We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do attraction”

Mother Shipton's Cave and The Petrifying Well
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mother Shipton’s Cave is England’s oldest visitor attraction, having been open since 1630. Millions of visitors from all over the world have been enchanted by the park's natural beauty, mesmerised by the Petrifying Well and enthralled by Mother Shipton's birthplace and her amazing story. The park has several scenic picnic areas, an adventure playground and museum and gift shop. Themed events run during school holidays. The park is open weekends in March then every day from 1st April to 29th October 10 am to 4.30pm (last admission 3.30pm). There is parking on site (£2 all day in addition to admission).
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A must do attraction”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

From start to finish this was an amazing experience. Step back in time as you walk through enchanted woods to mother ship tons cave and wishing well. Marvel at her predictions and enjoy the museum and gift shop. Lovely day out.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank robert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    413
    199
    99
    85
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely walk”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Was really quiet when we went even though the weather was lovely, nice walk not much to see really, not keen on the dummys that they put in exhibits made them look tacky. Nice playground and gift shop. Only 1 set of toilets on the way in so make sure that you pay a visit when you enter.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 798sam798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“a really nice day out”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I have seen the sign from the motorway a few times, and we thought we would check it out. We payed £6 per adult plus £2 all day parking. There isnt a large amount of stuff there, there is a very small cafe/tea room, and a block of toilets at the entrance. you basically park your car down by the river and begin walking into the woods. There is a pleasant enough trail which passes what was a mill on the opposite side of the river, but is now just some flats. you then carry on and there is mother shiptons cave which is fairly small, i was expecting a series of caves, from the caved there is a will which turns things to stone. I actually thought that was quite interesting, and there a number of different things hanging from it, teddies, a lobster and a bike in the pool, There is also a wishing well.
When we had finished walking round, we headed over the river, the good thing, with parking at the attraction is you can walk into the town. We had a lovely walk alongside the river and up to the castle, you can either battle children, pushchairs and slow people and take the stairs, or alternatively you can take the gentle hill and walk up the road (much easier), the castle is free to go round which is nice, and offers some lovely views.
We had a great day, didn't cost a lot, and wasn't to commercialised which i liked. I think for a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids) its about £18 so not badly priced at all. Its a lovely place to walk and is nice and quiet.!
In total we probably spent around an hour walking around the caves and the well, then spent the rest of the afternoon walking around the town and walking along the river.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ruthadie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Be the guest of a witch.”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Prophecies aside, it’s a fairly nice place to go; weather permitting as a mile walk ahead (!).

If you arrive a bit too early, leave the car over the road, cross the bridge, and have a stroll along the river, and have a cuppa after the walk, and then enter the place, after that march you may need more than only a tea haha.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank M E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Beautiful place to visit, don't be put off by bad reviews. Visited today, very beautiful, picturesque location, and an interesting story about Mother Shipton, only costs £14 for two adults and all day car parking. What else could you get for that sort of money?
Small cafe was open though the fish and chip shop was closed due to bad weather. Lovely wood carvings throughout the park.
Unfortunately this beautiful attraction is so cheap it attracts lowlife peasants who have nothing better to do than give bad reviews of wonderful places! As 'At-Southwood S' says, you could go and 'but' a couple of pints but obviously he can neither read nor write as he failed to read the literature providing the necessary information about the wonderful park. Don't be put off by these Noodles, come and see for yourself!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank WeaselPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mother Shipton's Cave and The Petrifying Well also viewed

Knaresborough, Harrogate
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Mother Shipton's Cave and The Petrifying Well? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing