We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Judges Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirklevington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2013

After looking at many diffrent venues for our wedding day we decided on Judges the minute we seen it. Not only for its stunning setting but mainly due to the wedding coordinator Emma, we found emma to be so good at her job and nothing was to much, which really helps when booking a wedding.
Our day arrived and we could not of asked for more, Emma and Neil are exceptional , they both really ensure that all of your guests are having a good time and that everything is how you want it to be.
We have had lots of people compliment the food, it was superb and plenty, which can be rare we have found when being at other venues for weddings.
We cannot recommened Judges enough, stunning place, excellent staff and the hotel rooms are lovely, very comfortable, clean with a classy feel to them.
Other venues we found did not have the same level of service or intimate feeling as judges and I will be forever grateful to Judges and all of the staff (especially Neil and Emma) for giving us our dream day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nad1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

On behalf of all the team, both front and back of house, thank you very much for your kind words; they really do mean a huge amount to us. Please don't forget to tell your friends about us! Every happiness to you both and we all look forward to being of service again in the years to come. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 22/10/13

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

I got married here at the beginning of the month. I stayed the night before with my bridesmaids in room 8 (my fav room!) and we all loved it! Stayed in room 6 (honeymoon suite) the next night, my new husband and myself loved it! The wedding was amazing, I couldn't make a single complaint if I tried! The attention to detail, the care they put into everything, nothing is too much trouble, Emma is fantastic and Neil was an absolute star!! Not forgetting everyone else that works at judges, your a credit to the place! Can't wait to come back!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank abimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

This is just fabulous. On behalf of us all I don't really know what else to say other than a thank you. Please do remember to tell your friends about us! Every happiness to you both in your future together and we look forward to being of service again in the years to come. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 18/10/13

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We attending a friends wedding here and to be fair the place is amazing. Everything was very good, although a bit on the pricy side. We didn't actually stop overnight because of the cost and found a wonderful b&b a few mile away. If you want to get married you would struggle to find anywhere better, loved it.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Judges in the near future. Kind regards, Tim Howard GM 11/10/13

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Booked judges for my first wedding anniversary for a surprise for my wife, and what a surprise it was she loved the hotel and the location. On arrival we were met by a friendly member of staff who made us very welcome and showed us to our room which was fantastic (room 6) with great views of the gardens, and to have a television in the bathroom was just one of the many extra little touches that the hotel offers. The staff are excellent and take time out to talk to you and make you feel welcome. We use the hotel again and would recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: Room 6 was fantastic but I would imagine all the rooms are of the same high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

This was just absolutely super to read. I keep banging on at my team that, whilst awards are absolutely great, it's all about how we make each guest feel, every single day; so reading this really brought a big smile to my face, thank you! Please do spread the word about us to your friends and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Judges in the years to come. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 10/10/13

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We arrived after a reasonably long drive and found the staff very helpful. After checking in and dropping our bags in a nicely furnished room with an excellent bathroom, we went straight in for afternoon tea. Everything was freshly prepared and home made, with a nice view of the gardens. Breakfast was excellent and our only regret was that we did not have the opportunity to dine in the restaurant, we intend to go back and would definitely want to enjoy a dinner. The staff are a credit to the hotel very friendly and professional.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Brilliant!, thank you. Reading this makes all the hard work behind the scenes worthwhile. Please do spread the word about us and we hope to see you again soon, and for dinner as well next time! Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 8/10/13

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We attended a friends wedding at Judges. It was beautifully organized and the food was amazing the best we have ever had at a wedding. The grounds are beautiful and great for a stroll after huge breakfast!
Very relaxing atmosphere and great decor.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleBirdLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Reading this was a super way to start the day, thank you on behalf of us all. Please do tell your friends about us and we look forward to welcoming you both back to Judges (for dinner as well this time!) in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Tim Howard GM 8/10/13

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

For my husband's 65th birthday at the beginning of September 2013 we decided to have a three night break at "Judges" and from the minute we arrived, and were personally greeted at the door, to the minute we checked out our experience was equal to and at times beyond our expectations. Our room 12A was beautiful with a lovely view of the gardens and Harley our goldfish lived to tell the tale of our care of him. Every member of staff was friendly and helpful and we were made to feel at home. Afternoon tea was scrumptious and all our evening meals were exceptional from canapés through to coffee and petite fours and the celebratory complimentary glass of champagne was much appreciated. Our only disappointment (and not a complaint) was that due to most guests being at the hotel for weddings the restaurant was quite quiet each evening, however the staff were attentive without being obtrusive and we were not rushed although a few more guests would have given a better atmosphere. Thank you one and all for making our stay so special on a very special occasion.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

This is super to read, on behalf of us all, thank you. Rather than play it safe and offer the same things everyone else does our Restaurant tries to offer something special that is really memorable. It's a harder road to travel but a huge percentage of our success over the years has come from guests, such as yourselves, spreading the word about us. So please do tell your friends about us and we hope to see you again very soon. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 1/10/13

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirklevington
1.8 mi away
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Crathorne Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crathorne
913 reviews
12.7 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,526 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,122 reviews
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees West Hotel
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees Wes...
#4 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
386 reviews
3.9 mi away
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Judges Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Judges Country House Hotel

Address: Kirklevington Hall Thirsk Road, Kirklevington TS15 9LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kirklevington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirklevington
Price Range: £142 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Judges Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An AA's Inspector's Choice Hotel since 2003, Judges Country House Hotel continues to be an AA 3 Red Star Country House Hotel as well as boasting 3 AA Rosettes, first awarded in 2003, and is also particularly recommended by the Michelin Guide 2014. Consistently rated by "The Good Hotel Guide" and praised by both "The Times", "The Sunday Times" and "The Telegraph" newspapers Judges is one of the finest hotels and restaurants not only in the Middlesbrough area but also in the United Kingdom as a whole. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Judges Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Judges Country Hotel
Judges Country House Hotel Kirklevington, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing