We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing wedding venue!”
Review of Goldsborough Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Goldsborough Hall
Ranked #1 of 15 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing wedding venue!”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My husband and I tied the knot at Goldsborough Hall last August and I could not of wished for a more perfect day! The attention to detail was fantastic and the staff took care of everything leaving me with nothing to worry about other than enjoying our day! We got married at the adjoining church, followed by a champagne reception on the terrace and then the wedding breakfast in the dining room. The canapés and wedding breakfast were delicious! I cannot stress how much of a fabulous place Goldsborough Hall is and I would recommend the venue to anyone in a heartbeat, it truly is a place to make unforgettable memories in beautiful surroundings with amazing customer service. Oh one last thing the rooms are spectacular, our party took all six rooms for the wedding and each individual room is equally wonderful with gorgeous bathrooms. My husband and I stayed in the Lascelles suite with a sunken jacuzzi bath in the bay window it was just wow!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vickirad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    27
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
43
257
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

My daughter was married here on 10th May and we had the civil wedding ceremony, wedding breakfast and evening party. We all stayed over in the fantastic bedroom suites - such luxury we felt like Royalty. The whole day was marvellous from the ceremony right through the wedding breakfast to the evening party.
The staff were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble they looked after us so well. I did get chance to chat with the Lady of the house (it is someones home) and she was so lovely and said how much she enjoyed sharing her home and all its beautiful gardens and loved to see the happiness that people felt on their wedding day.

Although the rooms are much more than a normal hotel its a touch of luxury - after all Princess Mary lived there! Well worth a stay for a special anniversary or birthday you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you really want to have a room with a view, complete with jaccussi bath in front of the window lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We held my daughter's wedding at Goldsborough Hall on April 20th. The venue was, as we expected, absolutely perfect. The food was great and favourably mentioned by a number of guests but above all, the friendly, discreet service changed a great day into a perfect one.

The organisation was perfect and the staff were so helpful and attentive. I can't recommend the venue more highly to anyone planning a wedding.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank syoung3315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Stayed here for wedding anniversary 17th April.Only booked for one night but were so impressed we booked a second!From start to finish we were made to feel valued and the warm welcome and service is second to none.The hall is very impressive both inside and out.We loved sitting in front of the huge log fire enjoying a glass of wine and chatting to Barry who looked after us in such an attentive and friendly manner-absolutely smashing gentleman.The rooms are spectacular in every way and spotlessly clean.Loved the spa bath and waterfall shower.Dined on second night and food to die for!Try the parkin and cinder toffee parfait.Thank you for the opportunity to enjoy your stunning home combined with a warm and friendly atmosphere.Cannot wait to come again-SPECTACULAR ! recommendill not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliewhittingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Probably the best rooms, if you want traditional splendour, that we have ever stayed in, and we have stayed in many five star hotels throughout the world. If you want that little bit of "Downton Abbey" pampering then try here. Nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in the Byerely Suite with its superb 8' four poster bed, huge flat screen television and amazing en-suite with Monsoon shower and huge round whirlpool bath which we had to share a bottle of champagne in - be rude not to!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greatwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

My husband and I were treated by some friends to a champagne afternoon tea at Goldsborough Hall for an anniversary gift - the place is wonderful, so peaceful with great unspoilt views. The tea was amazing, first the champagne, one of the best I have tasted and the tea was extremely generous, little sandwiches, scones, various bite sized cakes each made with a story behind it to do with the history of the house, a trifle and as much tea as you could drink. We checked out the cost of meals and there is a set 2 and 3 course menu and they seemed reasonable, in the twenties for the 2 course and about mid thirties for the three, which also included a surprise course and pre meal nibbles!! to stay the night in one of the beautiful rooms was £90 for dinner bed and breakfast, they also collect you in a Bentley (for a fee) if you wish. We are definitely thinking of going back for lunch or dinner, can't wait.
The staff were lovely and this place is a real find for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We took my inlaws away for joint 'big birthday' celebrations. My husband searched the Internet endlessly and came across Goldsborough Hall, after looking at their website and reading the reviews he booked the four of us in for one nights stay - Dinner, Bed & Breakfast. Faultless is the word that springs to mind. Everything was perfect, the staff ( one chap in perticular looked after us extremely well - Barry. He isn't there all the time as he is now retired, but what a pleasure it was to be attended to in such a professional yet welcoming manor. He's a real treasure to them) Accommodation (beautifully elegant and very comfortable with furnishings of quality you don't tend to see much in hotels today) location etc etc. Dinner was fabulous, we would highly recommend you dine their and sample the gastronomic delights. We could go on and on about this fabulous hotel but we don't want to bore you so the only other thing we'd like to say is a massive THANK YOU to all at Goldsborough for making every bit of our celebrations so magical.

Room Tip: No problem here as all the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
5.1 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
603 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
2.4 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#9 of 30 in Harrogate
153 reviews
5.0 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
5.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldsborough Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldsborough Hall

Property: Goldsborough Hall
Address: Church Street, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 8NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Goldsborough Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldsborough Hall is a beautifully restored, privately owned stately home tucked away in the small village of Goldsborough, just off the A59 between Harrogate and the A1M. The 400yr old hall has had many residents through the years, being built for the high sheriff of Yorkshire, the last resting place of the eldest founding father to all thoroughbred horses and most famously the first family home of HRH Princess Mary, the aunt of our current Queen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Goldsborough Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldsborough Hall Hotel Harrogate
Goldsborough Hall Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing