We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lamb curry to die for mmmmm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Spice Merchant

The Spice Merchant
Ranked #31 of 74 Restaurants in Knaresborough
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“lamb curry to die for mmmmm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

The mint lamb bhuna was amazing will defo eat there again 10/10. Prices very reasonable and service good, hot towels were real towels not paper, nice touch. :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank IDEALMARION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    42
    18
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prestwood England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It may have been a bad day but the takeaway was terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I was sitting at the bar waiting for a take away and the person doing the same beside me said
she had tried all the local Indian restaurants and this was the best. I was therefore looking forward to it. It was terrible - all the vegetarian dishes were in the same revolting sauce with what I think was turnip. The cauliflower was not cooked but was so old it was like rubber. The Danask was just edible. We had to throw it away. If this was the best goodness knows what the other are like. If I had been in Knaresborough longer I would return to complain in person.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jonse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Standards are slipping”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Despite being the best Indian restaurant in Knaresborough (There isn't really much competition) I feel that their standards are slipping somewhat. Quality of food and service isn't what it should be (and used to be). Pleasant and clean interior, but service is oh so slow.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TimSherlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Been visiting Spice Merchant infrequently for years now. Still rate it as a favourite but have to say its looking a little tired now. Definitely needs a facelift. Would probably say its not as good as it used to be either based on our latest visit. just ever so slightly disappointed with the food but it won't put me off going back. Still recommended and love the fact they accept taste card

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank NigelM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best indian restaurant in North Yorkshire ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Wish i could visit more often. Come all the way from wakefield to eat at this little gem. Food is outstanding, everytime. Staff are friendly and attentive. Not tried the buffet yet but the cheaper menu on a thursday evening is fantastic! Worth a visit if you are in the area!

Helpful?
4 Thank Jenni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Spice Merchant also viewed

Knaresborough, Harrogate
 
Knaresborough, Harrogate
 

Been to The Spice Merchant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing