We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not awful - just about adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough
Ranked #10 of 15 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 August 2009

This is a Vintage Inn/Inkeepers Lodge pub and you get what you expect if you've been to any of the chain. The bedroom was small but the bed was comfortable enough - you would not want to spend time there other than to sleep and then get dressed in the morning. The bathroom was adequate but not over clean - brick dust from drilling out holes to replace a soap dispenser hadn't been cleaned up and a hair which matched neither mine nor my wife's was still on the bathroom floor on the third morning of our stay. The pub/restaurant gets very busy in the evenings. There are no table reservations and you could be unlucky if you want a table - all you can do is wait until someone leaves. The service at the bar is sometimes agonisingly slow - it seems that it needs a bit more active management to move staff around and to get customers through a bit more quickly. However, it seemed to empty completely between 8:30 and 9:00 so if you didn't mind eating late, that would be a good time to arrive. The food was the standard menu for this chain - adequate and no better and a bit dull if you've already explored the menu at another pub in the chain. The breakfast is again standard for the chain - adequate and no better.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BucksWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 120 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2009

Stayed at the Kestrel in Knaresborough with friends this march. The Hotel looked to be in a lovely location and from the outside looked promising. Unfortunately this didn't continue when we got inside, Although not particularly busy there were plenty of empty tables with crockery and glasses lying on them. We found a table and sat down. we ordered drinks from the bar which were satisfactory although my partners glass was dirty. When we ordered out food some of the items were out of stock but this was ok as we made other choices. we waited an unacceptable 45 minutes for our food and when it finally arrived it was lukewarm and one of the dishes ( a chicken with a sauce) was badly burned. we complained to a waitress but she simply said "it's chargrilled" we then spoke to a manager who was rude and impatient with us. He was in his forties, overweight with a shaved head. We ended up paying our bill minus the chicken and left. needless to say we didn't eat in the restaurant for the remainder of the stay. The rooms however were of a decent standard. it's just a shame that the pompous manager couldn't run the restaurant properly.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank punkrocker182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2008

We didn't stay at the Kestrel but pulled in for a meal with a 10 month old baby. The waitress was not at all friendly when asked to give the high chair a wipe, and was pretty rude about our choice of table and where to place the chair. She did say at one point that they were not geared up for small babies. The final straw was when she refused to heat up our baby food. We immediately left and got a Chinese take-away instead. Highly disappointing.

Stayed: October 2008
3  Thank WendyHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2008

This was a vintage inn between Harrowgate and York. The staff were very friendly even lending us their own shampoo when we did not have any. They were also very helpful in giving us advice in the local area. Such as getting to York by train from Starbeck. It is really just a pub with rooms upstair but it was a lovely stay with great views and good wholesome food.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottypenang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
2.1 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
292 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,774 reviews
1.9 mi away
Teardrop Cottage
Teardrop Cottage
#2 of 15 in Knaresborough
321 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Market Tavern
The Market Tavern
#9 of 15 in Knaresborough
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough

Address: Wetherby Road | Plompton, Knaresborough HG5 8LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range: £67 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for budget accommodation in Knaresborough or near to Harrogate Conference Centre, this country lodge in nearby Plompton is perfect for both short breaks and business trips.The lodge is well placed for exploring the many charms of picturesque Knaresborough, historic Harrogate and unspoilt cathedral city Ripon. It's also an ideal base-camp for anyone wanting to immerse themselves in the Yorkshire Dales.Along with 10 comfy en-suite rooms, there's a pub serving a tempting menu of hearty, seasonal food together with a range of cask ales and wines. It's so cosy you could end up cancelling the hiking and sightseeing in favour of a day eating and drinking instead.But you wouldn't want to miss Harrogate's tourist treasures. Delve into antique shops, relax at the Turkish Baths, or sip a Darjeeling at Betty's iconic tearooms. Nearer home you can hunt out the cave of infamous Yorkshire witch Mother Shipton or marvel at the 30 acres of intriguing mineral formations at Plompton Rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kestrel Pub Hotel Knaresborough
Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing