We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Oak Hunmanby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Oak Near Filey
Ranked #2 of 3 Hunmanby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Booked in for a couple of nights. Our room was a good size and clean. However, the bathroom light was faulty, no complimentary toiletries and the television was impossible to watch from the bed. Only there a couple of nights but room not serviced e.g. bin not emptied, no coffee top-up,.

We were disappointed in comparing our stay to other similar priced accomodation in the past.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drallop2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, General Manager at The Royal Oak Near Filey, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are disappointed you didn't enjoy your stay with us and we must apologise that your room was overlooked re bin been emptied and coffee sachets not renewed. I asked our cleaner about this and the look if horror on her face was a picture, she had genuinely forgot about your room and couldn't apologise enough.
What gets me is why you didn't mention this at the time?? For crying out loud you've got a tongue, use it!! You were asked on numerous occasions if everything was ok, you replied "Yes"
And one last thing, if you couldn't see the TV from the bed then I think you need to visit that well known opticians.
Cheers from all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

Recently visited the Royal Oak, having already seen reviews on Trip Advisor. Very enjoyable. The host was welcoming and relaxed. Attention to service is obviously the key here. We are still recovering from the very enjoyable meals - the onion rings being our downfall - we will not need to eat much for a week!!! Just a short walk from The Bay where we were staying , helped to work off some of that big dinner. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArthurLiverpoolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, General Manager at The Royal Oak Near Filey, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Hi ArthurLiverpoolUK, thanks for a great review!! We are really pleased you enjoyed your time with us, as many others have mentioned you don't go home hungry!! We have a small but tight knit team who pride themselves in top notch customer service.
Hope to see you again really soon. Cheers from all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We visited the Royal Oak for an evening meal for six mid week and were greeted by Terry "good morning" which the children found amusing at 7pm. Terry is a bright and bubbly character, chatty and very welcoming. The food is tasty, hot and plentiful and at the bill paying stage extremely good value.
Two evenings later, five of us descended on Terry once again and he proved that our first meal was no fluke as our meals were fabulous.
If you like decent food at a good price and a smiling and happy welcome, do visit; I doubt you'll be disappointed. We loved it and will probably visit again during our second weeks holiday. Thanks Terry :)
Ps. Dont go in only half hungry because you'll have to take up the offer of a doggy bag!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank fivegomadinfiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, General Manager at The Royal Oak Near Filey, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Hi fivegomadinfiley, Thanks for taking the time out to post a great review. I will pass your best wishes onto Terry and all the staff. We are really pleased you enjoyed our company and our food, hope to see you again really soon. Cheers from all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The royal oak is situated in a lovely location with beautiful sights. I live in Leeds but came over to visit a friend who brought me out for a meal. The staff are very friendly and seem to run a tight ship. The pub was quite busy when we arrived but we didn't hace to wait to be served. Ordered our meal and when it a arrived I was surprised at the portion size. Very generous! I couldn't eat it all. In all a very pleasant experience and I will definitely be comming back next time im over that way.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank kellybear86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, General Manager at The Royal Oak Near Filey, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Hi Kellybear86, so pleased you enjoyed our time with us, you certainly picked the right spot for your meal!!
All our staff are now seasoned warriors and have been with us for some time, so they know the ropes inside and out.
Thanks for a lovely review and we hope to see you again soon. Cheers from all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

just got back to-day 21st july after a 2 night stay,first of all room 1 left hand side of mattress knackered, trip switch for bathroom kept going off,walk into hallway strong smell of dogs, tv not working apparently just gone off this week-end.breakfast well 2 eggs,2 sausage, 2 hash browns, 2 bacon, mushrooms,baked beans,black pudding,orange.tea.and toast, lots there to fill you up but transport cafe style and in wife,s opinion all done in well used lard, oh forgot the grilled tomato tasting of steak probably from previous night meals. sorry but will not be staying again ever!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thebull58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, General Manager at The Royal Oak Near Filey, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Oh dear what a disappointing review, but saying that Mr Wade you were given every opportunity to state your feelings with us. Each day you were greeted with a cheery smile and asked about your stay with 3 different members of staff.
You were asked did you sleep well? You replied Yes.
Is your room ok? You replied Yes.
Was your breakfast ok? You replied Yes.
And this was all over 2 days, it took you that long to discover you didn't really like us, why didn't you say at the time? Ask for another room? Leave?
Looking over your previous hotel reviews you don't really congratulate any of them, you just leave a negative review after you've already stayed. It makes me wonder why you actually bother staying in hotels.
Now I'm not sure which way to take your comments on our breakfast, "transport café style" at one point you asked for a side plate and marmalade, I don't think a transport café knows what marmalade is, let alone a side plate. If you are referring to the portion size, then thanks for the comments, we aim to please.
Oh and by the way lard? We don't use lard.
And finally you have us down as alchemists, actually turning tomatoes into steak, now that is one trick we should be proud of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Having just returned from a weeks stay in Filey, I felt compelled to write a review for The Royal Oak.
Whilst returning from a day out at Flamingo Land, we found this pub on Trip Advisor. We arrived at 7 and were warmly welcomed by everyone. Nothing was too much trouble; they soon made up a table for 9, and went through the specials with us. The food was fantastic value for money, cooked fresh to order, piping hot and sourced from local produce. The hand cut chips and gigantic onion rings are a must!.
Within our party were four children...even the childrens nuggets are homemade!. All nine of us were impressed with our meals, all homemade and generous in size!.
I would recommend The Royal Oak to anyone visiting the area or like us staying at Primrose Valley....make it part of your stay!.....

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, General Manager at The Royal Oak Near Filey, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thanks for taking the time out to post a review, and what a lovely one it is too. We really appreciate your comments and are so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us.
It's a pity you didn't find us until late in your holiday, but hey make up for lost time, now you know where we are there's no excuse and we hope to see you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We really enjoyed our meal here. We were a party of 4 adults and a baby and were greeted with an extremely warm welcome and found all of the staff to be friendly. The portions are massive as are the home made onion rings.... definitely for sharing! (they were tasty and I didn't find them watery as per a previous review!). Also, to clarify a previous review around steak sauce etc.., the menu does clearly state there would be a charge and if you were charged for extra portions, surely you should bring this to the attention of the pub at the time in order for them to have a chance to respond before writing a review on here! If you're expecting michelin starred food and surroundings then avoid this pub but for good, honest food at a resonable price then I would definitely recommend and will be returning on my next visit to the coast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatandGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, General Manager at The Royal Oak Near Filey, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thanks for posting a great review, your comments really hit home and we really appreciate your understanding. In fact you say the things we would love to say but can't.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunmanby
1.1 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
426 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
199 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
7.3 mi away
Cumberland Hotel
Cumberland Hotel
#9 of 26 in Scarborough
282 reviews
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
Hallam Guest House
#7 of 16 in Filey
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak Near Filey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Near Filey

Address: Moor Road, Hunmanby, Filey YO14 9QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey > Hunmanby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hunmanby
Price Range: £42 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Oak Near Filey 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak is a warm and friendly pub and B&B. we welcome families to come and enjoy our facilities and have a wonderful play area to keep the children entertained. Our menu has a variety beyond the usual pub grub and we hope to tempt you with our specials and desserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Royal Oak Near Filey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Near Filey Hunmanby, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing