We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nices rooms”
Review of Old Royal Oak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Royal Oak
Ranked #7 of 15 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“nices rooms”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

we arrived friday night and could park a 4 x 4 in the car park, we soon had keys for our room which we found clean tidy and well stocked ( tea,coffee,water and biscuits ). it was a nice balance of old and new. breakfast was very good, with choices from full english to toast.if you want an early night try monday to thursday because this is a work pub.

Room Tip: we had room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thompsons2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    45
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
17
102
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked into the Royal Oak for one night on the way to York . The Inn was situated in the centre of Knaresborough, this was very convenient. It had private parking,and the mews bedrooms where lovely. We had a super room, with a very high ceiling, and beams. A lovely comfy bed, and a bathroom with all the facilities needed.
We had a smashing breakfast, enough for even the most hungry appetite. The staff where very friendly and obliging. As Knaresborough is such a lovely little place, I am sure we will return here.

Room Tip: All rooms are far enough from the bar, so all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patchwork_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We called into the Old Royal Oak looking for a bar meal. We were not disappointed. All four of us were more than satisfied with our meals. They were delicious and the helpings were very generous. The staff were very friendly and the surroundings cosy. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, Shropshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Booked quite late for a night to enjoy the Tour De France. We were made very welcome from the moment we arrived. Very, very clean, comfortable room and fantastic breakfast that kept us going all day which we really needed. Thanks you very much, we will definitely come back.

Room Tip: We were in Room 2, which was lovely, clean and comfortable. The room is ideal for anyone with access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laowjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Called into Knaresborough on the way home from York and we found this pub for a meal. As it was quite late and all food is freshly made some of the menu wasnt available. My wife wanted the fish pie but having got over the disapointment she had the brocoli bake with the extra on the side. I had sausage and mash. The food was fresh hot and fantastic. All the staff couldn't do anymore for us. Would recommend to all. All I say is be prepared to go early to avoid disappointment. Would deffo go back.... 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nelpop2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I wanted somewhere to meet up with 8 other people prior to a few days away with the group. This pub is absolutely central to Knaresborough and was perfect with car parks behind. We had a fantastic lunch and the lady (sorry forget her name) was just brilliant coping with a 10 mad pensioners. She even gave us tourist information to go and see the view of the viaduct and we returned a couple of day later to do just that and the super market. Really delightful place and great food!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzya190761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

This is a fantastic pub with a very local feel. Well kept hand pulled real ale and very nice food at a good price.

I stayed here for two nights in the detached accommodation at the rear of the pubs courtyard. I stayed on the first floor and was really impressed with the quality of the room. The high exposed roof beams give the room a extra feel of space. Nice modern ensuite bathroom with good sized shower. I have to admit that the bed was very comfortable and had two great nights sleep.

Breakfasts aren't served till 08:30 which could pose a problem for people requiring an early start. However we were offered the choice to swap the breakfast for evening meal if required 'how's that for service'. On this occasion we opted for breakfast and decided on the evening meal as well. Good choice as both were very nice. The people who own/run the Old Royal Oak are very friendly and really helpful. All the staff we spoke to, were equally pleasant and helpful.

With parking for residents to the rear, this definitely put a extra tick in the box for a return visit. Not to mention that your ideally located in the centre of Knaresborough.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lebeouf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.3 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Newton House
Newton House
#4 of 15 in Knaresborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kirkgate House
Kirkgate House
#3 of 15 in Knaresborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mitre Inn
The Mitre Inn
#6 of 15 in Knaresborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Royal Oak

Property: Old Royal Oak
Address: 7 Market Place, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 8AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Royal Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Olde-Worlde public House situated in the heart of the Market Square of Knaresborough. We have 6 en-suite rooms which are seperate from the pub itself. Each room has parking just feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Old Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Royal Oak Hotel Knaresborough
Old Royal Oak Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing