We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortably central”
Review of Old Royal Oak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Old Royal Oak
Ranked #9 of 15 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
romford
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Comfortably central”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Right in the centre of this very pretty town with rooms behind the pub in the converted stables this was the perfect stop-off on a trip up to Scotland. Actually we would have liked to have spent longer as we enjoyed our stay so much. We stayed in Room 1, nice and quiet even though there was karaoke in the pub that night. We had parked in the market place in front of the hotel [pay and display] but there are spaces in the courtyard at the back. These are quite - no very - tight if the car park is full, but experienced help is on hand from Debbie to guide you out again!
The room is quite dark although it has a small window to the courtyard and another to the back. There is no bath but a good shower [with some very nice soap, shampoo etc dispensers] and a large sink - all very clean. The room has a comfortable 4ft 6in bed with duvet, small TV, good wi-fi signal and an efficient electric heater as well as all the usual furnishings.
We ate in the restaurant - lots of competition as every other shop in the town seems to be an eating place of some sort. Food was good, large portions, quickly served but they do stop serving early [7.00pm] if there is entertainment later.
All the staff were especially helpful and friendly and made our short stay both comfortable and memorable.

Room Tip: Room 1 is on ground floor and car can be parked right outside. Getting out again can be fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PETPOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    46
    9
    3
    7
See reviews for
17
105
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed 1 night with the current wife recently and cannot fault it. The staff were fantastic, genuinely great customer service, happy to help, friendly to talk to and keen to enhance your stay making me give a rare 5 stars.

The rooms are out the back in a converted stable block and are a good size, we had the disabled access number 2 which was nicely done out, clean and quiet with comfy beds. Breakfast was very nice perfectly poached eggs for me but full english was an option and some cereals.

All in all well worth £80 thank you Royal Oak.

Room Tip: Parking is available round the back if you cannot get on the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChavFinches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L, Owner at Old Royal Oak, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank You very much for your kind comments. It is always nice to know that our guests have been well looked after. Our policy is to treat each guest as if they are a member of the family. We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Mark, Jean & the Royal Oak team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The staff here were friendly from the off and very helpful. Room was spot on and very clean and we were pleased to have parking outside too. The breafast was nice without being anything special and i missed black pudding it finished at 9am too which i felt was a touch early for a Sunday! Asides from this i was very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L, Owner at Old Royal Oak, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank You for your kind comments. Our policy is to treat each guest as if they are a member of the family. It is a bit of a balance on a Sunday morning with the breakfast times. We open 7 days a week at 10AM so we do like to have breakfast over before opening to the general public (not that they bite!) However, Sunday is a bit manic in the kitchen as we are preparing for the onslaught of Sunday lunch. We expect to do at least 110 meals on a Sunday so to have the breakfasts any later would jeopardise the lunchtime service. I hope you can understand that.
We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Mark, Jean & the Royal Oak team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winteringham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed at the Old Royal Oak 15/16 June. The room was a good size and very well decorated and extremely clean, the coffee/tea facility was very good and it was nice to have mugs not silly cups and saucers. Parking is a bit tight, but there are plenty of car parks if you don't wont to risk the squeeze. The pub had a nice old feel to it, the breakfast was excellent, we didn't try the food in the evening as they finish service quite early as they have entertainment on over the weekend. The only slight negative was that the bed was a bit lumpy and only a double, when there is more than enough room for kingsize, but for two nights it was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenHenry1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The room was very nicely decorated and the staff are really helpful. Some lovely touches in the room like branded mugs and shampoo, shower gel etc. in the shower. It was immaculately clean and the breakfast in the morning was very good. The only small negative was that the TV in the room was very small and the bed slightly too hard for me, however these are very minor issues and did not affect the quality of the stay. The hotel is central and has parking so is an ideal base for a visit to Knaresborough. Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hyndlegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Very helpful friendly staff. The hotel is in an excellent location in centre of the town with ease of parking. Breakfast and choice of meals excellent.
Lovely location for walks - a must being the castle ruins with views over the river Nidd and manicured gardens to appreciate.
Take a walk or a boat ride along the river and see the imposing Via Duct then enjoy a coffee or ice cream and drink in the view. All in all a very good place to visit.

Room Tip: Very friendly helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. Located right in centre of town. Very pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 58j63j2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed at the Old Royal Oak for the weekend en route to my partners brothers wedding. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were treated with such friendly, professional service. The owners and staff could not do enough for us and we could not have stayed in a better establishment. I would recommend the Old Royal Oak to anyone visiting the area. I truly hope we get the chance to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEVE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.3 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
3.3 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
135 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
2.1 mi away
Goldsborough Hall
Goldsborough Hall
#1 of 15 in Knaresborough
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Royal Oak

Property: Old Royal Oak
Address: 7 Market Place, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 8AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Royal Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Olde-Worlde public House situated in the heart of the Market Square of Knaresborough. We have 6 en-suite rooms which are seperate from the pub itself. Each room has parking just feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Royal Oak Hotel Knaresborough
Old Royal Oak Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing