We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Priceline
£145
Fully refundable before Mon, 15 Apr
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveller rating
193
57
21
15
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
193
57
21
15
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea dining room the owner hidden gem sense of humour this family run hotel late evening evening meal feel very welcome real fire fantastic stay friendly hosts food was lovely lovely family home made lovely place short drive
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 306 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2023

Fantastic hotel, my wife and I spent a lovely weekend and we couldn’t fault a thing. Our room was warm and comfortable, large spotlessly clean on suite bathroom and toilet. The food was delicious, good sized portions at dinner and breakfast. Last but not least, the proprietors were so friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them, they made us feel really welcome.
Will definitely return at some point !

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 October 2023

Firstly, when arrived it was a nice-looking old building. It did seem to be a good choice from booking.com web site.
Then at check-in we experienced the first indications that it would not be the perfect first family holiday planned in 4 years. During the check-in process it was found that the allocated room for my parents in their 80's was actually a 2nd floor room up a spiral staircase and when we said this was not practical as my Mum could not go up the stairs one of the owners said we should have mentioned this during booking. Maybe true we should have asked for a ground floor room, but nowhere online did it say the rooms had spiral staircases, (I did read others found this an issue). Anyway, we were allocated rooms and then just relaxed with visiting family before dinner.
Before dinner we sat in the bar area, which was traditional and old, but a bit cramped for larger groups. Anyway, we had a drink and ordered our meals ok. Then to the dining room we were told we could sit down at our table which was ready except for the wine ordered which we pointed out to the waiter. After some time, the starters arrived which were all very nice, however the wine still after a few reminders still hand not arrived. Maybe the young staff forgot or were a bit too busy to remember to bring and serve the wine ordered. Anyway, eventually the wine did arrive after another request and before the main course. For the main course 4 from 5 meals were very nice, however my father's dish was not nice at all, and he could not manage to eat it. The waiter was informed, and we said ok, nothing else needed as by then we had all finished the main course. It was when the owner came later that the inquiry into the disappointing main course developed more to an argument than dialogue to which we decided it was best to stop. So, at this point we finished the meal and decided not to order coffee or desserts and just retire for the evening. But then when walking from main building to the coach house bedroom the lady owner stopped us in the carpark to basically complain at us. At this point my parents in their 80's were almost crying and scared for this provocative behavior and wanted to leave immediately which due to drinking during dinner we could not do. We decided not to stay the 2 days booked and the following morning, we packed and checked out as early as possible, which was 8am, (we were prepared earlier but the main building was locked, and the reception did not start so early) then left without the paid breakfast as we did not want another argument. Always 2 sides to any argument, however, to behave this way to elderly people who are paying customers is not acceptable in any shape or form.
Additionally, I did find the rooms a little dated and needing an update as the photos show some parts broken and the single bed quite uncomfortable.
In my years for travelling the world both for business and pleasure I have never had such bad customer service as this, not even close. Personally, I and my family would never visit or recommend this to anyone else.

Room tip: Make sure if you have any personal needs or requirements they are given in writing at the point of booking. Don't complain to the owners.
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank beijing-nigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 September 2023 via mobile

Firstly, beautiful location and building, owner complained about everyone booking on line as he has to pay 20% fee, we hadn’t even checked in yet. Our room was really lovely with a four poster bed but when we came to sleep the springs dug in making a poor nights sleep. The 2nd night we slept on top of the duvet so it acted as a mattress topper and we had a lovely nights sleep. We went to check out and was going to mention it but reception were busy on the phone with booking.com and after waiting a while someone else came to check us out but when talking we got scowls from the lady still on the phone.
Best thing about the hotel was the waitress Meghan, helpful, upbeat and taking care of everyone at breakfast with a lovely smile.

Room tip: Great parking and lovely lounge areas. Parking in Filey a little difficult but you can walk. Nice pubs in area
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Flyer26160847854
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 September 2023 via mobile

What a treat!! Such a lovely house, and lodgings with an excellent, reasonably priced restaurant serving beautifully cooked food. Would highly recommend an evening here.

Great option for cyclists looking for an overnight option as well.

Room tip: Book ahead to avoid disappointment. Order lobster and crab dishes.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank travelbuggill
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 July 2023

Pretty poor I'm afraid, not for us.
I seem to be in the minority but this didn't live up to expectations. It's often referred to as a hidden gem, well I can agree it is hidden, although that can often be an asset. It could also be a gem but a lot of things would need attention for that to be the case.
We had 2 nights dinner, bed & breakfast in the coach house. The room was OK but with strange furniture. Dinner was quite good, we enjoyed the lobster with pasta. Breakfast was very mediocre. Waiting staff were very young and inexperienced.
Both the dining room and bar could be improved by ditching some of the huge, dated furniture.
We would not return.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank YorkshireZorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews