We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Judges Country House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Parkmore Hotel(Stockton-on-Tees)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Durham Tees Hotel(Darlington)
US$61
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St George Hotel(Darlington)
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Bell Hotel(Middlesbrough)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Bell Inn(Ingleby Cross)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (620)
Filter reviews
620 results
Traveller rating
472
88
30
15
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
472
88
30
15
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding venueafternoon teamaster of ceremoniesbridal suitefabulous weddingwedding breakfastcomplimentary sherrydaughters weddingspecial thanksmr mrsjacuzzi bathgarden roomthe main hotelnight porterfour poster bedlittle touchesmodern bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
345 - 350 of 620 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We held the party in the beautiful Garden Room. It was set out ideally for our party of 18. I had taken table decorations to add finishing touches to what the hotel had already provided.
The Head Waiter was fantastic!! He couldn't do enough for us which made my Mam & Dad feel extra special.
The meal was lovely and everyone commented on that. I took a list of who had ordered what but Judges had already thought of that and had added individual menu orders to the back of the place name card. This was great during service as the waiting staff knew where to go with the different menu choices and meant they didnt have to shout the name of the dishes out as they went around the table serving!
Our rooms were excellent! Im terrible for checking the cleanliness of hotel rooms from the bedlinen to the bathroom and do take my own cleaning wipes just in case but i have to say that they didnt even come out of the case! The cleanliness was first class as so was the quality of linen used and ease of (it sounds silly but) opening a window, setting a comfortable room temperature and the complimentary nibbles and snacks, not forgetting the sherry!
Breakfast the next day was exceptional. We were seated in the conservatory and the morning outside was lovely and fresh. Again waiting staff were spot on and the menu was varied and nothing seemed to be too much trouble.
We have already booked a return visit, for afternoon tea and can't wait ti be back there!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yojreklaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

This is really super to read, on behalf of us all thank you very much for your kind words. Please do tell your friends about us and we look forward to welcoming you all back to Judges in the years to come. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 25/3/14

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We got married at judges in 2007 and have just returned for our first visit since. We stayed for bed dinner and breakfast and what great value for money it was. If you take out the prices of the meals it worked out around £70 for the room.
Staff are very friendly and the food was AMAZING.
A must try is the champagne afternoon tea - wow what a treat.
Canopies and lobster starter was fantastic.
The fillet of beef at dinner was possibly the nicest price of meat we have ever tried.
Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sewellp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words. Please do tell your friends about us and always keep an eye out for our special offers! Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 25/3/14

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

After holding our wedding, 2 christenings, and a 90th birthday meal in the past at Judges Hotel it was the obvious choice to hold my mums surprise 70th birthday party within the Garden Room at Judges. The events co-ordinators did a stirling job of organising our requirements and the staff on the day were exceptional and very professional. The afternoon tea was delicious with lovely hot drinks served throughout the day. I couldn't recommend Judges highly enough, a beautiful hotel where we hope to return again to soon.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank sharonf843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Brilliant! Thank you very much for your kind words; it is really super to read things like this. Please do spread the word about us amongst your friends and we all look forward to being of service again in the very near future. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 18/3/14

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We were married at Judges on 8th March and our day was just fantastic. We can't thank the staff at Judges enough for making our day so special and ensuring everything went smoothly.

Emma and Suzanne have been so helpful and nothing was too much trouble from booking our wedding right through to our wedding day.

Special thanks to Neil for everything on the day, he kept us updated with every part of the day and his customer service was second to none.

Looking forward to a return visit on our anniversary.

Thank you again for making our day so wonderful.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Potatopicker99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Super; on behalf of us all thank you so much for your kind words. Reading this makes it all worthwhile, please do tell your friends about us!. Every happiness to you both in your life together and we all look forward to being of service in the years to come. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 18/3/14

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel when attending a family wedding held there. The rooms were fantastic: light, airy and very beautiful.

We took our little boy (age 3) and although we thought the hotel would be more suited to adults and couples we were made very welcome. He was very impressed with the room (especially the novelty of a tv in the bathroom) and his own little bed which was made up ready for him. There was lots of space in the room for him to play and the staff were all very welcoming. At breakfast he was able to get exactly what he wanted (great with a fussy child!) and the staff were wonderful.
The grounds at Judges are stunning and the wedding was fantastic, we are looking forward to coming back for a short break.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DNAC1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Reading this was such a super way to start the day; on behalf of us all thank you very much for your kind words. Many of us here at Judges have children so it's super to read that our future clientele is already connecting with our brand! We look forward to welcoming you all back to Judges in the near future and in the meantime please do tell your friends about us. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 12/3/14

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews