We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Wedding Day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Judges Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirklevington
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Wedding Day”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We had our wedding in January at Judges and we could not have wished for a more perfect day. Arriving at the venue I was greeted by members of staff who unloaded centre pieces from my car and carried the many bags I had with me to my room.
Every single member of staff, throughout the day, were attentive, professional yet personable. Their attention to detail was amazing and they really did go that extra mile to make sure myself, my husband and ALL of our guests were happy. The food was absolutely delicious, many of our guests commented on this.
Our bridal suite was beautiful and the hotel and grounds look fantastic in our wedding pictures.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a venue to get married, the staff are experienced, thorough and very very nice people who you can trust to make sure your special day goes smoothly. Thank you Judges staff for making our day so special.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmabarrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Brilliant! On behalf of us all thank you very much for your kind words. Please do tell your friends about us and we wish you every happiness in your life together. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 4/3/14
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    75
    27
    11
    12
See reviews for
136
238
11
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We held our wedding day at Judges on the 22nd February 2014. From start to finish the day was amazing! The staff, food and whole atmosphere was just perfect and everything ran like a dream. I would highly recommend anyone to consider for a wedding venue. The afternoon tea is also very good!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Super! Thank you on behalf of us all. Please do tell your friends about us and we all look forward to welcoming you both back to Judges In the years to come. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 4/3/14
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed at Judges Hotel for the first time for one night on 22nd February on a special dinner, bed, and breakfast offer.
This hotel is outstanding!
Our room was spotlessly clean and had every facility.
The staff could not have been more helpful and seemed to treat everyone with unfailing cheerfulness, but were never overbearing.
Our dinner was extraordinary - the food for every course from canapes to coffee gave us a variety of memorable flavours, and was presented with obvious care and enthusiasm by the kitchen staff. Sheer enjoyment for us!
Breakfasts are often treated as an afterthought in some hotels, but not here. What we had again was ingredients of the highest quality and very well presented.
For a gastronomic experience, and comfortable, relaxing surroundings, this hotel cannot be faulted.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Reading this was just such a super way to start the day, on behalf of us all, thank you very much. Please do tell your friends about us and we hope to see both again very soon. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 25/2/14
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield uk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I booked a surprise stay at short notice at the Judges Country House Hotel for my wife and I, after having to cancel a holiday abroad on doctors orders due to my wife"s medical condition. We had stayed at this hotel a year previously and on this occasion we stayed there on 30th and 31st January 2014. I had liaised with the hotel manager, Mr Tim Howard regarding our situation and requested that flowers and chocolates would be in our room on arrival as a further surprise for my wife. We were allocated room 12A, a spacious feature room overlooking the grounds to the rear of the hotel and duely found, when entering the room, a top class bouquet of flowers and chocolates as requested. The room was spotless with all the amenities you could need. Comfortable top class furnishings, huge comfortable bed and sparkling bathroom with jacuzzi bath and overhead T.V. A well stocked mini bar and tea and coffee making facilities etc. There were really nice extra touches such as a complimentary decanter of sherry, chocolates, cookies, fresh fruit, friendly goldfish and teddy bear, excellent! All the staff we encountered were most professional, helpful and friendly. In particular Dominique and Angelo who looked after us in the bar lounge and restaurant when we dined in on the 2nd evening. Our dining experiences of both breakfast and dinner were very much enjoyed with an extensive selection of high quality food and drink. This is a superb hotel and it was obvious to us that the management and staff strive to provide and achieve an excellent service.
The hotel is ideally located just outside the small interesting town of Yarm which has an interesting history, a good selection of shops, restaurants and bars and an ideal base for exploring Teeside, the north Yorkshire coast and moors areas. Once again, many thanks to Mr Tim Howard and his staff. We definitely hope to visit "Judges" again.

Room Tip: Go for a "feature" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owlsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
On behalf of us all, thank you for your very kind words. A full and speedy recovery to your wife and we all look forward to welcoming you both back to Judges in the very near future. Kind regards, Tim Howard GM 6/2/14
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
259 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Everything about the hotel is about that old fashioned quality and good service. The Kirklevington Hall, once a home of the Richardson family and then occupied by the circuit Judges when on location in Middlesbrough courts, was lovingly and carefully restored by its new owners. With only 21 rooms the owners commendably resisted the temptation of expanding the place into a bog standard hotel with a pretty façade.

The hotel is set in beautiful English gardens and well-tended grounds criss-crossed by the Judges Stream with wee bridges, waterfalls and even a grotto hidden away for you to explore. It’s just great to go out for a stroll outside especially on a sunny day.

The welcome starts with the moment you arrive at the hotel with staff rushing out to help you with the bags and making sure you settle comfortably in your room. The complimentary sherry and a bowl of fruit in the room were just a few of the many personal touches that set The Judges Hotel apart from the rest.

The place is full of little corridors and alcoves with rooms set unobtrusively within and giving guests that additional feeling of privacy. Rooms are spacious and well equipped with bathrobes, tea making facilities and fridge. Note there are no safe boxes in the rooms, at least not in Room 14.

There is a function venue set apart from the main building that ensures that other guests can spend the evening peacefully and not feel like trespassing as is often the case with other venues. The hotel also has a wine-tasting cellar.

The Lounge, a cosily attired room, is the place to meet and spend quality time in front of the crackling log-fire. The welcoming bar there is open all night with a friendly and efficient night porter going out of his way to ensure guests are comfortable and well catered for.

Breakfast choice is quite extensive though try to avoid going after 9 am as the place gets very busy and waiting is longer. If anything, extending the breakfast time until a bit later would be one improvement I would suggest.

Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Any room is good enough but if you like your space go for one of the Feature Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
I have just come back from London where, amongst other speakers, I was listening to Sir Clive Woodward talking about the DNA of a Champion and how to keep doing things better. This was really super to read on my return and really helps us continue pushing to improve. So, on behalf of all the team, thank you for your very kind words. Please do tell your friends about us and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Judges in the near future. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 23/1/14
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Just a little note to say a huge huge thank you to everyone at Judges for the hard work they put into our wedding day last weekend! The staff have been excellent during the whole planning process, and there are simply no words to describe how perfect our special day was at Judges- it was seamless and five stars just doesn't do this venue justice.

The bedrooms were a talking point amongst all our guests, chat about whether there was a goldfish in the room or a tv in the bathroom, and needless to say the complimentary sherry was a big hit with everyone! All rooms were different and have their own little quirks- totally unique and far from a bog-standard hotel room.
The food at breakfast and during the wedding day was delicious- especially the chips on the evening reception. And the communal areas and grounds are simply beautiful and so well maintained. We have had such positive feedback from everyone who was there, and I can't recommend this place enough. We are already looking forward to a return visit.

On a more personal note;
The reception staff are so helpful and offer such a warm welcome each time we have been, a huge thanks to Emma and Suzanne who have been on hand over the past few months to answer even the smallest of questions. Neil, well what can we say about him... Our guests are still raving about 'mr shoutyman' who did such a great job as MC. He had a wonderful rapport with our guests, knowing many of them by name by the end of the night and we are still amazed to how he was always one step ahead of us throughout the whole day, solving problems before they even arose. He is a real asset to Judges and really contributed to the relaxed atmosphere of our wedding day. Looking back, we couldn't have imagined him not being there! Finally, to the barman in the courtyard suite, michael, thank you for your help and hard work. Another amazing member of staff!

There is not one fault or criticism I have of this place. It is difficult to appreciate the warm, homely nature of Judges until you visit. It has such a special feel about it and we feel extremely lucky to have chosen this venue for our wedding. Couldn't have hoped for better. Thank you again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are unique and have their own positives. Rooms 6 and 12a were probably our favourit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northeast19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Brilliant! On behalf of us all, thank you. Please do tell your friend about us! Every happiness to you both in the years to come and we look forward to welcoming you all back in the near future. Kindest regards. Tim Howard GM 23/1/14
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We arrived early and left our luggage with the staff who later put our bags in our rooms when they were ready. I stayed here with friends and we all found our rooms to be beautiful, very clean, and the beds comfortable. The extras in the rooms were a lovely touch and much appreciated after a busy day. Even down to the goldfish and a note asking you to feed them, brilliant.

Our only niggle was the breakfast, although the produce was excellent it was nouvelle. Excuse me, but breakfast is breakfast and should not be served as a mountain in the middle of the plate. Pulease it can still be nicely presented without that nonsense. I think this was because they didn't want to present a full plate.

The staff were all extremely friendly and went out of their way to help us when we needed it, and always with a smile. Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: As the hotel is set back from the road we found that those of us on the front were fine and had a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review and thank you also for your helpful comment regarding the presentation of breakfast. I agree with you 100% and I have now passed your comments on to my team. Maybe we need to redo the recent breakfast refresher training! Please do tell your friends about us and we hope to see you again very soon. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 10/1/14
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirklevington
1.9 mi away
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Crathorne Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crathorne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
12.6 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
9.2 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
8.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
2.4 mi away
Claireville Hotel
Claireville Hotel
#6 of 8 in Stockton-on-Tees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Judges Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Judges Country House Hotel

Property: Judges Country House Hotel
Address: Kirklevington Hall Thirsk Road, Kirklevington TS15 9LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kirklevington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirklevington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Judges Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An AA's Inspector's Choice Hotel since 2003, Judges Country House Hotel continues to be an AA 3 Red Star Country House Hotel as well as boasting 3 AA Rosettes, first awarded in 2003, and is also particularly recommended by the Michelin Guide 2014. Consistently rated by "The Good Hotel Guide" and praised by both "The Times", "The Sunday Times" and "The Telegraph" newspapers Judges is one of the finest hotels and restaurants not only in the Middlesbrough area but also in the United Kingdom as a whole. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Judges Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Judges Country Hotel
Judges Country House Hotel Kirklevington, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing