We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, full of charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough
Ranked #12 of 15 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
east midlands UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, full of charm”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed for here for 2 nights whilst visiting family in the area. The breakfast is very acceptable for the price we paid. We didn't eat in the restaurant on this occassion, but we have dined here on previous occassions, a bit pricey, but the food is excellent.

The creaky floor boards could be something to do with the age of the building!! Ask for an upper floor room!

It is true to say that the hotel is on a noisy main road, without access to local transport, but just a short drive up the road, you can park down one of the side streets and get the bus to Harrogate Knaresborough, Ripon Skipton and Leeds. We will definately stay again when in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bailyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    44
    23
    13
    5
See reviews for
29
53
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012 via mobile

Called in for quick bite at lunch have chosen off this menu
Before at another vintage inn and the food was of very good standard very busy at lunch but still
Quick service and nice staff would return
For a evening or stay a while longer

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank A17ACR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We booked the Kestrel so we could enjoy a weekend in Knaresborough. There is no safe walking route and the bus service is a bus ride into Harrogate then another one to Knaresborough. You either dont drink and use the car or pay between £8 and £10 in a taxi.
They close the bar at eleven so bear this in mind if you fancy a night cap.
We stayed in room 4 which smelled of drains. The room was adequate but on a par with travel lodge and certainly over priced.
The breakfast was continental and not very inspiring.
Would not use again.

Room Tip: Much better locations for the same money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I should first declare that I have already reviewed this establishment - so in those circumstances read on if you wish.

Rated AVERAGE again - but this time only just- perhaps a little unfair to say that as were no real problems - just a few little things not worthy of complaint - but here they are:
1.Only towels for one person - swiftly corrected when asked
2. Only one glass in bathroom
3. No soap in dispenser (shower gel left in room - perhaps as substitute) - despenser left open on 2nd day but no replenishment - was weekend so hotel may have "run out"
4.No bath mat - corrected on second day.

All the above of little consequence to us - but if competitors can get these small details correct so should The Kestral.

Oh! and like so many of these typeof hotel only one seat in the room. Why oh! why cannot a second seat be provided - not everyone wishes to sit the the public lounge (None in this case - just the pub) all the time.

But yes we would go back - well situated basic accommodation -basic food a little over priced but ok.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northumberlandscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

The Kestrel is well placed for Harrogate and York. It is a Standard Innkeepers lodge in a very old and interesting building. The rooms are all very different but all have beams as a feature. The bed was comfortable and there was a modern freeview TV. The room was clean and well appointed . The one we had had an en suite with a bath tub and shower over. The room was a good size and had a sofa bed (For Family use). It was not over-noisey considering there was a busy pub downstairs. The Continental breakfast was well stocked and had a good veriety. The Pub provided a good choise of well cooked meals and real ale. I use this place regularly and it has never let me down. The staff are very friendly and very helpful and I heartily recommend it.

Room Tip: Family rooms have a tub and shower. Doubles have just a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonboy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We've just returned from our second visit. This time the room was cleaner but only half the size. Both times due to the age of the property we've found it almost impossibe to sleep due to the constant creaking of floorboards and thin walls. We ate in the pub for both lunch and dinner due to the poor weather and found all meals to be very enjoyable and the staff were pleasant. Maybe we had the two worst rooms in the place but for this reason I would probably not stay again although I would return to the pub if passing.

Room Tip: Room 4 is small at the start of the corridor so you get noise from everyone passing. Room 7 is slig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayley1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed here on a whim because of heavy rain. Our room was cold when we arrived and to be honest it could have done with a refurb - decor was a bit tired. Dinner was nice though and service was friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelyladyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.0 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West
0.0 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
1,720 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#9 of 30 in Harrogate
151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough
Address: Wetherby Road | Plompton, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 8LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for budget accommodation in Knaresborough or near to Harrogate Conference Centre, this country lodge in nearby Plompton is perfect for both short breaks and business trips.The lodge is well placed for exploring the many charms of picturesque Knaresborough, historic Harrogate and unspoilt cathedral city Ripon. It's also an ideal base-camp for anyone wanting to immerse themselves in the Yorkshire Dales.Along with 10 comfy en-suite rooms, there's a pub serving a tempting menu of hearty, seasonal food together with a range of cask ales and wines. It's so cosy you could end up cancelling the hiking and sightseeing in favour of a day eating and drinking instead.But you wouldn't want to miss Harrogate's tourist treasures. Delve into antique shops, relax at the Turkish Baths, or sip a Darjeeling at Betty's iconic tearooms. Nearer home you can hunt out the cave of infamous Yorkshire witch Mother Shipton or marvel at the 30 acres of intriguing mineral formations at Plompton Rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kestrel Pub Hotel Knaresborough
Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing