The starters and puddings were all fine. The following day's breakfast was very good.

So overall a mixed experience mainly marred by the steaks at the evening meal. This isn't a cheap hotel and I had expected better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobBoulby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Tiny room, 3" between the bottom of the bed and radiator to squeeze through, beautiful day but a huge heavy quilt on the bed, wifi didn't work, toilet cistern refilling itself loudly every 10 minutes, stains on the bathroom wall, eat here but don't stay here.... Breakfast was good!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GG197142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorks
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My family & I stayed in this hotel on the Sunday before the late May Bank holiday. I had originally enquired about getting the family room which sleeps 4 but that wasn't available and we were offered, for the same rate, a double (which turned out to be a 4 poster) and a twin which were opposite the corridor from each other. I was glad we accepted because we have a wonderful stay even though I was kicked out of the 4 poster to twin room to share with my daughter!

The rooms are traditional in style and the hotel has a country house hotel feel about it. Plenty of staff mean that you are well catered for as a guest. In spite of the high-end feel of the place, the staff and owners are really friendly and unlike some places like this, made us fell really comfortable staying and eating there with our 2 kids (12 and 7).

On the evening we decided to eat dinner in the hotel - not much else around to be honest. the menu is not cheap but turned out to be excellent value with really well cooked steaks and well prepared sauces, sides, etc. The kids loved the desserts too.

A really nice stay, good night's sleep, sumptuous dinner topped off by a really good full English in the morning. Well done Wrangham House - my wife and I will be returning to enjoy the 4 poster one night when we don't have the kids though!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shareholdersmeeting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The room given to us was of a good size the blinds however didn't work and they and the windows were very dirty. Our main complaint was the bathroom. An over the bath shower head (the bath chipped) without any thermostat control meant as you tried to shower and water was run elsewhere in the Coach house (room 2) then you were scalded with boiling water or freezing cold. The light hung out from the ceiling, floor tiles were cracked and the toilet seat not fixed securely normally taking at least 6 pulls on the handle to get it to flush. Tiling grout very grubby. We were also told dogs are not allowed in any part of the hotel other than our room although after expressing our feelings we were told we could take him into the bar as no one else was there.We felt despite paying full rate we were second hand citizens and dog friendly it isn't. I mentioned the plumbing and was told they had the plumber before and would get him back to sort the toilet out but really the whole bathroom should be replaced (the owners words) For us simply not good enough and would never wish to return.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the ground floor of the Coach house as every noise from above can be heard in the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 79farbnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankencheska, Owner at Wrangham House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2015
Dear former customer, we are very sorry to read you paint such an awful picture of your room and treatment at Wranghsm House Hotel. Whilst the room itself had been recently re-decorated, the new blinds were still on order as the window sizes are not standard. Whilst we were well aware at the time the recent problem with the bathroom, which was perfectly functional and extremely clean if a little dated, when you checked in, we were in the process of organising a refurbishment. I hope you will be pleased to know this has now taken place and a brand new shower suite has been fitted.

With regards to being "pet friendly" we would love to welcome pets into the main building, however, as I explained to you at the time, we are not a large Hotel and the ground floor is all open, in the past a dog did venture Into to the kitchen. Therefor for the safety and comfort of ALL our guests we decided it would be pertinent to only allow pets in certain rooms and our beautiful 3 acres of gardens. We did, in your case, make an exception and said we would be perfecty happy for you to sit in the bar with your dog, as long as the door was kept closed. At the time you appeared happy about this. Clearly you feel an injustice had been done! The rate for two people Dinner, Becd and breakfast (three courses from our menu ) was £145.00. We did not and do not charge for anyone to have their pet in the room even though it does incur extra cleaning costs for the Hotel. Generally our guests consider this excellent value for money, I'm sorry you do not share their opinion. We did make you aware of the conditions regarding pets and of the cost of the room before you came, and are very disappointed to read your comments. It is not within our interests to have disgruntled guests and we are very sorry we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
filey
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Our son and daughter in law held their wedding reception here. The owners and their staff were more than helpful, they bent over backwards to make the day extra special nothing was too much trouble. The food was all cooked to perfection and all served hot to every guest together which is not always easy to do. The rooms were very clean and extremely comfortable. Would highly recommend if looking for that special personal touch on a special or any occasion. Will definitely be going back. Many many thanks.
M&J P
FILEY

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junepaynter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I stayed at Wrangham house hotel for two wonderful nights. It is a beutiful historical building in Hunmanby which is family run and extremely friendly and well coming. The rooms where excellent and very clean. Me and my husband were made to feel very welcome by the owners, their family and the staff. The food was beutiful and was very enjoyable. Thank you very much Wrangham house for the stay. We will definitely be coming back soon! Highly reccomemened

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingtheworldd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunmanby
2.1 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
393 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,862 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
91 reviews
8.5 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
581 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrangham House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrangham House Hotel

Property: Wrangham House Hotel
Address: Stonegate, Hunmanby, Filey YO14 0NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey > Hunmanby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hunmanby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrangham House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Wrangham House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrangham Hotel Hunmanby
Wrangham House Hotel Hunmanby, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing