We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Judges Country House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Parkmore Hotel(Stockton-on-Tees)
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Durham Tees Hotel(Darlington)
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St George Hotel(Darlington)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Bell Hotel(Middlesbrough)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Bell Inn(Ingleby Cross)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (623)
Filter reviews
624 results
Traveller rating
476
88
30
15
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
476
88
30
15
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding venueafternoon teamaster of ceremoniesbridal suitefabulous weddingwedding breakfastcomplimentary sherrydaughters weddingspecial thanksmr mrsjacuzzi bathgarden roomthe main hotelnight porterfour poster bedlittle touchesmodern bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
329 - 334 of 624 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed here recently on our way home from touring Scotland. Judges is set in large, well stocked and maintained grounds with plenty of tables to sit out and enjoy the peace and quiet after a long journey.

The elegant hotel has lots of interesting individual furniture, paintings and our room too was individual with nice fittings and really comfortable bed as well as a modern bathroom with jacuzzi, however the best part of our stay was the sumptuous dinner enjoyed in lovely surrounding. The cuisine is truly exquisite, great presentation and very tasty.
All the staff we met during our stay we're very efficient and very peasant to meet. All in all I think this is one of the finest smaller hotels we have in this country.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisdair L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Reading this brought such a big smile to my face, what a great way to start the week! On behalf of us all thank you very much for your kind words. Please do tell your friends about us and we all look forward to welcoming you both back to Judges in the near future. Kind regards, Tim Howard GM 16/6/14

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I had a wonderful meal here. The restaurant is quite formal and old school with properly set, well spaced tables, but the welcome, and service in general, is warm and free of pomp and pretension. Friendliness and sincerity seem to be a default setting in this part of the country. Food is classic British and very good indeed, my chicken dish could not have been more perfectly cooked, a chocolate fondant similarly faultless. Well worthy of its 3 AA Rosettes from this experience. Prices are towards the special occasion end (outside of promotions), but well worth it and the delightful setting adds to its virtues. Charming all round.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mrstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Brilliant! A super way to end the week, thank you. Please do tell your friends about us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 13/6/14

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

we recently had our daughters wedding and evening reception at Judges and had the most amazing day from start to finish. The whole courtyard suite looked stunning. the food and service were fabulous. In the run up to the wedding Emma and the team were so helpful and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. All our guests said what a fantastic venue we had chosen and those who stayed the night were very impressed by their rooms and the lovely grounds surrounding the hotel. all in all a weekend we will never forget, thank you for helping to make it so special.
HelenDunn

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

What a super way to end the week! On behalf of all the team thank you very much for your kind words. Every happiness to your daughter and her husband in their lives together and we all look forward to being of service again in the years to come. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 6/6/14

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I organised a baby shower at Judges for one of my best friends and the whole planning couldn't have been easier! Emma and Suzanne, the events team were extremely reliable and very quick to get back to me on any questions i had at all, and very accommodating! a very special thanks to both Emma and Suzanne :) My friend got married at Judges the year before so it was already quite a special place for her, so it was an obvious place to hold the baby shower. The service was excellent and the whole afternoon went without a problem. The afternoon tea was gorgeous, cakes, scones and beautiful sandwiches. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Brilliant! On behalf of us all thank you very much for your kind words. Please do tell your friends about us and we all look forward to being of service again on a future occasion. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 4/6/14

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my fiancé jumped at the chance to stay at our favourite hotel whenever we can and have never been disappointed. Our stay on May 30th was by far our best time yet! We stayed in the wonderful room 8 which was very spacious and had wonderful views of the grounds. We had dinner in the conservatory which was PERFECTION! The venison was cooked amazingly and my fiance's veal was perfect too. The staff are exceptional and no request is too much for them, especially Angelo in the bar who I always enjoy talking to about the wide selection of whiskeys available! Can not wait to return and we're both very excited for our wedding in August!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkLambert86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Reading this was a super way to start the week, on behalf of us all thank you very much for your kind words. Please do tell your friends about us and we look forward to welcoming both back to Judges in August, if not before! Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 2/6/14

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews