We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Mikes riverside haven'”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Teardrop Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knaresborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Teardrop Cottage
Ranked #2 of 16 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
hull
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“'Mikes riverside haven'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed here for one night, from the moment we arrived it felt like we had never left home. Mike was a great host and very informative about the area, not to mention he cooks a greatttttt breakfast. 'Teardrop Cottage, is beautifully situated alongside the river Nidd. Our room was the 'Summer Pink Room', a tastefully decorated cottage bedroom with an on-suite wet room, giving a partial view of the river and the viaduct. The cottage is ideally situated for visiting Harrogate, with a bust stop at the top of Waterside, were you can catch a bus every fifteen minutes, this takes about twenty minutes. For those not so well on their feet, Knaresborough is quite undulating, and their is quite a hill to overcome to get to the town centre from the cottage.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady-Susan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you so much for such a kind review..its greatly appreciated.We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Teardrop cottage..it was a pleasure to meet you both,and we hope to see you again..very best wishes,Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    24
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
212
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed just for one night in the chocolate room, which was very cute and cozy. It has a great view of the bridge from the window. Bed is very comfortable. The bathroom is just off the landing, you sole usage.. Bathrobes are provided and there are toiletries and shower caps (big plus)!!

Mike is very attentive, and asks regularly if you have everything you need, which is lovely.

Breakfast is fab and there is lots of choice.

The B &B is ideally located, we ate at Carriages which was recommended on trip advisor. Its only a few minutes walk, Mike will give directions!!.. It had great choice.

Will definitely return, couldn't use the roof terrace due to rain. So a definite reason to return!!

All in all a lovely, relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathy187067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi Cathy....thank you...it was great to meet you..and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Teardrop......We will see if we can order some sunny weather for your next visit...so you can enjoy the roof terrace fully...very best wishes,Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I am not an easy person to please regarding comfort, quiet and food and am exceedingly shy. I stayed in the pink room. The bathroom although small is very well utilised and the shower is good. I had a lovely peaceful nights sleep although the trains run over the viaduct which is very close they are not noisy and you barely notice them and I am very sensitive to external noise. The breakfast is very good with plenty of choice and it was nice to have a breakfast at 9am instead of having to get up at 7/7.30am on a day off in the week. Mike is a wonderful host, he makes you feel very welcome and puts you at ease, I met his welcoming committee (neighbour) whom is also very nice. The bed was very comfortable, the terrace is beautiful, and the availability of a fridge is a welcome bonus. Look forward to visiting again. Very close to all amenities and only few minutes from harrogate eith all forms of transport. I thought it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank FinnAly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a kind review...we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Teardrop cottage..and look forward to seeing you again...very best wishes,Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights in June. The location, with its stunning view of the viaduct could not be better (as long as you can cope with the uphill into the town centre). The little roof terrace made the most of the splendid view and thankfully we had the weather to enjoy it. The pink room was beautifully quaint and whilst the bathroom was small it made the most of the space. Mike was a very welcoming host but I reserve the best praise for the breakfast. I am a non meat eater but was amply catered for and particularly enjoyed the smoked salmon. My partner went for the full english on both mornings which, whist the volume almost defeated him, he reviewed as one of the best he'd ever eaten, particularly the sausages.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a kind review....its really appreciated...we are delighted you enjoyed your stay..and the location...not to mention the sausages...hand made by the local butcher...very best wishes,and we hope to see you again,Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland, uk
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed one night and like other reviews have said Mike is a lovely host. Great being able to leave the car and enjoy the day. We stayed in the pink room and it was lovely, but if we came back I think I would try one of the other rooms possibly a larger one. The en-suite was genius but rather small. Breakfast was very nice with plenty of choice and my husband and I look forward to returning again. Love the fridge for storing wine/beers etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank loll01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hi There..thank you so much..very kind..glad you like the fridge....it was lovely to meet you both,and we look forward to seeing you on another occasion...very best wishes,Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had a great stay, taking two bedrooms. Breakfast great, abit slow as he had a full house. Not a problem if u have the time. We wanted to catch the train and had to wait for the next one as we were running late. It would be good if the rooms had fans as u can't leave the downstairs windows open overnight as they are doors. Rooms need a list of things todo, train times and eating establishments that are close. Otherwise a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troutss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
that is so kind..thank you...we hope you enjoyed your holiday in the UK....looking into the fan..great idea..really nice to meet you..very best wishes,Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

You will not find a better guest house with a better host in whole wide world. Julie and I have known Mike for about 4 years ( Julie wrote a post the first time we went for her 40th and deserves more praise on doing a first class job on a five star establishment ) and we have been coming back every year, we even paid for my daughter to stay for her birthday here in March and she absolutely loved it. Mike's personality reflects the whole ambiance of the cottage. This cottage is situated on one of the nicest riverside walks you can imagine. Attention to detail throughout and a breakfast fit for a king. Nothing is too much trouble and Mikes wonderful sense of humour is to die for....typical Leo in every sense. Mike we cant thank you enough once again and we look forward to seeing you soon. Room tip.....go for the suite downstairs and if you get chance you must take advantage of the roof terrace either through the day or when the viaduct/bridge is lit up at night. Cheers Mike, lots of love Julie and Andrew xxxx

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Andy ..from one Leo to another....what can i say...a very big thank you for your post....very kind.
It was fab to see both Julie and yourself...married life is obviously suiting you.....im delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to see you soon..hope the shoulder is not too sore..lots of love and best wishes,Mike.x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,444 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Goldsborough Hall
Goldsborough Hall
#1 of 16 in Knaresborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kirkgate House
Kirkgate House
#3 of 16 in Knaresborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Mitre Inn
The Mitre Inn
#5 of 16 in Knaresborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teardrop Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teardrop Cottage

Property: Teardrop Cottage
Address: Waterside, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teardrop cottage is set in the picturesque location of waterside, with magnificent views of the river, castle and Victorian stone viaduct. A short walk from the historic market town of Knaresborough, with its eclectic mix of restaurants,individual shops and fine old pubs, the nearby railway station provides quick and easy access to the towns of Harrogate and its international exhibition centre, York and Leeds, and borders the beautiful Yorkshire Dales, moors and the east coast....our aim is to give you a relaxing and memorable stay in our stunning and magical location. Our 4 rooms are comfortable and finished to a very high standard. Our breakfast menu offers delicious,freshly prepared and locally sourced food. We insist that you make yourself "at home". We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Teardrop Cottage Hotel Knaresborough
Teardrop Cottage Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing