We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goldsborough Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Goldsborough Hall
Ranked #1 of 17 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Every year we treat ourselves to a night away in a nice hotel
Last weekend we stayed at Goldsborough Hall
This is without doubt one of the best places we have ever stayed at
Accommodation luxurious and the building is beautiful
The staff were brilliant without been over the top and the food was gorgeous
Mark and Clare Oglesby the owners have clearly put a lot of hard work into saving this historic and beautiful building and they have done a great job
In fact the best bit was we actually felt we were guests in their home

Cannot wait to go again

Chris & Karen Rothery

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CKrothery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    22
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
41
233
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

Our second visit in a couple of months. Visited Harrogate and Knaresborough then back to the splendour of this wonderful country hotel..

The staff are really helpful ,We will return in the near future ,one night is not enough stay twoor more nights if you can..

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank AL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

For this one night stay we booked the Hanson suite to celebrate our 10th Wedding Anniversary and it was absolutely perfect. Goldsborough Hall exceeded all our expectations. The Suite we stayed in was gorgeous. The bed was huge and the room immaculate. The bathroom was lovely with his and hers sinks, separate remote controlled shower, jacuzzi bath and luxurious Molton Brown toiletries.

The attention to detail was fabulous, we had fresh fruit, fresh flowers, and a lovely hand written note from the owners of the Hall welcoming us.

The receptionist on duty was soo welcoming and friendly, nothing was too much trouble, she really is a credit to Goldsborough Hall.

The grounds and the overall perfection made our first visit to Goldsborough Hall one of the most enjoyable and relaxing stays we've ever experienced in a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireHWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

Stayed for Dinner, Bed & Breakfast to celebrate out Silver Wedding Anniversary and it was absolutely perfect. Accomdation, food and service where all impeccable - I just can't praise it highly enough !

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed a night at Goldsborough and also had a three course dinner there. Our room was lovely, very luxurious and extremely comfortable. The staff are all friendly, attentive and helpful, as well as being very knowledgeable about the Hall and its history. Dinner was intimate and delicious, and there was a good choice of breakfast the next morning and very tasty choices they proved to be! You can certainly see why Goldsborough Hall is five star accommodation. A lovely, romantic getaway. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1982_Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights last week and had a wonderful time. We were looking for somewhere quiet and this was perfect! We were able to walk in the grounds whenever we wanted, had two fabulous meals in the restaurant (the lamb is fab!). The room (the Hanson suite) was fantastic with a spa bath, and a huge bed! Thank you to the owners for making this a wonderful, relaxing visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thehudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

Just got back after spending our wedding anniversary at goldsborough hall. First class, from service, food, rooms, just everything.. We had afternoon tea served in by a huge log fire and everything was so fresh and tasty, and there was a Hugh choice of different teas or coffee. The staff were so friendly I must say I felt a little worried before we got there as it was so posh to what I was use to but they made us feel very welcome and at ease. There was nothing that wasn't thought of. Already saving up to go back next anniversary. Would recommend to anyone just amazing

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
3.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,405 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,566 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldsborough Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldsborough Hall

Property: Goldsborough Hall
Address: Church Street, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 8NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Goldsborough Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldsborough Hall is a beautifully restored, privately owned stately home tucked away in the small village of Goldsborough, just off the A59 between Harrogate and the A1M. The 400yr old hall has had many residents through the years, being built for the high sheriff of Yorkshire, the last resting place of the eldest founding father to all thoroughbred horses and most famously the first family home of HRH Princess Mary, the aunt of our current Queen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Goldsborough Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldsborough Hall Hotel Harrogate
Goldsborough Hall Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing