We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Old Royal Oak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Royal Oak
Ranked #7 of 15 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Great hotel, the area is lovely to wander round, lovely scenery. Room was really nice, breakfast great, and the hosts were very friendly. Definitely stay again when in the area. It was central to everything, worth a visit

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L, Owner at Old Royal Oak, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Hi Karen,

Thank you for your kind comments. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. It helps other people when they are choosing where to stay. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay here at the Old Royal Oak. Hope to see you again sometime soon.

Mark, Jean & The Royal Oak team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    45
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
17
102
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Just stayed for 2 nights on business. Held in traffic and didn't arrive until late.Landlord gave a fantastic welcome and offered us sandwiches, chips and a pint even though pub was empty by that time!.Room 1st class and staff very friendly, breakfast perfect especially Marks home made sausages!.Think I'll be visiting again next time ... for a break away with my wife.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L, Owner at Old Royal Oak, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Hi Martin,
I know what it's like when you are stuck in traffic especially when you have travelled so far.
Thank you for your kind comments, The sandwich and the beer was a pleasure! I hope your time at the conference made the journey worth while. We would be happy to see you again I am sure your wife would love Knaresborough. Especially the views from the castle and the river.
I will pass on your comments to all our staff, Thanks again.
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakefield
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed at The Royal Oak for just one night to watch 'Elvis' perform for a charity fundraiser. We had such a good night and the atmosphere was electric. We are looking forward to returning in the Summer when I am told that they have a bbq and outside entertainment which I would enjoy. Lots of character and characters in the bar. Wonderful place. The accommodation is equally welcoming with clean, comfortable beds and all the facilities needed for a relaxing stay. Thank you, Mark, Jean and your amazing team. See you again in the Summer. xx

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david1Wakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L, Owner at Old Royal Oak, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Hi David,

Thank you for your kind comments. I hope that Elvis will be doing a summer "Come Back Special"
The party will then be outside. BBQ in full swing.

I will pass your comments on to our team.
Regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Mark & jean the owners are very friendly people , the food in the pub is excellent , breakfast has home made sausages they tasted amazing, the accommodation is 5 star clean comfortable
Old royal oak is central to all shops.
We had amazing time and would recommend this place to any one
Thanks again defiantly would return

Room Tip: Defiantly good place to stay seperate accommodation from the pub across the court yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolfliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L, Owner at Old Royal Oak, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Hi Carol,

Thank you for all your kind comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at the Old Royal Oak.
What a great way to enjoy your Birthday! Did you see the video I put on our Facebook page?

Come back soon!

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The rooms are at the back of an old fashioned pub; lots of character / needs updating; your decision, but a great place to put the world to rights with the old guys that frequent it..
Rooms are well dome out, lovely. cant complain. the TV in mine was the smallest possible and the remote control was very sensitive. a few extra pounds spent here would have been worth it.
I have to specifically thank the lady for a lovely breakfast; the best i have had in a good while!

Room Tip: Room 5 was on the first floor. Though the TV was "flat-screen", its really small & che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L, Owner at Old Royal Oak, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Hi Rick,
Fair point about the TV. But with such a lovely place like Knaresborough to explore TV should be the last thing to be watching. But I agree it is small!

Thanks for all the positive feedback though it's nice to know we do get the job right. As for the breakfast did they tell you that the sausages are made here on the premises to our own recipes?

Hope to see you again sometime soon

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights at The Old Royal Oak in Knaresborough and had a lovely time. The room was very clean, quiet and accessible given the location (a converted stable block at the back of the pub.) The pub meals were of a good standard and Mick enhanced our stay with his friendliness, local knowledge and overall welcome. Only one criticism - the room was very warm due to windows not opening- a fan would have been a welcome addition! Overall a great base to explore the lovely market town of Knaresborough, and we look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Beverley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L, Owner at Old Royal Oak, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hi Beverley,

Thank you for your review. I have now resolved the problem with the window it was a sticking catch on the window ( Thank the Lord for WD40)

At least now you have made me aware of it It is fixed. Glad you enjoyed your stay we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Mark, Jean & The Old Royal Oak Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The Old Royal Oak was a real find. The pub is quaint, quirky and full of character. We were pleasantly surprised with the accommodation which was in the detatched wing, formerly the stables. Our room was nicely furnished and the cathedral ceiling featured oak beams. Everything was spotless and the big feature was the comfortable bed. Off-street parking was a bonus The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was hearty. The Oak fronts onto the Town Centre and shopping was a breeze. It was just a short walk to the Castle and its gardens and from here, we had a lovely view of the Gorge and the railway bridge. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L, Owner at Old Royal Oak, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hi Janice,

Thank you for your review. it is very much appreciated. I will pass on all your comments to the staff. They take great pride in the fact that our guests leave happy.

Mark, Jean & The Old Royal Oak Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.3 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Newton House
Newton House
#4 of 15 in Knaresborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kirkgate House
Kirkgate House
#3 of 15 in Knaresborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mitre Inn
The Mitre Inn
#6 of 15 in Knaresborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Royal Oak

Property: Old Royal Oak
Address: 7 Market Place, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 8AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Royal Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Olde-Worlde public House situated in the heart of the Market Square of Knaresborough. We have 6 en-suite rooms which are seperate from the pub itself. Each room has parking just feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Old Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Royal Oak Hotel Knaresborough
Old Royal Oak Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing