We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greasy ! And charged for tray ??”

Drakes Fish and Chip Restaurant and Take Away
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$14
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Greasy ! And charged for tray ??”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Felt hungry and called in for a quick take away . Ordered a fish cake and chips according to the menu £2.55 . I was charged £2.70 when I queried it I was told by the young assistant with a personality bypass that he had to charge me 15p for the tray it was in. Now this is a take away how else do I get them our of the shop I wasn't offered them wrapped in paper . I've never been charged for the tray or wrapper at any chippy in Britain . The portion of chips wasn't very big and the fish cake and chips were very greasy - never again !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rlowrie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    427
    159
    49
    25
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, North Yorks
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect fish and chips!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Good old fashioned chippy. Does just the job when a fish supper is exactly what you fancy. Light crispy batte and tasty chips. Flexible opening hours too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank tomwaits8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere, visit when quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

I ate here September 2013 with some people from work as it had been recommended to us as a great place to get Fish & Chips within the local area. We had a late lunch and so it wasn't overly busy (about 1/3 full).

The food was great and there were no complaints from any of us. We had a mix of different things from the menu and everyone agreed the food was very good and worth the money (it was actually cheaper than expected).

The atmosphere inside is very nice, with it being decorated in a classical sense. The restaurant as a whole looked clean and looked well kept, with no sign of dirty plates etc. Reading some of the reviews I do question if we were lucky in that regard as it wasn't too busy, however when we visited the restaurant was as expected.

Overall it was a great place to eat and the food/decoration made the trip worth it. I would happily eat here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeInAHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“REALLY GOOD TRY THIS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Had the jumbo haddock the fish had crispy batter and lovely chips,service was good and friendly will go back here again.well worth a try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 464Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dirty, rushed, poor customer service-will not return”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Visited here with friends last Tuesday for lunch and felt compelled to write a review after the poor experience we had. We waited a little while to be seated-which was not a problem, but the tables around that were free were stacked high with dirty plates and food. Upon being seated (in the way it felt) we had waitresses rushing around us and audibly complaining about the high volume of customers (!) There appeared to be a senior/manager who was clearly complaining about the younger members of her team not taking orders correctly/clearing tables quickly enough. Whilst I appreciate this must be frustrating, it is not something I wish to hear when enjoying lunch. Overall the food was ok-but nothing special. Total lack of atmosphere and stressed/rude staff ruin the overall experience. Will not be back to this 'greasy spoon'!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoreleiLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Drakes Fish and Chip Restaurant and Take Away also viewed

 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Drakes Fish and Chip Restaurant and Take Away? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing