We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointingly average room and poor food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough
Ranked #13 of 15 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Sheffield
Level Contributor
471 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Disappointingly average room and poor food”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We were visiting the area and stayed for one night in late October. The price for one night was very good, but the room was decidedly average and felt really tired. We had a small window at high level and when closing the curtains, could not believe how filthy the net curtain was and the window cill was also very dusty. The tiles around the bath/shower had some mould on the grouting and one of the soap dispensers was empty.

Initially, we were going to eat elsewhere, but because it was a cold wet night we decided to eat in the pub. We have eaten at Vintage Inns in the past and are increasingly finding that the food is getting more expensive and less appealing. There was nothing we really fancied on the menu and we both decided to have the fish and chips. The staff were very attentive and the food came very quickly. However, it was very disappointing. The batter was fairly crispy on the outside, but underneath there was a layer of uncooked batter - very unattractive. My husband called the waitress over, showed her and although she said that was how it came, she readily agreed to do another piece of fish. This also came very quickly and unfortunately this was, in fact, worse, but by that time we couldn't be bothered to complain again and my husband scraped the wet batter off and ate the fish. The continental breakfast next morning was fine. We had a room facing the car park at the back and this was very quiet, we couldn't hear the busy road noise.

We were both very disappointed by the whole experience and I really feel that certainly this particular Innkeepers Lodge should be looked at and upgraded.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheffieldPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    40
    22
    13
    5
See reviews for
28
51
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knaresborough
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I came here a couple of weeks ago, i ordered the scampi food took a bit of time to reach the table. The food costs were reasonable and the food was very very tasty, full of flavour. Also the staff were very friendly and warming. enjoyed this meal alot, will be visiting again soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

As a local i have been here several times in the past but my last visit before today must have been a couple of years ago.

Today it was .... a little bit lacking to say the very least. What a shame. We rarely go out due to young children & in Harrogate we have a massive choice of where to eat and spend our hard earned cash. We chose The Kestrel as we wanted a quick bar meal near home.

This pub / eatery is a really old building converted from a big farm. It's a nice spot to eat but talk about uninterested staff! Starting from the Barman / Manager downwards. On arrival there was no welcome at all.

The waiter got our food order wrong (there were only two of us ordering main courses). Why was it wrong? Simply because he didn't use a pad to write down our order! Meal was returned to the kitchen whilst it was put right and my food sat going cold.

The food was reasonably nice although the beef burger I had was burnt around the edge. With only a small bowl of chips to go with it, a fresh salad in between was sadly missing.

I could live with that, it's just the lack of interest from the staff that annoyes me.

On paying for our meal (without seeing a proper bill) there was no question of asking how things were. Maybe scared of asking? The uninterested Manager took our cash and that was that.....

I won't be back unless I can help it. And no, I didn't leave a tip, only one or two on here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NICK G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Knaresborough hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
east midlands UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed for here for 2 nights whilst visiting family in the area. The breakfast is very acceptable for the price we paid. We didn't eat in the restaurant on this occassion, but we have dined here on previous occassions, a bit pricey, but the food is excellent.

The creaky floor boards could be something to do with the age of the building!! Ask for an upper floor room!

It is true to say that the hotel is on a noisy main road, without access to local transport, but just a short drive up the road, you can park down one of the side streets and get the bus to Harrogate Knaresborough, Ripon Skipton and Leeds. We will definately stay again when in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bailyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This is well situated off the main road, pretty pub with ample parking. Booked very last minute, 2 hours before we arrived. Room was fine, bathroom clean. Towels, tea making facilities good. Easy drive into Harrogate. Staff were friendly on arrival. Even though the bar closes at 11 we took our drinks back to our room. All was fine until 6am the following morning. The noise from upstairs, floors creaked so loudly and often as the people above were up early, that we couldn't get back to sleep. Also the noise from the main road is loud so we had to close the window. The room then got unbearably hot. So we did not sleep well at all. We had room 5. The breakfast was continental and had a great choice. For the price, £70 including 2 breakfasts, they were cheaper than the Premier Inns we looked at. All in all a cosy friendly pub which for meals I would return to but not as a place to stay overnight.

Room Tip: Room 5 is under another room and you can hear the floor above creak, the toilet flush, people above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessHugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
332 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012 via mobile

Called in for quick bite at lunch have chosen off this menu
Before at another vintage inn and the food was of very good standard very busy at lunch but still
Quick service and nice staff would return
For a evening or stay a while longer

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank A17ACR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We booked the Kestrel so we could enjoy a weekend in Knaresborough. There is no safe walking route and the bus service is a bus ride into Harrogate then another one to Knaresborough. You either dont drink and use the car or pay between £8 and £10 in a taxi.
They close the bar at eleven so bear this in mind if you fancy a night cap.
We stayed in room 4 which smelled of drains. The room was adequate but on a par with travel lodge and certainly over priced.
The breakfast was continental and not very inspiring.
Would not use again.

Room Tip: Much better locations for the same money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.0 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West
0.0 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.0 mi away
Newton House
Newton House
#4 of 15 in Knaresborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough
Address: Wetherby Road | Plompton, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 8LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for budget accommodation in Knaresborough or near to Harrogate Conference Centre, this country lodge in nearby Plompton is perfect for both short breaks and business trips.The lodge is well placed for exploring the many charms of picturesque Knaresborough, historic Harrogate and unspoilt cathedral city Ripon. It's also an ideal base-camp for anyone wanting to immerse themselves in the Yorkshire Dales.Along with 10 comfy en-suite rooms, there's a pub serving a tempting menu of hearty, seasonal food together with a range of cask ales and wines. It's so cosy you could end up cancelling the hiking and sightseeing in favour of a day eating and drinking instead.But you wouldn't want to miss Harrogate's tourist treasures. Delve into antique shops, relax at the Turkish Baths, or sip a Darjeeling at Betty's iconic tearooms. Nearer home you can hunt out the cave of infamous Yorkshire witch Mother Shipton or marvel at the 30 acres of intriguing mineral formations at Plompton Rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kestrel Pub Hotel Knaresborough
Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing