We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Mother Shipton's Cave and The Petrifying Well
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mother Shipton’s Cave is England’s oldest visitor attraction, having been open since 1630. Millions of visitors from all over the world have been enchanted by the park's natural beauty, mesmerised by the Petrifying Well and enthralled by Mother Shipton's birthplace and her amazing story. The park has several scenic picnic areas, an adventure playground and museum and gift shop. Themed events run during school holidays. The park is open weekends in March then every day from 1st April to 29th October 10 am to 4.30pm (last admission 3.30pm). There is parking on site (£2 all day in addition to admission).
hull,east yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“it was ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

this venue was average the best of it is the views across the river and the viaduct. theres a few things for people to do and theres picnic areas

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank helibobs66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    370
    185
    86
    78
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spooky!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Fascinating display of objects including children's toys all turned to stone. Another place from my childhood.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank demelzaross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A bit of nostalgia”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Mother Shipton's Cave and Petrifying Well boasts of being the UK's oldest tourist attraction - and, to be honest, it hasn't exactly moved with the times. Although they have added a decent kids' adventure playground, audio commentary and a museum housing some of the objects that have been petrified over the years, you are essentially paying a visit to the cave dwelling of the 15th century prophetess Mother Shipton and the famous petrifying well (which, to give it its due, is interesting and still as "magical" as I remember it being from an earlier childhood visit).

Perhaps the owners have a cheek to charge £6.00 per adult to see these sights. The woodland walk along the river is pleasant but small. On the plus side though if you plan to spend the rest of the day in Knaresborough you can park here all day for £2.00, spend an hour or two at the Cave and then climb up to the castle, take time out for coffee, explore the shops, go boating, etc. - so we didn't feel like we'd paid over the odds.

On this occasion, we didn't have our children with us but I'm sure they would have enjoyed the play area and been entranced by the well, particularly as it's lit up with changing coloured lights and strewn with teddy bears that have been turned to stone.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Interesting oddity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Remember to bring a Teddy so you can hang it up and let it slowly turn into stone as the lime rich water trickles over it - could only be in Yorkshire!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank HAR225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our whole family enjoyed it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Feel that you need to be genuinely interested in the story behind the cave and well and you need to use your imagination on a hot sunny day. That said, we thought it was great.
The well itself is such an unusual thing to see, there are petrified things from over a century ago. The cave is tiny but we all loved sitting in there and imagining what it would have been like for her as a 15 year old girl cast out from her village.
The kids enjoyed the treasure trail and the subsequent bar of chocolate. Good for a half day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sam r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mother Shipton's Cave and The Petrifying Well also viewed

Knaresborough, Harrogate
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Mother Shipton's Cave and The Petrifying Well? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing