We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mike the legend!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Teardrop Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knaresborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Teardrop Cottage
Ranked #2 of 17 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mike the legend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Firstly a huge thanks to Mike who truely was a fantastic host!

Teardrop Cottage must be in one of the most picturesque spots we have been to. Situated right beneath a viaduct, next to a river and beneath a castle, who could ask for more. The cottage itself was very well decorated with an old meets new contemporary style and a sun drenched summer deck up on the rooftop aptly positioned to enjoy a nice bottle of vino!

Mike was the key to Teardrops success and our amazing weekend! He was more than willing to answer any questions and to offer any advice we sought. Overall he was a fantastic host. The breakfasts in the morning were excellent and he was happy to vary the menu to our liking.

Many thanks once again Mike!

Room Tip: The room downstairs is probably the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    24
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
212
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Not just a B+B, more like visiting an old friend. Mike the owner is a friendly outstanding host and offers his lovely quirky cottage home for your visit.
Attention to detail and extremly high standard of cleanliness, presentaion and comfort invites you to want to stay longer. Beautifully located adjacent the river with the stunning architechtual viaduct simply a touch away and overlooked by the ruins of the castle the setting is a photo oppertunity not to miss.
We stayed as an annerversary two night break away, provided by our daughter but will definately return and would recommend Mikes cottage home and exceptioanal high standard of the Teardrop accommodation as excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RQMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Cannot fault Teardrop Cottage....from the moment we were welcomed on arrival to departure the following day, we were extremely well looked after and were astounded by the fantastic, friendly service, the attention to detail, cleanliness, breakfast (amazing!) and comfort. Wish we could have stayed another night(s) but we were only in Knaresborough one evening for a wedding. The owner went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and even drove us to the wedding venue. Hopefully some of our friends will be visiting the Yorkshire Dales in the not too distant future and I will without question recommend Teardrop Cottage. It must also be mentioned that the location for visiting Knaresborough is second to none, right on the river and very peaceful. A fantastic B&B....I wish Mike and his team every success for the future.
Paul & Rachel

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saddleworth-hopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

10/10 hospitality, beautifully kept B&B, great location, definitely recommend to all.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samlamx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We booked the entire Teardrop Cottage as a surpise for dad's birthday, what a fantastic hotel, Mike is the nicest man you could ever meet and is more than happy to assist you in anyway he can and was extremely nice to our kids which meant a lot.

We will definately return and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are great even the non-ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jentat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

You couldn't ask for a better B & B / Guest House for it's location with stunning views, quality of rooms & little touches that make it so special. The whole cottage has a great ambience about it. Mike is the perfect host - his attention to detail is second to none & nothing is too much trouble. He is so welcoming, down-to-earth & has a great sense of humour.

Room Tip: Although our favourite room is the downstairs luxury king size en-suite, all rooms are first class...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We rented the entire four rooms for a weekend with friends. Mike is an extremely welcoming and congenial host - nothing was too much trouble, and his breakfasts are truely superb. Fresh fruit, museli, yoghurt, full English, kippers, smoked salmon - you name it, he's got it on the menu - and if he doesn't he'll go out and get it for you. The rooms are tastefully decorated, at present only the downstairs room is en suite and all come with kettles, tea, coffee and posh sweeties. Great location on the river and reasonable rates. It is Mike's house - but if you want exclusive use he does have other places to lay his head. Well done Mike.

Room Tip: The room downstairs is en suite (and has sky).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank champagnetraveller90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,405 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Goldsborough Hall
Goldsborough Hall
#1 of 17 in Knaresborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kirkgate House
Kirkgate House
#3 of 17 in Knaresborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newton House
Newton House
#4 of 17 in Knaresborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teardrop Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teardrop Cottage

Property: Teardrop Cottage
Address: Waterside, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teardrop cottage is set in the picturesque location of waterside, with magnificent views of the river, castle and Victorian stone viaduct. A short walk from the historic market town of Knaresborough, with its eclectic mix of restaurants,individual shops and fine old pubs, the nearby railway station provides quick and easy access to the towns of Harrogate and its international exhibition centre, York and Leeds, and borders the beautiful Yorkshire Dales, moors and the east coast....our aim is to give you a relaxing and memorable stay in our stunning and magical location. Our 4 rooms are comfortable and finished to a very high standard. Our breakfast menu offers delicious,freshly prepared and locally sourced food. We insist that you make yourself "at home". We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Teardrop Cottage Hotel Knaresborough
Teardrop Cottage Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing