We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay”
Review of Old Royal Oak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Royal Oak
Ranked #7 of 15 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Knaresborough
1 review
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights at The Old Royal Oak in Knaresborough and had a lovely time. The room was very clean, quiet and accessible given the location (a converted stable block at the back of the pub.) The pub meals were of a good standard and Mick enhanced our stay with his friendliness, local knowledge and overall welcome. Only one criticism - the room was very warm due to windows not opening- a fan would have been a welcome addition! Overall a great base to explore the lovely market town of Knaresborough, and we look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Beverley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L, Owner at Old Royal Oak, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hi Beverley,

Thank you for your review. I have now resolved the problem with the window it was a sticking catch on the window ( Thank the Lord for WD40)

At least now you have made me aware of it It is fixed. Glad you enjoyed your stay we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Mark, Jean & The Old Royal Oak Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    45
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
17
102
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The Old Royal Oak was a real find. The pub is quaint, quirky and full of character. We were pleasantly surprised with the accommodation which was in the detatched wing, formerly the stables. Our room was nicely furnished and the cathedral ceiling featured oak beams. Everything was spotless and the big feature was the comfortable bed. Off-street parking was a bonus The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was hearty. The Oak fronts onto the Town Centre and shopping was a breeze. It was just a short walk to the Castle and its gardens and from here, we had a lovely view of the Gorge and the railway bridge. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L, Owner at Old Royal Oak, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hi Janice,

Thank you for your review. it is very much appreciated. I will pass on all your comments to the staff. They take great pride in the fact that our guests leave happy.

Mark, Jean & The Old Royal Oak Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Just spent a night in the old royal oak with 4 other couples. We arrived dinner time sunday and were met by a very helpful young lady who gave us our key and directed us to our room. The room was bright and airy and very clean with an en suite shower room. Breakfast next morning was very good and plenty of it. The staff were excellent and very friendly.I Would definitely use this hotel again what a lovely place to stay. We also had a brilliant time in the bar with great entertainment.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alang1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L, Owner at Old Royal Oak, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hi Alan,

Thank you for your review. it is very much appreciated. I will pass on all your comments to the staff. They take great pride in the fact that our guests leave happy. It is always nice to know that our guests feel like they would come back and recommend the Old Royal Oak to others too

Mark, Jean & The Old Royal Oak Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Great pub & nice choice of ales, the accommodation is first rate, very clean. Breakfast is superb & staff very welcoming. Top notch Royal Oak, well done. Also a fantastic location, right in the centre of Knaresborough

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I stayed two nights with a friend and had a lovely time in Knaresborough. We were pleased to be allowed to our room at 11.30 am as we arrived early. The owner was very helpful, suggesting places to visit and the member of staff serving breakfast kept all the guests entertained. Breakfast was good and nothing was too much trouble. We had a meal in the evening, which was excellent value - I just wished I'd had the steak and ale pie (with suet crust) that my friend had. A jolly evening was spent at the karaoke. Only one complaint, I had to point out that a sheet was marked and the bedding was changed promptly with apologies that she didn't know how she had not seen it. Neither do I! We would happily go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weightontiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

my boyfriend booked a weekend for us to go to the Harrogate flower show. we arrived at The Royal Oak and were greeted by Michael who was friendly and he showed us to our accommodation. this was set at the back of the pub accross the car park area. a converted building to house 6 rooms. our room was upstairs and we were told the landing lights are automatic so it won't be dark when we come in later. our room was clean and had an ensuite shower room which all looked new. Michael told us it was Karaoke this evening(Sat) but it would all be over by midnight.
we asked if he could recommend a restaurant for this evening as we wanted to eat out and the Royal oak only served food til 6.30 and he recommended 'Carriages'. this was a great recommendation as the food and service there were excellent.
we returned to the Royal Oak and had a night cap and when back in our room the Karaoke didn't effect us in the slightest.
over all, good value for money and the breakfast was brilliant with a very happy man to serve us and talk about the local area and what to see and do.
The only down side was the bed was really hard and a little lumpy! not very comfortable which ment we were up early but we did go for a lovely walk before breakfast and saw the beautiful viaduct and local castle ruins which we may've missed if the bed had been better!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Put a friend up here recently as my place was not done up in time for her visit. She had the most wonderful time and I'd like to thank the staff for going out of their way to help her with getting around. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.3 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
3.3 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
105 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.1 mi away
Newton House
Newton House
#4 of 15 in Knaresborough
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Royal Oak

Property: Old Royal Oak
Address: 7 Market Place, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 8AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Royal Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Olde-Worlde public House situated in the heart of the Market Square of Knaresborough. We have 6 en-suite rooms which are seperate from the pub itself. Each room has parking just feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Royal Oak Hotel Knaresborough
Old Royal Oak Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing