We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Oak Near Filey

The Royal Oak Near Filey
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Royal Oak Near Filey
Ranked #2 of 3 Hunmanby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Superb family meal, mega size portions, highly recommend the rump steak, its the best I have had for many years, burgers are really good, nice and tasty, sweet and sour chicken lovelly, gammon really juicy. Puddings if you can fit one in are excellent, hoist very funny and entertaining. Will be eating here again, thanks to all of the staff for great service. P.s we are a family of four, I didn't eat all of this myself.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    26
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
67
28
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We found this place online when staying at haven and we are so glad we did. We booked for Sunday lunch and it was the best Sunday lunch we have ever had out and may be even better than we have at home. Only thing I would say is it dose get a bit hot in there on a warm day but is worth getting hot for that sort of food.
We tried to get back in the week but it was fully booked. We managed to get a table for our last night and wow what a meal. We all had great food my wife loved the bbq chicken and I tried the mixed grill which was by far the best I have ever had, my kids had burger and said it was the best they had had to. Nan had sweet and sour chicken and loved it. They even gave us a box to the take bones and meat I could not eat, home to the dog. I would say that they do temp you with the puddings and if I could of I would off, my daughter got a waffle to take away and loved it. The only complaint I have is the bar man said if you like the mixed grill you should try our pies and it was our last night and boy do I wish I could. Over all the staff are great and we all felt very welcome including the kids, they even asked to go from Durham to the pub for this Sunday lunch.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank npm m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed the night in the family room. Accommodation was clean and the welcome was very friendly. The room decor was tired and the electrics a bit suspect but the beds were comfy and we slept well. Breakfast was huge, great value. Location great for a weekend in Filey.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, General Manager at The Royal Oak Near Filey, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hi Caroline H, thanks for taking the time out to post a review. I must pull you up on one of your comments though regarding the electrics been a bit suspect. Was this a technical term I wonder as you must have experience in this field??
You see all establishments like ours, every year, according to Health & Safety Law must be PAT (portable appliance tested) by qualified independent electricians, and seeing as we passed our PAT Testing which is a very intense examination of all electrical appliances, including plugs and wiring. I fail to see how you deem our electrics "suspect"
I will gladly pass on your comments to the qualified electricians the next time we are PAT Tested, whoa there boys are you sure about our certificate as one of weekend guests said our electrics were a bit dodgy like. Wink, wink say no more guv'nor.
Cheers, for all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Visited on the strength of previous reviews. First impressions..very welcoming and friendly staff.
Food was delightful...huge portions I had chilli ,and hubs had steak pie. I couldn't eat all mine due to the huge portions..couldn't fit it all in. Very reasonably priced too!
I was also impressed with the ability of one of the staff of remembering our names...and not just ours...the place was packed to the rafters.
It was our first ever experience of staying in a caravan at a nearby site, and although we may not visit the caravan site again, we would certainly give the Royal Oak a try if in the area.

Room Tip: I would book ahead if on a weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Don.t be put off by the dilapitated tourers that line the carpark. This pub serves seriously good food. The staff are friendly and helpful....booking taxis if needed. They are also slightly mad....one of them greeting eveyone with a good morning....albeitb8pm at night. All the food we ordered was great from sandwiches to curry to lamb shank. The homemade oniannrings were huge....we will definately come back whenbwe are next camping in hunmanby.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Have been to the Royal Oak, quite a few times. We come to a nearby caravan site close to this pub.
We always come for a meal, which is always cooked fresh to your liking, and they are always big portions and excellent value for money. The host's Terry & Andy always make you very welcome, as do all the bar staff. They cannot do enough for you. Also for us having dogs with us, there is a section of there establishment that caters for our four legged friends. Highly recommend this place to anyone in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank stuartbowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We were staying at a nearby caravan site, 2 adults 2 kids. Chose The Royal Oak due to favourable reviews on Trip Adviser. We were made welcome in the traditional setting by staff who were enthusiastic and friendly. Well prepared food, big portions and the best chips I've had for a while, all at a fair price. Worth a visit if your in the area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy310515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunmanby
2.3 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
8.4 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
8.5 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,489 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
4.8 mi away
Crows Nest Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak Near Filey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Near Filey

Property: The Royal Oak Near Filey
Address: Moor Road, Hunmanby, Filey YO14 9QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey > Hunmanby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hunmanby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Oak Near Filey 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak is a warm and friendly pub and B&B. we welcome families to come and enjoy our facilities and have a wonderful play area to keep the children entertained. Our menu has a variety beyond the usual pub grub and we hope to tempt you with our specials and desserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Royal Oak Near Filey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Near Filey Hunmanby, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing