We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious gluten free chinese food!!!”
Review of Riverview Chinese Restaurant - CLOSED

Riverview Chinese Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious gluten free chinese food!!!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I went here tonight and it's only the second chinese restaurant I have been to in England that serves gluten free food. They have a menu that is full of delicious dishes of which the majority can be served gluten free and they are denoted by red stars. My meal of crispy beef and fried rice was delicious and I am so grateful to be able to have a chinese for the first time in years. Thank you very much.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sallycoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    14
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Came without reservation and were seated straight. Service was brilliant and quick but never felt rushed. Food arrived very quickly and was delicious, appreciated by all and received great reviews.

Excellent resteraunt, highly recommended. Char Sui Pork is a must.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“very enjoyable”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We have just enjoyed a lovely meal at this Restaurant. We had the banquet for two at £42, the food was fresh, hot and plentiful. A very pleasant experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jessie carr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorks
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

good food, well cooked, nice flavours, delicate, not stodgy at all, great service, fair prices, nice beer, will definitely go back

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TorNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant, Great Takeaway and Gluten Free Options too!”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The Riverview is easily the best Chinese around Knaresborough and Harrogate but as I have a gluten intolerance it's really nice to find somewhere that really understands what goes into their food.

Both the restaurant and takeaway menus show the dishes can be made gluten free but the knowledge of the staff, and Sue in particular, is so good that you can ask for anything you want and they will let you know whether it can be made gluten free or not. It's quite rare that I have this confidence in a restaurant and have never had a bad meal yet.

The Riverview is highly recommended if you want to eat in or have a takeaway and equally good for couples and families.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riverview Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Knaresborough, Harrogate
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing