We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A very personal experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goldsborough Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Goldsborough Hall
Ranked #1 of 17 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Morwell, Australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A very personal experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We chose to stay at Goldsborough Hall as we wanted to experience a stately home style stay in a B&B environment rather than a country house hotel. We were not disappointed. With only a handful of rooms, we felt that we were the only guests - in fact at dinner we were. The meal was excellent, complimenting the salubrious surroundings. The gardens are a delight as is the library, we were disappointed that we did not have longer to enjoy this lovely room. Our room was large and filled with character, the four poster was almost the size of some smaller hotel rooms we have stayed in! The staff were friendly and relaxed and on departing it was lovely to chat to the property's owners, who took a genuine interest in our travels. Certainly a unique experience.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    22
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
40
222
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

The weekend was booked as a surprise and I was even more confused when we pulled up outside what looks like a stately home, absolutely gorgeous hotel with stunning grounds and fantastic service to match. I honestly can't fault anything. We had an indulgent room with double Jacuzzi bath, the most stunningly ornate four poster bed and a white chesterfield to top it off. The hotel is still lived in by the Ogelsby family and at first I did feel like I was intruding in their home but the welcome and service from the minute we walked in puts you at ease and you soon relax. The hotel is in a fab location so can choose to venture into Leeds or Harrogate. We only had breakfast at the hotel which was personalised to your taste. Yummy! The outdoor hot tub is worth a visit so don't forget your swimwear! Thank you Goldsborough hall - we will return!

Room Tip: Spoilt for choice - you won't be disappointed with any room choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMCD1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Goldsborough Hall provided the perfect setting for our son's wedding.Everything went extremely smoothly & the wonderful relaxed atmosphere was very much appreciated by all the guests.
All the staff were friendly & efficient, the food was delicious,the rooms beautifully set out & the gardens were fabulous.
Our room was extremely comfortable, with the biggest bed we've ever slept in! We did have a problem with the shower, but this was quickly solved with the addition of a new battery in the operating system.
I also particularly liked the way the breakfast table was set out for the family on the following morning.
Thank you for making the whole occasion so memorable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We would like to thank Goldsborough Hall and its staff for a wonderful weekend, everything ran like clockwork and made our daughters wedding day extra special.
We found the bathrooms showers fantastic and after reading how one guest says you need an engineering degree to work them we found them extremely simply to use, no problem.
The grounds of Goldsborough Hall were simply stunning and credit must go the groundsman.

Room Tip: We looked at all the rooms when we booked the wedding venue, all were to a very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbicanhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We visited again for the second time in 2 years. It was a wonderful place to stay, so quiet and peaceful with lovely grounds to walk around. We stayed in the Hanson suite this time and were very impressed, The bed was so BIG and COMFY we loved it. The spa bath was relaxing, bit of a squeeze for two but still it was great. Big tv with a dvd player which we knew so we took a dvd and a bottle of wine for us to chill and forget about real life. Breakfast was good....hot food with lots of choices.
Great place to stay for a night away.

Room Tip: Book direct on the website or ring up. Cheaper than booking.com or laterooms :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LND88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

The perfect venue for a relaxing romantic break. Friendly efficient staff, making you feel welcome and at ease. Nothing was too much trouble and the food was delicious, high quality and excellent choice.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardandWendy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We visited this beautiful Hall to celebrate our sisters birthday. The staff were really pleasant and attentive, and did their utmost to make sure everything was perfect.
Our afternoon tea was a real treat, with more than enough for 3 people. Assorted sandwiches, fresh scones and fresh cream cakes.
All washed down with a choice of teas or coffee and, a glass of champagne. The Library was comfortable, and whilst we were asked if we wanted the fire to be lit, we found it warm enough.
We were given some history of the House by the Owner and we had a walk around very well kept gardens.
We had a really lovely afternoon and look forward to returning again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Billiebubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
3.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,298 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
10.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,448 reviews
14.1 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
5.0 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldsborough Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldsborough Hall

Property: Goldsborough Hall
Address: Church Street, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 8NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Goldsborough Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldsborough Hall is a beautifully restored, privately owned stately home tucked away in the small village of Goldsborough, just off the A59 between Harrogate and the A1M. The 400yr old hall has had many residents through the years, being built for the high sheriff of Yorkshire, the last resting place of the eldest founding father to all thoroughbred horses and most famously the first family home of HRH Princess Mary, the aunt of our current Queen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Goldsborough Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldsborough Hall Hotel Harrogate
Goldsborough Hall Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing