We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PERFECTION” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Judges Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Judges Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirklevington
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“PERFECTION”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

I have actually lost count of how many times me and my partner have stayed and dined at judges overall! We eagerly returned last night for Dinner Bed and Breakfast, having not been since May! After a friendly welcome from reception, being shown to our lovely room for the night, then sprucing up to go down to the lounge, we were then greeted by Dominique and Angelo and congratulated on our pending new arrival in January! Sitting relaxing whilst waiting to go into the restaurant it was so nice to be asked if I would like a non alcoholic cocktail as I had stated how much I was missing a good ole tipple! Especially the Champagne :'( ! Much appreciated so Thank you for that! Dinner.....well nothing much to say! Perfection. I find it difficult to stray from the Beef Fillet.....but I did and chose the Venison with braised red cabbage, boudin noir and chocolate sauce! Delicious! My partner having the Lamb, equally enjoyed his meal, and I had the Michel Cluizel Chocolate cake for dessert! YAY! We then enjoyed a Cheese Board and Tea/Coffee and petit fours back in the lounge before retiring for the night! We really hope to return in December, all being well!....and this will be the first port of call next year for my first glass of Champagne after a 9 month abstinence! Keep up the good work everyone!
Candice and Del. P.S Just to add, your toilets are far from scruffy. Can't please everyone I suppose!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank candice b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Just super! Thank you on behalf of us all and many congratulations on your pending arrival! I'm also glad that we still had the Michel Cluizel chocolate for you! As always thank you for your support and for spreading the word about us, it means a great deal to us especially after someone has just taken a swipe at us. Take great care and we look forward to seeing you again in December. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 22/10/13
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    73
    26
    11
    12
See reviews for
133
231
11
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

My wife and I attended an after wedding function at Judges last night in the Courtyard Suite.
If you are going to a function at this venue, take your own drinks!!
Pint of Carlsberg and a Gin and Tonic £12.15
Pint of Carlsberg and a bottle of Peroni £10.00
Their attitude seems to be, it's a captive market, we'll charge what we want.
More expensive than London's West End
Hardly top notch venue, poor service and scruffy toilets
Give it a miss

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnandpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
I think this review says more about the person who wrote this is than it does us.

The prices for the orders mentioned are: £9.50 & £8.15 respectively. So, at the outset, this review is misleading.

Neil served this guest his first round of lager and Peroni and the guest complained then, saying how wealthy he was but that our prices were more than Norway which is the most expensive country. He then proceeded to open up an account for further drinks.

We look out at our pricing very carefully to make sure that it is competitive and
our bar tariffs are clearly on public display. This review also really irritates me as it suggests that we are arrogant; the people who know us know that this is the farthest thing from the truth.

Because of people like this, who think it's ok to bring your own booze to a function, the car-parks are now monitored for this very reason and anyone caught bringing their own booze is asked to leave.

We welcome all feedback but I would say that this is the first complaint we have had regarding our bar prices, as well as our loos, that I can remember. Tim Howard GM 20/10/13
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We came for lunch on Sunday with my 3 year old girl. The food was excellent, we both had the lamb.

We got the pumpkin risotto for my daughter which was really lovely, although the only thing I would say is cater to your audience though, as they served my child's risotto in an enormous ornate bowl piping hot which I asked them to transfer into a more suitable cool bowl which they did with no issues.

The setting was beautiful, food excellent, service great and we will definitely be going back!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jodene v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you very much for this review. We do try to get every detail right all the time and, as all of those involved here have children of their own, we know the importance of using cooler plates for our younger guests. We should have got this right at the outset and I am sorry that we did not. But thank you for these comments, it is feedback like this that helps to keep us on our toes. We hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards, Tim Howard GM 22/101/13
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesbrough
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

After looking at many diffrent venues for our wedding day we decided on Judges the minute we seen it. Not only for its stunning setting but mainly due to the wedding coordinator Emma, we found emma to be so good at her job and nothing was to much, which really helps when booking a wedding.
Our day arrived and we could not of asked for more, Emma and Neil are exceptional , they both really ensure that all of your guests are having a good time and that everything is how you want it to be.
We have had lots of people compliment the food, it was superb and plenty, which can be rare we have found when being at other venues for weddings.
We cannot recommened Judges enough, stunning place, excellent staff and the hotel rooms are lovely, very comfortable, clean with a classy feel to them.
Other venues we found did not have the same level of service or intimate feeling as judges and I will be forever grateful to Judges and all of the staff (especially Neil and Emma) for giving us our dream day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nad1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
On behalf of all the team, both front and back of house, thank you very much for your kind words; they really do mean a huge amount to us. Please don't forget to tell your friends about us! Every happiness to you both and we all look forward to being of service again in the years to come. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 22/10/13
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk, north east
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

I got married here at the beginning of the month. I stayed the night before with my bridesmaids in room 8 (my fav room!) and we all loved it! Stayed in room 6 (honeymoon suite) the next night, my new husband and myself loved it! The wedding was amazing, I couldn't make a single complaint if I tried! The attention to detail, the care they put into everything, nothing is too much trouble, Emma is fantastic and Neil was an absolute star!! Not forgetting everyone else that works at judges, your a credit to the place! Can't wait to come back!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank abimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
This is just fabulous. On behalf of us all I don't really know what else to say other than a thank you. Please do remember to tell your friends about us! Every happiness to you both in your future together and we look forward to being of service again in the years to come. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 18/10/13
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We attending a friends wedding here and to be fair the place is amazing. Everything was very good, although a bit on the pricy side. We didn't actually stop overnight because of the cost and found a wonderful b&b a few mile away. If you want to get married you would struggle to find anywhere better, loved it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Judges in the near future. Kind regards, Tim Howard GM 11/10/13
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Booked judges for my first wedding anniversary for a surprise for my wife, and what a surprise it was she loved the hotel and the location. On arrival we were met by a friendly member of staff who made us very welcome and showed us to our room which was fantastic (room 6) with great views of the gardens, and to have a television in the bathroom was just one of the many extra little touches that the hotel offers. The staff are excellent and take time out to talk to you and make you feel welcome. We use the hotel again and would recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: Room 6 was fantastic but I would imagine all the rooms are of the same high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
This was just absolutely super to read. I keep banging on at my team that, whilst awards are absolutely great, it's all about how we make each guest feel, every single day; so reading this really brought a big smile to my face, thank you! Please do spread the word about us to your friends and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Judges in the years to come. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 10/10/13
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirklevington
1.9 mi away
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Crathorne Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crathorne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
12.6 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
9.3 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
8.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,297 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Parkmore Hotel
BEST WESTERN Parkmore Hotel
#5 of 8 in Stockton-on-Tees
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Judges Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Judges Country House Hotel

Property: Judges Country House Hotel
Address: Kirklevington Hall Thirsk Road, Kirklevington TS15 9LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kirklevington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirklevington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Judges Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An AA's Inspector's Choice Hotel since 2003, Judges Country House Hotel continues to be an AA 3 Red Star Country House Hotel as well as boasting 3 AA Rosettes, first awarded in 2003, and is also particularly recommended by the Michelin Guide 2014. Consistently rated by "The Good Hotel Guide" and praised by both "The Times", "The Sunday Times" and "The Telegraph" newspapers Judges is one of the finest hotels and restaurants not only in the Middlesbrough area but also in the United Kingdom as a whole. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Judges Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Judges Country Hotel
Judges Country House Hotel Kirklevington, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing