We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another 'Find'” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mitre Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Mitre Inn
Ranked #5 of 17 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Another 'Find'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Warm welcome on a rainy day. Hotel lacks a car park but staff were happy to move the manager's (?) car to accommodate ours in one of the two spaces outside the hotel. Hotel staff will provide a parking 'disc' for nearby street parking. Superb room, very well appointed and spotless! The bar/lounge area is well decorated with an 'olde worlde' feel and appears very popular. Extensive range of beers, lagers, ciders, etc. The restaurant area has a 'rustic' feel, an extensive menu; our dinner was excellent with locally produced produce. Superb breakfast. The hotel is situated opposite the train station (local service onl) but, we did not consider this a negative point; any noise was negligible. A small, friendly inn of the highest standard.

Room Tip: Our room did face the station but, was not considered noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulusP2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    43
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
68
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Wasn't sure what we were going into, as down a small road to railway station. Parking was tight, but fine. Helped with suitcases to the room everything explained. The room was modern and really clean, the shower was great, and the breakfast was so good, didn't want to leave a thing! The staff were friendly, but not over the top..we liked that. Right in the town so easy to get to everything. Had a bedroom over the front of the inn, local band on the night we stayed, (good music) no problem for us, and did stop at the time they said, also the train noise was no problem at all. Bed very comfortable both slept really well. Would we go back there...Yes

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to have had a very good make over....take your pick! Check if local bands on the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Second time here for a night. Really good range of beers, reasonable food for dinner. Bedrooms clean and modern. Breakfast cooked to order and very good. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone passing through.

Room Tip: Room 3 is nice double - bed did seem on small side though. There is a shower only, but its a good si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen100Derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
w yorks
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I called in for lunch on Good Friday with my two sons.

The beer garden is a real sun trap and had a lovely buzzy ambiance.

The pub has a cracking array of lagers, beers and ales with knowledgeable staff on hand to advise which one would be suite your preferences.

The menu had plenty to tempt you. My sons opted for the beer battered fish with hand cut chips and mushy peas and I went for the rib-eye steak with beer battered onion rings, grilled tomato and mushroom and had cut chips.

The fish was big and meaty with billowing crispy batter. The chips we chunky with roast potato like crispy skins and wonderfully fluffy insides.

The steak was absolutely superb. The meat was full of flavour, juicly rare and cut like butter. The huge tomato, mushroom and onion rings were equally deserving of centre stage on the plate.

I can honestly say it was one of the best meals I have eaten out in a very long time. I am almost scared to go back in case it isn't as good next time!

Room Tip: Only went for lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank summerdays12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed overnight on a Saturday to be close to Harrogate for the Good Food Show. We only ended up booking there as it was one of very few rooms still available in the general area. Parking is fairly difficult - as with many town/city centre hotels - but the manager was helpful in finding us a solution. The room was clean and welcoming and the bathroom was large and very nice. Comfy bed too and we slept well. Breakfast the next morning had a good selection and there was no trouble putting me together a slightly different cobination from what was on the menu. All in all, we had a good stay. Not sure I'd recommend it as a destination in itself but it more than did the job of providing a comfortable and pleasant place to spend a night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CazzaGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Just about every time we go to K'boro we come here, it's a proper pub like all the Market Town Taverns are, great beer selection, large outdoor seating area and it's dog friendly.

I haven't eaten here, but I have at a few other MTT's and the food should be just as good.

It's right by the train station too - handy when we walk the dogs from Harrogate along the Nidd to K'boro with friends and have a few beers here, then on to Blind Jacks in the Market Square, then some G&Ts in the Castle Vaults and get the train back :p

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Streetbobuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed Friday to Sunday for a weekend getaway.
Staff friendly and helpful.
Real Ale bar well stocked and staff knowledgeable.
Food very good. Generous good quality breakfast. Good choice on menu for lunch and dinner.
Reasonably priced.
Room was spacious, clean and comfortable.
Good location.
Would not hesitate to recommend or visit again.

Room Tip: Room 3. Double window. Bright and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,405 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kirkgate House
Kirkgate House
#3 of 17 in Knaresborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Royal Oak
Old Royal Oak
#7 of 17 in Knaresborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.3 mi away
Goldsborough Hall
Goldsborough Hall
#1 of 17 in Knaresborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mitre Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mitre Inn

Property: The Mitre Inn
Address: 4 Station Road, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Knaresborough's premier pub, food and accommodation experience, The Mitre has four superbly appointed en-suite rooms available on a bed and breakfast basis. All have been furnished and equipped to the highest possible standard ensuring the most relaxing break possible! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Mitre Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mitre Inn Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing