We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential Yorkshire Hospitality”
Review of The Homestead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Homestead
Ranked #9 of 15 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quintessential Yorkshire Hospitality”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Having lived in Yorkshire some 30 years ago, we were hoping for a friendly B and B offering genuine Yorkshire hospitality for two nights. We were not disappointed. Pauline was so kind and helpful and made us feel welcome and at home. Our room was extremely comfortable and our breakfasts were great.
The Homestead's location is ideal as a base for seeing many attractions such as York, Harrogate and Knaresborough but most of all we shall treasure Pauline's kindness and hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We had the good fortune of finding this little gem for an overnight stay when visiting Harrogate with friends. Our host Pauline was so welcoming and friendly . She went out of her way to make our stay so enjoyable. She even took us to the train station on our way into Harrogate and also picked us up from outside the pub in Knaresborough to take us back at 10.30 pm . The rooms were clean and spacious and comfortable. There was everything available to meet our needs. We ate a delicious and filling breakfast, very varied and again nothing was too much trouble for our host. Pauline is a lovely lady and felt that we had known her forever. Im sure that we will visit again. Wonderful experience in a beautiful setting. Stunning views from every window .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cerys12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

we stayed here on friday 20th sept after a wedding at Allerton castle 5 minutes away from the homestead by car.
Pauline made us feel really welcome on arrival and even offered to pick us up after the Night reception @ midnight to take us back to homestead which was very nice.
we stayed in one of the front rooms which had no ensuite but the bathroom was just along the hall way.
there was also another family couple staying with us and breakfast the next morning we were all in the dining room around a big oval table which was really nice to be able to sit with them ... this is perfect home from home experience and will book to stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahD1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We were only 1 mile from Allerton where we were going to a wedding, so location was perfect. We were made so welcome by our host. We upgraded our room to have the ensuite, we had loads of space & everything we needed. Everything was clean & fresh. Breakfasts were amazing meeting our needs, we ate later filling us up to keep us going until the wedding. The Homestead is a beautiful home in lovely grounds in a very quiet rural setting, highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We booked this venue because of the close proximity to Allerton Castle and were delighted when we drew up outside the Homestead. It is a lovely house in beautiful gardens, surrounded by open countryside.
The room was double aspect, light and clean, it had a comfy bed and everything you might possibly need, including things you may have forgotten.
The en-suite bathroom was attractive and roomy with a huge pile of towels and many toiletries. Pauline had thought of everything.
Pauline was the perfect host attending to our every needs, including a lift to and from the wedding at Allerton Castle.
The breakfast was plentiful, varied and delicious.
I can't recommend this place enough and look forward to an excuse to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAMELA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed at this B and B whilst attending a party at a nearby village. Pauline put us up at last minute when a nearby pub over booked us. I think we were lucky as we were totally looked after. The room, particularly the bed, was extremely comfortable and there was everything you could wish for. The breakfast was delicious, fresh and tasty. And Pauline was good enough to give us a lift to our party and back again which we were very grateful for. Would certainly recommend this B and B as a place to stay, excellent and thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beattheboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Pauline has a lovely home and so pleased she is prepared to share it! We took all 3 rooms for 2 nights and it was certainly a home from home. I asked for information about local churches and was driven to a service. Never had such wonderful and varied breakfasts at a B&B and we have stayed in hundreds. Can't wait for an excuse to go again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnitaKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
4.8 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
Days Inn Wetherby
Days Inn Wetherby
#1 of 3 in Wetherby
1,798 reviews
2.5 mi away
Goldsborough Hall
Goldsborough Hall
#1 of 15 in Knaresborough
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Newton House
Newton House
#4 of 15 in Knaresborough
468 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kirkgate House
Kirkgate House
#3 of 15 in Knaresborough
121 reviews
4.5 mi away
Old Royal Oak
Old Royal Oak
#7 of 15 in Knaresborough
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Homestead

Property: The Homestead
Address: Hopperton, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 8NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing