We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Stately Stay”
Review of Goldsborough Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Goldsborough Hall
Ranked #1 of 15 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Stately Stay”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Just beautiful
Accommodation, food, staff, setting. Cant fault at all
My daugher and I stayed at Goldsborough before attending a photographic shoot at Allerton Castle.
We could have easily used Goldsborough for the shoot. It is magnificent. A wedding there would be a dream

Room Tip: You cant go wrong with any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    27
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
44
257
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I've read a number of the recent reviews and cannot disagree with any of the plaudits regarding the standard of accommodation and the staff. Both are first class.

However, the kitchen could do with some improvement.
Dinner was "OK", and more or less what was expected (was not expecting anything great).
But breakfast, my daily highlight and a simple meal to do well, was disappointing. We were a party of eight and all style of eggs ordered (poached, fried, boiled were overcooked - hard yolks!).
I would suggest some more attention to the basics in the kitchen.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank v m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stayed here for one night with my wife and was stunned by how fantastic the room was. True five star and the staff were extremely friendly and professional. The area around the hall is stunning and very peaceful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JayPing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We had one night at Goldsborough Hall to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It was much more expensive than we would normally pay but it was so worth it for absolute luxury. It's not at all like staying in a hotel, you never forget that you are a guest in a stately home The Hall and grounds, in fact the whole village, is beautiful and the people so friendly. All in all a superb weekend away.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EBarber13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Ny ife and I spent one night at this magnificent country house a few weeks ago. Although I thought I knew the Knaresborough area I had never ever visited Goldsborough. At no point do you appreciate that this is a hotel. You get the feeling that you are a country house guest. The room was huge with a large four-poster bed, immaculately furnished and with an immense television set. The grounds, in the NGS, are delightful with many roses and interesting trees. Dinner was excellent with a wide choice. After a restful night breakfast could have been from Downtown Abbey. Truly a memorable experience albeit at a price - but you're worth it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed for one night in early July and must say this is not a B&B it is a genuine 5 star Country Manor House.

The owners have made a great job of renovating the main house and it is warm , elegant and a true joy to be lucky enough to share the place with them. Gardens are fantastic and the place has so much history before it. Staff are also so friendly and accomodating. Fantastic breakfast but did not try dinner although the menu looked great.

I can only advise that if you want to stay somewhere very special then try this hotel. Also check out the wedding suit it is absolutely fantastic with a sunken spa bath over looking the gardens!!!

An exceptional experience and one we will not forget. It will be a regular stop-off point for our trips to the North East.

Room Tip: Try the wedding suit!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeilRafferty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We attended one of our extended family's wedding reception here and what a magnificent place to hold such an event. The Hall itself is wonderful and steeped in history; the grounds are splendid and the whole package with excellent food and attention to detail really made the day very special. Additionally, the bridal suite simply has to be seen to be believed. A big thank you also to the staff who could not have been more accommodating or helpful. If your daughter is getting married, and you live anywhere within this location, I doubt you could better Goldsborough Hall as a venue.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank topfellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
5.1 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
608 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
2.4 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#9 of 30 in Harrogate
157 reviews
5.0 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
19.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldsborough Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldsborough Hall

Property: Goldsborough Hall
Address: Church Street, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 8NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Goldsborough Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldsborough Hall is a beautifully restored, privately owned stately home tucked away in the small village of Goldsborough, just off the A59 between Harrogate and the A1M. The 400yr old hall has had many residents through the years, being built for the high sheriff of Yorkshire, the last resting place of the eldest founding father to all thoroughbred horses and most famously the first family home of HRH Princess Mary, the aunt of our current Queen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Goldsborough Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldsborough Hall Hotel Harrogate
Goldsborough Hall Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing