We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Teardrop Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knaresborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Teardrop Cottage
Ranked #2 of 16 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

My wife and i stayed for 2 nights.mike was one of the best hosts we have come across.The accommodation was spotless. Nothing was to much trouble for Mike.Your are to two minutes walk from the train station,which easily connects you to to harrogate and york.Also you are five minutes walk from the town centre and there are lovely walks and the ruined castle too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neal f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to send such a kind review....it was a pleasure to meet you both..and im delighted you enjoyed your stay ...hope to see you again..very best wishes,Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    24
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
213
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Booked this after great reviews on here and wasn't disappointed. Brilliant location on the river and a short (if steep) walk into town. Lovely room (pink), cosy, comfy and well appointed. Breakfast had everything you could wish for and tasted great. Feels like a home from home which at first is a bit unnerving as you feel like you're intruding but soon settled in! Will definitely be recommending it to friends and family as a great place to start when exploring the Dales.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Chris...i am very grateful for you taking the time to write such a kind review...and delighted you enjoyed your stay at Teardrop Cottage....thank you for your recommendations...we hope to see you again...very best wishes,Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We have recently stayed at Teardrop cottage for two nights in the King-size room on the ground floor. When we arrived at Knatesborough we were bowled over at how beautiful and unspoilt it was. Mike has the best location in the town for his B&B, it is situated besides the river underneath the railway viaduct. Mike is a great host and very friendly. Our room was beautifully furnished with dressing gowns, chocolates and Sky tv. The bathroom was luxurious and there were some lovely toiletries including Molton Brown handwash and hand cream . The courtyard garden off the bedroom is a nice extra and the terrace upstairs has lovely views. Breakfast was delicious and included very high quality produce. I see some have complained about the set breakfast time but I think it's great. It takes pressure off Mike and allows you to have breakfast in private. The train station is a 2 minute walk away and there are services to Leeds, York and Harrogate. I'd highly recommend anyone to stay with Mike at Teardrop cottage and hope we get the opportunity to return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephenjones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to send such a kind review..we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Teardrop cottage,and look forward to seeing you sometime soon.

Very best wishes,Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this bed and breakfast for one night and were extremely impressed with the standards. Mike, the owner, takes the time to make sure the little details are perfect and makes the stay so comfortable. The rooms are very modern, tastefully decorated with great facilities. The food is wonderful, with a great selection to choose from. Mike is very friendly and helpful, providing lots of information and is able to recommend places to visit, eat etc. would absolutely recommend to anyone who wanted to visit the area!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank headchumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to send such a kind review....i am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Teardrop cottage..and that everything was ok for you....we hope to see you again..best wishes,Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Overall rating is "Good" - above average but not the "very good" of 4 points indicated above - so 3.5 points really! (But not a choice when rating)

Clean and mostly comfortable overall experience.
Great location (unless needing to park a car). Bed comfy if a little soft. Shower OK.
Breakfast food excellent (coffee - not so good but OK).

Host pleasant (helpful but occasionally borderline 'controlling').
TV on at breakfast - he did ask us if we wanted it switched off but when we said 'Yes please' - that was the 'wrong answer' apparently, so only the volume was lowered.
(V. strict pre agreed breakfast time slot, due to limited seating & he does breakfast himself)

Decor is *ahem* "full" and eclectic - not to our taste whatsoever (tall wooden 'african' figurines, foot tall shiny ceramic Dalmations & a leopard print lamp shade etc...hmm)

Odd decor for a B&B - certainly not evocative of Knaresborough or Yorkshire...or even UK come to that! LOL
Certainly different to the old fashioned musty polyester chintz of the old style B&B but not, in my view, 'different' in a particularly better way!
Anyway we were 'out and about' doing things mostly, so could largely ignore decor.

Location is good due to proximity to river and viaduct. Also easy walk to bus stop. Steep uphill walk on cobbles (but still easy if fit) to town and railway station.
Would i come again - to Knaresborough most certainly, in fact planning to already. May look elsewhere for accommodation.

Room Tip: Downstairs room has small patio - no view but chairs and table.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HilsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
We are always happy to receive your feedback.
At Teardrop cottage we are constantly striving to improve our service to our guests and presentation of our product.
Breakfast times are reserved in advance for our guests,as they are freshly prepared and served personally by myself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

I stayed at the Teardrop Cottage in the Luxury Kingsize En-suite Double Room with the french door open onto a lovely little courtyard. This is sheer luxury and I have to say the best B&B I have ever stayed at. The decor is exquisite, a real English feel to it. This is not your average B&B, more of a Boutique Bed & Breakfast. This was a birthday treat. Mike the host was great. Nothing was too much trouble. You really feel you are getting the old-fashioned personal service that is often missing in large hotels. He's friendly, attentive but discreet and left us to ourselves. The location is absolutely stunning – the website really doesn't do it justice. Although I only stayed for 2 nights and didn't travel far, it felt like a really relaxing luxurious holiday and a fantastic treat. Before going out to dinner, Mike suggested we had a pre-evening glass of wine on the roof terrace, which has the most spectacular views. of the Castle, the River, the Viaduct (Bridge). I hope I get treat next year again, as I can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: The Luxury room is so beautiful, if you can get in, definitely treat yourself to this room its reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaLouisaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this review, 13 January 2015
Hi Nick..i hope you are well?...thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review.It was a pleasure to have you stay...we are delighted everything was to your liking...and hope to see you again.Very best wishes,Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Staying at Teardrop Cottage is not so much of a bed for the night as a way of life! It all starts with brilliant communications from Mike and helpful, accommodating supplements. Mike does everything. Because it is His house, it if furnished by Him to his tastes; I was impressed by the pictures.
The cottage sized bedroom was impeccably decorated and, of course, sparkling clean. The bed was comfortable and my wife and I slept well. There is a roof terrace which is a marvellous place to chill-out with a bottle of wine or a pot of tea; very nice.
Breakfast is outstanding; I would gladly propose it the best in Britain. An expansive selection of fresh fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice and a terrific main ‘English’, attractively presented and perfectly cooked.
We stayed two nights and enjoyed a couple of stimulating pre-breakfast strolls along the River Nidd and up to the castle ruins with its immaculate gardens.
I have posted some ‘photos of some nearby features, all within an easy stroll, but there is a need to negotiate some steps to reach the much rewarding castle.
Thanks Mike for a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silverfox1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such kind words...it was a pleasure having you stay at Teardrop cottage..i am so pleased that you had a great time,and hope to see you again...very best wishes,Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,452 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Goldsborough Hall
Goldsborough Hall
#1 of 16 in Knaresborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kirkgate House
Kirkgate House
#3 of 16 in Knaresborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Mitre Inn
The Mitre Inn
#6 of 16 in Knaresborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teardrop Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teardrop Cottage

Property: Teardrop Cottage
Address: Waterside, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teardrop cottage is set in the picturesque location of waterside, with magnificent views of the river, castle and Victorian stone viaduct. A short walk from the historic market town of Knaresborough, with its eclectic mix of restaurants,individual shops and fine old pubs, the nearby railway station provides quick and easy access to the towns of Harrogate and its international exhibition centre, York and Leeds, and borders the beautiful Yorkshire Dales, moors and the east coast....our aim is to give you a relaxing and memorable stay in our stunning and magical location. Our 4 rooms are comfortable and finished to a very high standard. Our breakfast menu offers delicious,freshly prepared and locally sourced food. We insist that you make yourself "at home". We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Teardrop Cottage Hotel Knaresborough
Teardrop Cottage Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing