We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Host”
Review of Teardrop Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Teardrop Cottage
Ranked #2 of 15 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

As others have said Mike is the most wonderful host. There if you need him , unobtrusive otherwise - the breakfast is the best ! and we had great chats over the coffee and tea ! The facilities are great - the little touches in the room - sweet teddy bears - who came with an Easter Egg On Easter Sunday. The quirky rooms are clean and beautifully decorated. The location is superb. Nothing to fault - cannot wait to !go back - even if to just have a chat and a cofree with Mike ! Thank you for everything

Room Tip: Pink room is intimate but big enough for two and has a quirky ensuite, the brown room is larger and...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElizzabethSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Teardrop Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed here for a weekend after Christmas. We had a fabulous time. The cottage is very warm and welcoming. Mike adds to this and makes you feel at home. Beautiful place, fantastic breakfast and we had a lovely relaxing time that was much needed after a hectic Christmas!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerbyshireTinkerbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Firstly a huge thanks to Mike who truely was a fantastic host!

Teardrop Cottage must be in one of the most picturesque spots we have been to. Situated right beneath a viaduct, next to a river and beneath a castle, who could ask for more. The cottage itself was very well decorated with an old meets new contemporary style and a sun drenched summer deck up on the rooftop aptly positioned to enjoy a nice bottle of vino!

Mike was the key to Teardrops success and our amazing weekend! He was more than willing to answer any questions and to offer any advice we sought. Overall he was a fantastic host. The breakfasts in the morning were excellent and he was happy to vary the menu to our liking.

Many thanks once again Mike!

Room Tip: The room downstairs is probably the best!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Not just a B+B, more like visiting an old friend. Mike the owner is a friendly outstanding host and offers his lovely quirky cottage home for your visit.
Attention to detail and extremly high standard of cleanliness, presentaion and comfort invites you to want to stay longer. Beautifully located adjacent the river with the stunning architechtual viaduct simply a touch away and overlooked by the ruins of the castle the setting is a photo oppertunity not to miss.
We stayed as an annerversary two night break away, provided by our daughter but will definately return and would recommend Mikes cottage home and exceptioanal high standard of the Teardrop accommodation as excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RQMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Cannot fault Teardrop Cottage....from the moment we were welcomed on arrival to departure the following day, we were extremely well looked after and were astounded by the fantastic, friendly service, the attention to detail, cleanliness, breakfast (amazing!) and comfort. Wish we could have stayed another night(s) but we were only in Knaresborough one evening for a wedding. The owner went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and even drove us to the wedding venue. Hopefully some of our friends will be visiting the Yorkshire Dales in the not too distant future and I will without question recommend Teardrop Cottage. It must also be mentioned that the location for visiting Knaresborough is second to none, right on the river and very peaceful. A fantastic B&B....I wish Mike and his team every success for the future.
Paul & Rachel

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saddleworth-hopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

10/10 hospitality, beautifully kept B&B, great location, definitely recommend to all.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samlamx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We booked the entire Teardrop Cottage as a surpise for dad's birthday, what a fantastic hotel, Mike is the nicest man you could ever meet and is more than happy to assist you in anyway he can and was extremely nice to our kids which meant a lot.

We will definately return and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are great even the non-ensuite.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jentat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.2 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
2.9 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Goldsborough Hall
Goldsborough Hall
#1 of 15 in Knaresborough
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kirkgate House
Kirkgate House
#3 of 15 in Knaresborough
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newton House
Newton House
#4 of 15 in Knaresborough
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teardrop Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teardrop Cottage

Address: Waterside, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range: £75 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teardrop cottage is set in the picturesque location of waterside, with magnificent views of the river, castle and Victorian stone viaduct. A short walk from the historic market town of Knaresborough, with its eclectic mix of restaurants,individual shops and fine old pubs, the nearby railway station provides quick and easy access to the towns of Harrogate and its international exhibition centre, York and Leeds, and borders the beautiful Yorkshire Dales, moors and the east coast....our aim is to give you a relaxing and memorable stay in our stunning and magical location. Our 4 rooms are comfortable and finished to a very high standard. Our breakfast menu offers delicious,freshly prepared and locally sourced food. We insist that you make yourself "at home". We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Teardrop Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teardrop Cottage Hotel Knaresborough
Teardrop Cottage Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing