We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not been for a while.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Oak Near Filey
Ranked #2 of 3 Hunmanby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Due to commitments,haven't been in Filey area for a while.Decided to eat at the Oak.Must say the food is as good as it was last year,fantastic.
We both had Turkey n Ham Pie n chips n veg,the pastry melted in your mouth and the meat was perfect ,home made chips,n veg.The whole meal,hot from start to finish,,,,,Perfection.
Well done to the whole team.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank alfredStokeOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, General Manager at The Royal Oak Near Filey, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Hi there Alfred, thanks for taking the time to post reviews on both our sites. It's a real pleasure writing reviews when everything is OK, and in your case you certainly seem to have been very satisfied with our food and hospitality.
Thanks again and hope to see you soon. Cheers, from all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here for one night before Easter as we were going to Filey and fancied somewhere out of town.
Our room was small and the en suite shower equally cramped but at least they were clean and we slept well mostly due to the beautifully cooked and massive evening meal all washed down with some nice beer and a very reasonable bottle of wine.
Terry, who I believe looks after the front of house, was interesting to talk to and he did his best to make us welcome.
The place did lack atmosphere but we were there out of season and the bar/restaurant was quiet and I also suspect that we were the only residents that particular night.
The outside appearance is not inspiring but go inside and enjoy the brilliant food.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireTraveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, General Manager at The Royal Oak Near Filey, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Hi there YorkshireTraveller, thanks for taking the time to post a review. Well you certainly live up to your name, you must have been 'travelling' because you visited us at Easter and haven't posted until October!!
Anyway, really pleased you enjoyed your time with us, if your room wasn't as large as you would expect you should have asked to be moved to another one, we always aim to please.
Thanks again and hope to see you again, maybe this time in Season.
Cheers, from all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My son and daughter in law went to this pub last week and came home, giving us rave reviews, so this weekend, whilst at our caravan in the area, we gave it a try. Food was fabulous, and huge portions!! I couldn't finish it but what I did eat was delicious - next time I go, I shall starve all day first! The staff are lovely, very friendly and helpful - put me at a table where I didn't have to walk too far to doors etc because they noticed I was using a walking stick. Service was really fast, especially as food is cooked fresh to order. A really great find and we shall be making it our local when we are at the caravan now!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrishaHolderFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, General Manager at The Royal Oak Near Filey, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Hello TrishaHolderFisher, many thanks for your great review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your time with us and you found the staff attentive and helpful.
So glad you enjoyed our food as well, here's a little tip, if you can't finish your plate ask to take it home in a doggy bag, perfect for a midnight snack!!
Thanks again and hope to see you soon.
Cheers, from all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Had a fantastic meal my stomach is full from lovely steak! We are staying at Haven down the road well worth a visit if staying there or just passing for a meal as food is value for money and very welcoming and a child room for the young ones !

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinsonJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, General Manager at The Royal Oak Near Filey, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Hi there RobinsonJohn, thanks for posting a great review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your time with us, please visit again soon as we have a very extensive menu for you to get through!!
Cheers from all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We found this to be a very friendly, clean and very comfortable little pub. Meals were delicious! If we return to England would love to stay there again. Terry and staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwennie5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, General Manager at The Royal Oak Near Filey, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Hi Gwennie5555, hope you had a safe trip back to Australia. Thanks for the great review and we hope to see you again sometime in the future. Best Wishes.
Cheers from all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

many thanks for the very warm welcome for me and my family, Terry your a gem that lit my girls faces up on both our visits. and many thanks to your staff who also was very friendly, and went that extra mile that you do not often see these days. (young Beth says thank you for the cook book) hope to re visit in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, General Manager at The Royal Oak Near Filey, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Hi there Russell0113, thanks for taking the time out to post a review and many thanks for your kind words. Terry and the front of house certainly appreciate your comments. Really pleased you had a great time and hope to see you again soon.
Cheers from all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Booked in for a couple of nights. Our room was a good size and clean. However, the bathroom light was faulty, no complimentary toiletries and the television was impossible to watch from the bed. Only there a couple of nights but room not serviced e.g. bin not emptied, no coffee top-up,.

We were disappointed in comparing our stay to other similar priced accomodation in the past.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drallop2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, General Manager at The Royal Oak Near Filey, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are disappointed you didn't enjoy your stay with us and we must apologise that your room was overlooked re bin been emptied and coffee sachets not renewed. I asked our cleaner about this and the look if horror on her face was a picture, she had genuinely forgot about your room and couldn't apologise enough.
What gets me is why you didn't mention this at the time?? For crying out loud you've got a tongue, use it!! You were asked on numerous occasions if everything was ok, you replied "Yes"
And one last thing, if you couldn't see the TV from the bed then I think you need to visit that well known opticians.
Cheers from all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunmanby
1.1 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
444 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
202 reviews
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
Hallam Guest House
#7 of 16 in Filey
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Southgate Bed & Breakfast
1.1 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#5 of 5 in Hunmanby
7 reviews
1.4 mi away
Filey Grange Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak Near Filey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Near Filey

Address: Moor Road, Hunmanby, Filey YO14 9QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey > Hunmanby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hunmanby
Price Range: £43 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Oak Near Filey 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak is a warm and friendly pub and B&B. we welcome families to come and enjoy our facilities and have a wonderful play area to keep the children entertained. Our menu has a variety beyond the usual pub grub and we hope to tempt you with our specials and desserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Royal Oak Near Filey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Near Filey Hunmanby, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing