We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the best B&B in Yorkshire”
Review of Teardrop Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knaresborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Teardrop Cottage
Ranked #2 of 15 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Probably the best B&B in Yorkshire”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Set in an absolutely stunning location overlooking the river nidd. Teardrop Cottage is in a most picturesque setting. Inside the decor is really tasteful and has a lovely luxury feel combined with a homely charm. The owners Mike & Maxine are the perfect hosts. The breakfast was superb, all foods are locally sourced and of exceptional quality.

The rooms were finished to a very high standard and with great attention to detail.

For those interested in history there is plenty surrounding the cottage, some of it gruesome.

Teardrop Cottage is as unique as its owners and made a lasting impression. Definately worth a stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    24
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
215
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I stayed here as a solo business traveller in July 2011. I normally stay in hotel chains for ease. I will now be changing my booking preferences as this was without a doubt the best all round stay away from home I have ever experienced. Everything from the location, service, value and quality was spot on. I have even picked up some interior design tips. The place is amazing.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobbyzap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We were lucky to visit Knaresborough at the beginning of the Festival of Entertainment and Visual Arts (FEVA), a great event which seems to embrace a range of artistic and community activities and feel so fortunate that we found Teardrop Cottage and its fabulous host Mike to be our base. We are well travelled and know what elements contribute to a great overnight experience and Teardrop ticks all the boxes. The room was beautiful with a whole host of ‘extras’ – lovely biscuits, a range of teas, chocolates and super toiletries. Breakfast was cooked to order and complemented by fresh fruit, cereal and pastries and bottomless pots of tea and coffee. The B&B is well situated on the bank of the river within touching distance of the viaduct and very close to the station. We had a lovely time walking, discovering a fabulous independent Art Gallery and sampling real ales in great pubs. We can’t wait to return.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank wheretonext61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

After enquiring at various hotel in knaresborough, only to find they were fully booked. We found teardrop cottage on the iknow-yourshire website and decided to book for 2 nights. We were so glad the other hotels were fully booked because Teardrop Cottage far outshone the others. The location is second to none, right at the side of the river, quiet and peaceful. The room was beautiful and cosy. Breakfast, anything you wanted. Mike made our stay most enjoyable, nothing was too much trouble. Would definately stay again if we go back to knaresborough.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HilaryandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We booked 4 nights at this delightful B&B whilst visiting Yorkshire in late July. Mike could not have been more helpful in sorting out our requirements and we ended up with the whole of the top floor including the decked terrace which overlooks the river and viaduct with a distinctly Mediterranean feel. All the rooms at Teardrop Cottage are beautifully furnished and comfortable and our bathroom offered a huge shower as well as stand alone bath. Breakfast was so good we had to ask Mike to stop cooking so much! The position of the cottage offers wonderful views of the river and viaduct which is lit up at night, and it is an easy stroll into town. We look forward to a return visit soon!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2011

better than most boutique hotels, wonderful hospitality. A real find - enchanting!

Room Tip: All rooms are superb and exquisitely decorated to a very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandHannah186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
telford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Booked into Teardrop for 3 nights, was attending an exhibition in nearby Harrogate.
Not far from the train Station, it was easy to find and only 6-10 mins away from Harrogate by train, a perfect place to stay.

This was my first visit to Knaresborough, I have to say it was beautiful and Teardrop cottage sits in these surroundings so well. Sitting next to the river, near the boat club and of course the magnificent Knaresborough viaduct, away from the hustle and bustle.

Mike welcomes you warmly, offers a hearty breakfast, and georgeous comfortable rooms. he wants to make your stay enjoyable. Roof terrace in the evening and early morning was fantastic too.

Will stay here again, would recommend Teardrop cottage as a great place to stay

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank WayneSelquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.2 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,493 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Goldsborough Hall
Goldsborough Hall
#1 of 15 in Knaresborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kirkgate House
Kirkgate House
#3 of 15 in Knaresborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Mitre Inn
The Mitre Inn
#6 of 15 in Knaresborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teardrop Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teardrop Cottage

Property: Teardrop Cottage
Address: Waterside, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teardrop cottage is set in the picturesque location of waterside, with magnificent views of the river, castle and Victorian stone viaduct. A short walk from the historic market town of Knaresborough, with its eclectic mix of restaurants,individual shops and fine old pubs, the nearby railway station provides quick and easy access to the towns of Harrogate and its international exhibition centre, York and Leeds, and borders the beautiful Yorkshire Dales, moors and the east coast....our aim is to give you a relaxing and memorable stay in our stunning and magical location. Our 4 rooms are comfortable and finished to a very high standard. Our breakfast menu offers delicious,freshly prepared and locally sourced food. We insist that you make yourself "at home". We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Teardrop Cottage Hotel Knaresborough
Teardrop Cottage Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing