We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“excellent holiday, cant wait to go back”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tickle Cottage

Phew ..parking at front and sun at back all afternoon /evening
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Phew ..parking at front and sun at back all afternoon /evening
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Phew ..parking at front and sun at back all afternoon /evening
Dining area for six
Second bedroom can sleep 3. Includes hairdryer and TV/DVD
King size bedroom with huilt in wardrobe area includes TV/DVD, hairdryer, iron/board and slippers
The duck family are sitting tennants but they do behave!
Modern bathroom with overhead shower, wall towel rail and skylight
Swimming pool area with sauna and steam room, complimentary access when staying at Tickle Cottage
The very important . . .pub!
Fishing lake
View from the top of the private access road
Ho Ho Ho
Have a Tickle Christmas
Park you car directly outside the cottage and explore!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Hunmanby, Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MrsH1971
Scottish Borders
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“excellent holiday, cant wait to go back”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Brilliant accommodation, the cottage has everything you will need plus extras. It's full of lovely homely touches. Very clean and comfortable.
The Bay itself is lovely, so peaceful, everyone was friendly, plenty to do. The pub serves huge portions of great food.
It's a great base for visiting the area, loads of places to visit. Husband & daughter loved flamingos land - a must if you like roller coasters. Eden camp was also a very good day out.
Wish we'd booked for longer, definitely wasn't ready to go home. The visitor book is full of positive comments.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cottage is a home from home
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday and taking the time to comment it is very much appreciated and essential for maintaining standards. We do hope you will visit agin soon.
Sally x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue110862
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“just gorgeous”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have just spent a fab weekend at Tickle Cottage with friends. It has everything you could poss need and more for a comfortable stay. We walked into Filey via the beach, visited Scarborough and Robin Hoods Bay, had a lovely morning swim at the pool and a very filling meal at the on site friendly pub. We made the most of the sunshine and enjoyed a bbq on the terrace, only one negative ....it wasnt long enough! Cant wait to go back...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the excellent location
Liked least: packing up to go home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment we're delighted you enjoyed your stay. The walk to Filey along the beach is beautiful and just the right amount of walking! I do hope we can welcome you to Tickle again some time in the near future.
Sally x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila W
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Loved the cottage, loved the site, loved the area.”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Tickle Cottage provides first-class rental accommodation. We couldn't have asked for better and we loved the relaxing decor. The site at The Bay was very clean and we enjoyed our meals at the on-site pub. As senior citizens, we did not take advantage of the on-site swimming pool and other facilities but think these would be great for families. We enjoyed long walks with our little dog on the South Beach at Bridlington and along the cliff top at Sewerby, but didn't try the walk to the beach from The Bay as it looked a bit too steep to attempt the walk back in view of our age!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Couldn't fault anything (except the builders!).
Liked least: The only thing we disliked was when, on two days, builders parked their vans right outside the front door to the cottage, once just inches away from the door, but it was only a minor problem as we were out most of the time.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2014
We're so pleased you enjoyed your break at Tickle Cottage and thank you for taking the time to comment Sheila, we hope to welcome you again at some point in the future.
Sally x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June G
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Safe Haven”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have just come back from a long week-end at lovely Tickle Cottage. We were kept busy by our 2 grandaughters aged 7 & 10 who would have happily spent all week-end in the swimming pool I think. The cottage was very clean & comfy and we all loved sitting out on the patio which was in full sun almost all day & having the garden area to play on meant we wern't worried about the safety of the girls. The beach is an easy walk away & is one of the best beaches we have been on . We had a meal in the pub on site and would highly reccomend that as well - again it is child friendly with a relaxed welcoming atmosphere. Tickle Cottage has the thumbs up from us and we will definately be back again soon.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments and we're delighted the kiddies loved the pool, we hope you will visit us again soon x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDCJD
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow, what a find!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Just spent the Easter weekend at Tickle and had an amazing time. The weather was excellent which obviously you cannot guarantee but even if it rains non-stop, there is plenty to do on site and within the cottage itself.

They truly have thought of everything - games, DVDs, suggestions in the guest book, onsite swimming pool with additional activities for a small fee - you could spend a week here and never run out of things to do and that's even before you've ventured down to the beach.

The beach is a short walk of around 10 minutes - suitable for pushchairs although a little uneven underfoot in parts but a really pleasant walk with stunning views.

Pub and onsite deli were fab serving delish food.

The owner is a pleasure to deal with and could not be more helpful.

Really could not fault it. We will be heading back for years to come.....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The pillows
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2014
Thank you for the review that's lovely to hear ... I'm pleased the weather was 'eggcellent' and you had a 'cracking time'
Ok I'll get my coat ...

Thanks again for taking the time to comment and we hope you visit us again soon x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouWard26...
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
“More than a home from home - it's a haven.”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

One of the most welcoming, comfortable and relaxing places we've stayed at. Everything is there to make your stay easy, convenient and no fuss.
The local pub is friendly and the food excellent. The leisure facilities are brilliant for all ages.
The walk to the beach is a little steep but well worth it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable atmosphere of the cottage and great facilities.
Liked least: There's still a lot of building work going on around the site.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2014
What a lovely thing to say thank you. We find it very relaxing and we're pleased you did too, thank you for taking the time to review x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eunice B
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful short break”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

A beautiful cottage,well located in The Bay Complex Filey.
Tickle Cottage has everything you need, it is a"Home from home" with lots of nice extras.
The weather was fabulous and on site facilities are extremely good.
Rosie our dog loved the beach and the meadow.The fact The Bay was very dog friendly is important to us and we will return again soon.
Sally the owner was very helpful. Many Thanks.
.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Still some construction taking place on the site.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2014
I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay Eunice and we would love to welcome you back again soon x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing