We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So slow, we had to leave!”
Review of The Spice Merchant

The Spice Merchant
Ranked #29 of 75 Restaurants in Knaresborough
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So slow, we had to leave!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

So, we went as a group of 7 of us, and, well I'm pretty sure none of us will be going back. I will start by saying that the food was good, when I finally got to eat it, 4 hours ordering.

So, what went wrong....

Not sure what the problem was, as it wasn't very busy. They forgot to give us menus, it took 20 mins to get drinks to us, and 2 hours after the mains arrived, we decided we needed to just leave.


Amazingly, as we all stood up, the food magically appeared, but we had already had enough, so we got them too pack it up.

All in all, good food, terrible service. And rather than getting someone to wash glasses up, they just put them all on the bar, all of them, from the whole day. Disgusting.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    42
    18
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
424 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Food gone backwards”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Have used this restaurant hundreds of times over the years and in the main the food has been pretty good. I suspect i would have given it 4* on most occasions but I have been twice recently and the food quality has definately gone backwards. The last time we had food for 6, and all different dishes. When they came they all looked the same colouur. The chicken in my balti wasn't of great quality and everybody left a fair bit which doesn't usually happen. Sometimes a change in chef can cause this??
I will try it again soon and hopefully it will get back to where it was.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Epicureously
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A good dependable place.”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I have been visiting this restaurant on and off for about 8 years now and have taken many different friends and family there. It is always friendly, cosy and value for money. The food is generally excellent and I've tried many things on the menu. Over the years it has maintained a high standard and is the best Indian restaurant in the area. It won't be the best Indian you've ever had but it will be very good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Rossics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coin, Spain
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Sunday buffet £7.50 per person”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

A party of four of us took advantage of the Sunday buffet for £7.50 per person. There was a choice of starters, including salad, spicy chicken drumsticks and onion bhajis. The mains included two chicken dishes (one mild and one spicy), a vegetarian dish, as well as pilau rice.This seemed to be a popular offer and at times we had to wait for more rice and chicken to be brought out from the kitchen, so maybe the staff could keep an eye on this before it runs out. I've had better curries, but for £7.50 per person for all you can eat, it's a good deal!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not like it used to be in fact it was poor”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Like some one else said what has happened to this Indian we went tonight for the first time in ages we used to go often but what a disappointment it was tonight they have cut back on the chicken and the sauce was that thick it look awfull like I said not been for a while but won't be going again

Helpful?
5 Thank EllieNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Spice Merchant also viewed

Knaresborough, Harrogate
 
Knaresborough, Harrogate
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Spice Merchant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing