We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting b&b in Knaresborough”
Review of Teardrop Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Teardrop Cottage
Ranked #2 of 15 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My husband and I stayed for a night at Teardrop Cottage earlier this month. We stayed in the downstairs bedroom, and we found it to be very comfortable (good size room, comfortable bed, and with very nice touches throughout).

Unfortunately, we arrived 15 minutes into our 30 minute breakfast time slot, and this caused a little too much drama for us to be able to recommend this b&b to others. The strictness of the breakfast timing put a real damper on our day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank snowbunny16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the Luxury king size bedroom.I feel your comments regarding our breakfast time slots are unfair..even though you arrived late,and minutes before i was due to prepare breakfast for the guests that arrived on time,i made sure that you were seated and were served coffee,with cereals,toast and a selection of fresh fruit and yogurt,before working late to prepare your main meal,after breakfast had finished.What more could i have done for you?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Teardrop Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Came here for a few days away for my 40th birthday. The cottage is set in a perfect location. Very close to the train station and a short walk to the variety of shops and restaurants. The cottage itself is beautiful, very clean and tidy. The room we stayed in was perfect and had a view of the viaduct. Breakfast was amazing, one of the best cooked breakfasts we've ever had and my husband was very impressed with the black pudding. Nothing was too much trouble for the owner, with local knowledge happily shared. All in all highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayleye1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for such a kind review...i am delighted everthing was enjoyable for your birthday..inc the black pudd....hope to see you again....thank you for the recommendations..very best wishes,Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Our stay at tear drop cottage was brilliant, very relaxing and with a lovely host Mike who made us feel so welcome. We loved the room with a courtyard very nice to be able to sit and relax immediately The breakfast was wonderful, a most relaxing stay in the very special town of Knaresborourgh.
Hopefully be back very soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 870cherylg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Hi Cheryl..we are so pleased you enjoyed a relaxing time at Teardrop cottage,and thank you for such a kind review..its really appreciated...very best wishes...hope to see you again.Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I couldn't recommend this place more. All the room are perfect and mike looks after your every need. I chose this venue to propose to my now fiancé and so did it on the roof deck over looking the river. This place made the experience perfect and couldn't of asked for more from it. Can't wait to visit again. Cheers mike.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lukus86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you so much Luke...congratulations once more..i hope the wedding plans are coming on nicely.
We are delighted everything was ok....very best wishes,Mike....and thank you for the recommendations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely cottage on the riverside. Lovely rooms without being intimidatingly over bearing. Mike was a great host - very friendly and attentive. The breakfast was first rate. I would stay there again unreservedly.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Brett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi there..thank you so much for taking the time to post such a kind review...we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Teardrop cottage..and the eggs benedict...hope to see you again..thank you also for the recommendations..best wishes,Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

stayed at this lovely B&B for 2 nights. the cottage is quaint with lovely decorated rooms and comfy big beds. we had the privilege of looking out of the window to a view of the wonderful viaduct and made use of the outdoor balcony sitting having a cool glass of wine on the comfy seating. Mike our host was lovely nothing was too much trouble and his eggs benedict were to die for lol we had a lovely time and would recommend this beautiful place to anyone. thanks mike

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helibobs66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi there..thank you so much for taking the time to post such a kind review...we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Teardrop cottage..and the eggs benedict...hope to see you again..thank you also for the recommendations..best wishes,Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed one night, as we'd been at a wedding during the day. We dropped our bags before lunch and Mike gave us a key to let ourselves in after midnight.

Mike makes your stay perfect from the minute you arrive, nothing is too much trouble for him.

The rooms are beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean.

The breakfast choice is great, with locally sourced produce, tastes delicious and is delivered with a smile.

To top the already excellent service, Mike even gave us a lift back to the wedding venue to collect our car the following morning.

If you're thinking of a knaresborough stay, don't hesitate to book Teardrop Cottage.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Faith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Faith and Adrian...that is so kind..thank you for such a fabulous review..i am delighted that you enjoyed your stay...taking the time to post a positive review really helps a small business such as Teardrop...so we are very grateful..hope to see you again..very best wishes,Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.2 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
2.9 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Goldsborough Hall
Goldsborough Hall
#1 of 15 in Knaresborough
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kirkgate House
Kirkgate House
#3 of 15 in Knaresborough
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newton House
Newton House
#4 of 15 in Knaresborough
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teardrop Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teardrop Cottage

Address: Waterside, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range: £75 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teardrop cottage is set in the picturesque location of waterside, with magnificent views of the river, castle and Victorian stone viaduct. A short walk from the historic market town of Knaresborough, with its eclectic mix of restaurants,individual shops and fine old pubs, the nearby railway station provides quick and easy access to the towns of Harrogate and its international exhibition centre, York and Leeds, and borders the beautiful Yorkshire Dales, moors and the east coast....our aim is to give you a relaxing and memorable stay in our stunning and magical location. Our 4 rooms are comfortable and finished to a very high standard. Our breakfast menu offers delicious,freshly prepared and locally sourced food. We insist that you make yourself "at home". We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Teardrop Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teardrop Cottage Hotel Knaresborough
Teardrop Cottage Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing