We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Teardrop Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knaresborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Teardrop Cottage
Ranked #2 of 17 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

One of the most delightful places we've ever stayed. Mike is an excellent host, there isn't anything he wouldn't do to make your stay more enjoyable. You won't be disappointed. Book today. Thank you Mike.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank EmilyD662014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Emily..that is so kind...thank you.Such a kind review post really helps a small business as Teardrop cottage.We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday.Particularly like the "book now" quote.
We hope to see you again..very best wishes,Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    24
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
208
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Every so often you stay at a place that exceeds all expectations and this past weekend we were fortunate enough to enjoy one of those experiences. Our stay at Teardrop cottage was exactly what we needed. Immediately upon our arrival we were greeted by one of the world's most affable hosts. Mike, the exceptionally amiable gentleman that owns Teardrop Cottage pulls out all the stops to ensure your stay is the best it possibly can be and he succeeds on every level.

The accommodation itself is exquisitely decorated and is in the most incredible location, mere minutes from the Train Station and over-looking the river. Though our room had a separate bathroom across the hall, this really did not cause any problems at all and the bedroom itself was beautiful. It also has one of the comfiest beds I've slept in for a long time. Every amenity is covered during your stay here, from a lovely set of chocolates and biscuits to a face mask should you want to pamper yourself and even a pass to a local spa is included should you so wish. The icing on the cake was perhaps the wonderful breakfast Mike prepared which was absolutely delightful and certainly better than any other breakfast I have enjoyed over the years at any hotel or B&B. The only downside to our stay was we didn't get to spend nearly enough time at this wonderful accommodation with our exceptional host.

To round things up, I would wholeheartedly recommend this to even the most nitpicky guests, of which I am one (see other reviews!) and would certainly stay again without a seconds hesitation. I cannot heap enough praise on Mike as I feel he was a key part of making our stay as wonderful as it was and if I could make a single suggestion it would be to offer, amongst all the other Teadrop Cottage souvenirs, clones of Mike himself. That would inevitably brighten everyones day and I feel he is missing a trick there.

Room Tip: I can only vouch for the Chocolate Room but it is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hi Stuart....once again,thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review.i hope all is well.We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Teardrop cottage...thank you also for the recommendations..we are very grateful,and hope to see you again..very best wishes,Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

A really lovely B&B from the ideal location by the water side to the comfy beds and rounded off with an excellent breakfast (I would recommend the Eggs Benedict!)Thank you Mike for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LancashireMargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you so much..we are delighted you had a lovely stay at Teardrop...and enjoyed the eggs benedict..it was great to meet you,and we hope you can stay again in the not to distant future.
Very best wishes,Mike.thank you for taking the time to post such a kind review...really appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Look don't tell anyone else, this has too be the area's best B&B, possibly even best kept secret in Yorkshire. Mike is totally into the needs of his guests, we were like old friends the moment we rang the bell, he's knowledgeable and honest in his referrals of Restaurants and Knaresborough and Harrogate in general.

Breakfast was superb, local ingredients cooked and presented better than a lost of places I've eaten, accommodation was just right well appointed and with the excellent roof garden especially in the good weather, it really is better than a home from home.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hi Tim...i am delighted you both enjoyed your stay at Teardrop cottage....thank you for your kind thoughts...it is really appreciated....we hope to see you again...very best wishes,mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Lovely little spot in Knaresborough. Everything you want from a B&B and more. Mike is a great host - even offered us a lift to the wedding we were attending! Already planning to return for a weekend away in warmer times to use the roof deck.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hi Nick..it was a pleasure to meet you both...thank you for everything..im delighted you enjoyed your stay...and a big thank you for taking the time to post such a kind review..its very much appreciated....i hope all is well..best wishes..hope to see you in the summer..Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed for one night and we had a lovely time.
A beautiful cottage in an ideal position that was surprisingly quiet even though it was busy with visitors down by the river.
Mike is friendly and helpful and keen for his guests to enjoy their stay, which we did.
Breakfast was beautifully prepared using quality locally sourced produce.
We would have liked to stay another night so will have to return another time and do so!
We stayed in the chocolate room with private large bathroom, which was clean and comfortable with attention to detail and thoughtful extras being provided.
We will of course be recommending this lovely B&B to family and friends.
In short, a lovely stay with an attentive host and a breakfast to die for, what's not to like?

Room Tip: The chocolate room has a lovely view of the viaduct and the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartyHel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you so much...I am delighted you had a lovely relaxing time,and enjoyed your stay at Teardrop cottage..i am also grateful for your offer of recommendations,and look forward to seeing you again...very best wishes,Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

It was our 3rd time at this lovely B&B we cannot fault it. It's spotlessly clean, extremely comfortable and Mike the owner is the perfect host. Breakfast is wonderful. It is in a lovely location on the riverside. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LizEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi Liz..that is so kind....thank you ever so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review..it is really appreciated....I hope you are both well....delighted everything was to your liking...and hope to see you again..very best wishes,Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,297 reviews
3.1 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Goldsborough Hall
Goldsborough Hall
#1 of 17 in Knaresborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kirkgate House
Kirkgate House
#3 of 17 in Knaresborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
2.8 mi away
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
#2 of 103 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teardrop Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teardrop Cottage

Property: Teardrop Cottage
Address: Waterside, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teardrop cottage is set in the picturesque location of waterside, with magnificent views of the river, castle and Victorian stone viaduct. A short walk from the historic market town of Knaresborough, with its eclectic mix of restaurants,individual shops and fine old pubs, the nearby railway station provides quick and easy access to the towns of Harrogate and its international exhibition centre, York and Leeds, and borders the beautiful Yorkshire Dales, moors and the east coast....our aim is to give you a relaxing and memorable stay in our stunning and magical location. Our 4 rooms are comfortable and finished to a very high standard. Our breakfast menu offers delicious,freshly prepared and locally sourced food. We insist that you make yourself "at home". We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Teardrop Cottage Hotel Knaresborough
Teardrop Cottage Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing