We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub, Great food, Great people!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Oak Near Filey
Ranked #2 of 3 Hunmanby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great pub, Great food, Great people!”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We are regular visitors to the royal oak and the comment regular says it all. Highly recommended with real ales to choose from and genuine home cooked food. Big appetites will be satisfied with no reduction on quality of food.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    30
    17
    9
    10
See reviews for
85
35
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2012

this hotel pub is the most welcoming place i have been to.the food is enough to fill you up and i mean fill you up and the best is it is freshly cooked just like mum the mash is what i call mash real potatoes,and the meat pie is out of this world the room were fresh and clean.the staff were friendly the bathroom clean altogether a little paradise that i definetly will be going back to

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We have recently returned from having an over night stay at The Royal Oak near Filey and what a super time we had. You could not go to a more friendlier place where the food is amazing, the room we stayed in was cosy and very clean and the staff couldnt do enough for you. The portions were lets just say generous, just make sure you're hungry before ordering, You've never seen onion rings like it, they are huge as well as delicious. You could wear one as a bangle! Our nights sleep was divine with such a comfy bed, it was certainly sweet dreams. As for Terry and Andy, you could not meet nicer people who made us feel like friends. We had such a super time, we've booked to go back for new year and a long weekend in the spring to celebrate a birthday. We would highly recommend The Royal Oak if you want good food with a warm and friendly atmosphere and can enjoy the bar and then roll upstairs for a super nights sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozzyowl2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We didn't eat here this time as we ventured further afield, but, we certainly will when we return. The team here are absolute stars. We called on our way back to our holiday "home" most evenings of our break and were welcomed as if we were old friends. Real people. Can't wait to return

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shopkaz56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I would highly recommend eating here, pub grub at its best, fabulous atmosphere and once you have been you will definitely be back!! We have booked our works Christmas party here as it was so good. 5 star food hygiene rating which is always a plus side for any restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katielou78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunmanby
2.3 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
393 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
190 reviews
8.4 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
96 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,871 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Southgate Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak Near Filey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Near Filey

Property: The Royal Oak Near Filey
Address: Moor Road, Hunmanby, Filey YO14 9QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey > Hunmanby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hunmanby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Oak Near Filey 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak is a warm and friendly pub and B&B. we welcome families to come and enjoy our facilities and have a wonderful play area to keep the children entertained. Our menu has a variety beyond the usual pub grub and we hope to tempt you with our specials and desserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Royal Oak Near Filey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Near Filey Hunmanby, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing