We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect venue for afternoon tea.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Judges Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirklevington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2013

10 of us had afternoon tea at Judges to celebrate my daughter's 40th birthday and we all agreed it couldn't have been better. We had a good choice of sandwiches (all made with differing breads; and plenty of them); these were followed by scones, jam and cream (they even made plain scones as requested by my daughter as she doesn't like fruit scones) and finally the most delicious cakes and individual trifles imaginable. Tea and coffee were plentiful and replenished on request at no extra cost. There was a welcoming blazing fire and extremely comfortable easy chairs and sofas - we were so snug we struggled not to doze off! The staff were excellent and nothing was a bother to them. If you're considering visiting Judges go for it - I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Didn't stay in a room as our visit was for tea only.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

This is super to read, thank you. It breaks my heart when I peer through a certain teashop's window in Harrogate and see what they offer and how much they charge. I trained in London and my wife used to work at Brown's Hotel so together my team and I work very hard to make sure that our afternoon teas are done properly. I know that I'm biased here but I reckon our afternoon teas are more than a match for the highly priced ones in central London. Please do tell your friends about us and see you again soon! Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 12/3/13

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
There are newer reviews for Judges Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2013

We have previously been guests at Judges so we had no qualms about holding our civil partnership there due to its location and the service previously received. It is now even better and they excelled in every way.
Our day was held in 3 stages - the ceremony (small and low-key), champagne afternoon tea (for a larger party) and an evening of hot buffet food and music for additional guests. Every stage was perfect.
On arrival we were greeted by Emma who was an example of true professionalism from start to end. Everything was done and in place according to our wishes.
Our room was spotlessly clean and the champagne helped alleviate any pre-ceremony nerves.
Neil, our 'master of ceremonies' worked tirelessly all day to ensure that music was played at the right time and in the right places, furniture was arranged and re-arranged, good food was served, drinks were available and everybody was happy.
Thank you to all the staff at Judges who made our time there so special.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fjhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Having just come back to work after a few days away reading this was an absolutely fabulous way to start the week. On behalf of all the team thank you very much for your kind words, they really do mean a lot to us. Every happiness in your future together and we all look forward to being of service in the years to come. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 4/3/13

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My husband and I spent several days at the Judges Country House Hotel this past fall. We have travelled around much of Europe and always prefer to stay in a country house rather than a large hotel or inn. After deciding on the area we wished to visit, we were thrilled to find the Judges and looked forward to our upcoming holiday with great anticipation. And alas, we were not disappointed in the least!! From the moment we pulled up to the beautiful circle drive in the front of the hotel, until the very last morning that we departed with our luggage being placed in our car by the Innkeeper himself, it was pure perfection. We love the old world decor of the Country House - it was warm and welcoming and everything we had hoped for. We thoroughly enjoyed dining there having fabulous meals overlooking the lush landscape. Our room was extremely spacious and wonderfully decorated. I especially enjoyed the touch of having our very own pet goldfish named Finn to care for. The service was excellent, the food delicious, and the atmosphere everything and more that a fine English country home should portray. I hope that we will be able to return to England again before long --- and will most certainly include a visit to the Judges Country House Hotel on our itinerary. Pure excellence - and we thank you for that.

Room Tip: We were located on the side of the second floor of the building overlooking the garden gazebo.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Fabulous! Thank you, it makes it all worthwhile! Please do tell your friends about us and that's there's more to the UK than just the routine tourist traps. We all look forward to welcoming you both back to Judges on your next trip. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 26/2/13

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We (that is my new wife and I) have just returned from our Wedding (18th Feb 2013) at Judges and what an absolute amazing experience, from the moment of booking this hotel to saying goodbye on Tuesday the whole experience has been fantastic. Emma who looks after us grooms and brides was brilliant, experienced, friendly and totally professional but with a huge personal touch, Suzanne who look after us on our big day was fantastic nothing was too much trouble she was brilliant at keeping everyone informed, sending in the children at the right time everything was amazing. The restaurant staff, well the service they provided was beyond second to none it was impeccable, friendly, seamless, un-hurried and made all the guests feel Important and relaxed. food well it is a 3 rosette standard so absolutely no complaints in that department. The room (Bridal suite No6) well outstanding, romantic, elegant and cosy are just a few of the words needed to describe it. What more can I say but Thank you to all the staff at Judges for making our wedding the most amazing day and the memories that we take will last forever..............!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Fabulous, thank you on behalf of all the team. Every happiness to you both in your future together and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Judges in the years to come. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 21/2/13

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We have just held the firms annual staff function at Judges Hotel Yarm. This was the first time we've held it a Judges but having had a few meals there in the past we thought it would be ideal. We were not disappointed. The room was wood panelled and cosy, the food was excellent and the service second to none. Dominique ran the whole affair for us with military precision and Angelo ensured we didn't go thirsty! You feel as though you are guests in a friends country mansion. Some of the party stayed overnight and were offered a reduced price. All were full of praise for the venue. We can recommend this hotel for functions, a meal out or a cosy weekend away.

Room Tip: After booking ask if a free upgrade is available.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

A super way to start the day, thank you on behalf of all the team. We hope to see you all again very soon. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 20/2/13

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, 15th and 16th February 2013. If we had not had a few concerns on our first day I would definitely have given a 5/5. That said, once we had voiced our concerns to staff they went above and beyond the call of duty to put things right for us and they made the remainder of our stay exceptionally good. The place is in a lovely setting , bathrooms are amazing, dinner one of the best ever. We would visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owlsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

This is super, thank you. I also love the fact that when we were not getting everything absolutely right on the first day, rather than say nothing at the time, we were given the chance to do something about it. We care deeply about what we do and we hate it when we make mistakes. It's great that there are still guests out there who are willing to help by saying something to us directly and who also have faith that what they say will then be heard. We hope to see you again soon. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 19/2/13

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I have had meals here a couple of times now, on business and on a date (not at the same time...). For ages I had avoided this place because it is a little out of the way, and their website doesn't inspire confidence in attention to detail. How wrong I was to delay the experience!

I have not yet had the pleasure of staying there - but imagine that it is very pleasant.

The meals have yet to disappoint - the service is outstanding and friendly, the waiting staff make you feel special and comfortable at the same time.
On arrival you are taken into the bar lounge, and asked if you would like a drink - they have an excellent selection of spirits, including a fairly comprehensive whisky selection. They then ask you to review the menu and take your order. The wine list, although a little daunting and a little confusing consists of a fantastic selection of some very fine wines (some of them fairly reasonably priced - others decadently so). Once the meals are ready, they take you to your table in the intimate, comfortable restaurant overlooking the gardens.

The meals themselves are stunning. I have had the pleasure of eating at the Gilbert Scott recently and Claridges in the past, and neither has left such and impression on me as the meal at the Judges Hotel in Kirklevington. Be it the Caramelised Satay Foie Gras with slivers of lime, or the English Rose Veal with the sweetbread ragu, I was finding myself transported in flavours with each bite. Although there may have been minimal technical niggles (such as the Foie Gras needing just a touch more heat during the caramelisation), the attention to flavour combinations on each plate, and the quality of the ingredients was fantastic.

Of course, the service does come at a price, and certainly it's not a "healthy" meal we had. However for the occasional splurge of luxury, I will most certainly be returning.

A deserved 5 stars.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bfg_hightower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Thank you very much for this very kind and helpful review. We look forward very much to welcoming you back to Judges in the near future. Kind regards, Tim Howard GM 19/2/13

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirklevington
1.8 mi away
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Crathorne Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crathorne
894 reviews
12.7 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,496 reviews
9.4 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
228 reviews
8.2 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,577 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Parkmore Hotel
Best Western Parkmore Hotel
#6 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Judges Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Judges Country House Hotel

Address: Kirklevington Hall Thirsk Road, Kirklevington TS15 9LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kirklevington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirklevington
Price Range: £139 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Judges Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An AA's Inspector's Choice Hotel since 2003, Judges Country House Hotel continues to be an AA 3 Red Star Country House Hotel as well as boasting 3 AA Rosettes, first awarded in 2003, and is also particularly recommended by the Michelin Guide 2014. Consistently rated by "The Good Hotel Guide" and praised by both "The Times", "The Sunday Times" and "The Telegraph" newspapers Judges is one of the finest hotels and restaurants not only in the Middlesbrough area but also in the United Kingdom as a whole. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Judges Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Judges Country Hotel
Judges Country House Hotel Kirklevington, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing