We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“trully mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Knaresborough
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“trully mixed feelings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

First of all, Knaresborough is terrific!! A tranquil, cosy and truly English small town in the Yorkshire countryside. We were excited and looking forward to a well-earned rest from the horrendous stress of day to day city life. The town was everything we wanted.
Upon arrival we were greeted and checked in by who I’m assuming was the hospitality manager Mr Harty who seemed overly pleased to see us. (Apologies, if we didn’t note the name correctly).
The room was disappointingly average. We can’t complain because it were clean and in character but were missing a few basics i.e. toilet rolls and soaps. Saying that, once reported they were filled within minutes. Wi fi wasn’t working and no sky!! We thought this would come as standard these days especially with the price.
Not expecting a great deal we ventured into the Health Spa. What a difference!!! We couldn’t believe such a fresh, well equipped and pleasant environment existed within a dated hotel. We cannot stress how clean the whole spa was. Every time we looked staff were cleaning or attending to other customers on an extremely busy day.
We weren’t booked in for beauty treatments (my bad) but to our surprise we were offered perfect time slots by a very pleasant young lady named Harriet. I actually believe that Kerrie ( Who gave me the best massage I’ve ever had!) stayed after her shift to complete our treatments, I peeked at their schedule.
Shortly after we cluelessly hit the gym. We must have looked like gym virgins as Ben came straight over and spent a good half hour showing us how to use the equipment.
We earned our relaxing sauna and Jacuzzi before been waited on hand and foot by Simon (How he coped with us ill never know). We cant tell you how nice it was to have two handsome, attractive and down to earth Men spending the afternoon with us. We ended up spending way too much money down there but well worth it.
Back to the hotel. The evening meal was average and pricey compared to the lunch we had ( different chefs?) After a boozing night in Harrogate we came back to be kept up all night by rowdy men staying what sounded like the other side of the corridor.
Overall I struggled to rate the visit. The spa and area definitely 5*+ hotel much lower. We recommend booking accommodation somewhere else local with WiFi BUT visit the Imagine Health Spa!!!!

Kate and Claire
(we purposley didnt read any reviews before the visit or before writing this. We wanted to give a honest, unbiased review for you all)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Kate & Claire

Firstly thank you for your feedback which really does help us improve and is much appreciated.

Although I was delighted you enjoyed some aspects of your stay I was sorry to read that some points including your accommodation was disappointing.

We are presently refurbishing some more bedrooms and it won't be long before they are all of a high standard.

You have certainly made Kerrie, Harriet, Simon & Ben's day as such positive feedback gives us a real buzz and is a great motivator.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to fully restore your faith as we do genuinely care and would very much like to demonstrate our true capabilities.

Many thanks and kind regards

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    190
    102
    68
    28
See reviews for
93
293
22
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Been to this place many times and always "comfortable" in a good way.An individual and well appointed hotel so no need to go out but if you do the town of Knaresborough is minutes away.A lovely individual unspoilt town. Very relaxing if you wish or there are spa facilities.
Staff seem to like their jobs and the customers!!

Room Tip: There is "old house" part or new extension.All rooms are of proper standard. I prefer the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JNDawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear JNDawson

Thank you for staying with us again. We are so delighted to read that have returned and you have enjoyed your stay.

Positive feedback gives all the team a real buzz.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards.

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We had a lovely time. The staff were helpful and accommodating, the hotel was comfortable and attractive, as was the spa. We particularly enjoyed dinner; the food was reasonable and delicious. We also got a great deal on the price!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riscagirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Riscagirl2

Thank you for staying with us. We are so delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay.

Your comments have been passed onto the whole team, positive feedback gives us all a real buzz.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards.

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

My father and I stayed at the Dower House Hotel last week and I would like to express my thanks for such a wonderful night and praise the manager Ken and his staff for "the extra-mile" they all went to.
Without boring readers I will not go into all the detail but, my father was diagnosed with terminal cancel last week and has only a few months left in this world. We were in need of an immediate break and wanted to take my dog with us for a quiet stay somewhere out of York to collect our thoughts and plan the next few months. This was explained to Ken (GM) on booking.
Anyway, the booking was made at 11.30am and we arrived just after 1pm and what a treat! On arrival we were greeted with a very friendly welcome and told we had been upgraded to a superior room which was very comfortable with two single beds and all the necessary bits and bobs. The shower was excellent and the bed was a dream to sleep in. Overall a very fresh, clean and comfortable room.
We wanted to take Theo (my dog) for a run and find a nice pub that would take dogs and the receptionist gave us all the necessary directions. To be honest we felt that dining with Theo may cause issues with a couple that had also checked in and seemed a bit surprised that we had a dog in the hotel. The staff were more than friendly towards all of us and (we think) left a dog bowl in the patio FULL of sausages! If they were not for Theo he would still like to pass his compliments to the chef for a delicious feast!!
We did not eat either dinner or breakfast because neither of us could really muster an appetite after the distressing news about the cancer. This is not a reflection on the lovely menu and recommendations we had during our stay. The restaurant and bar were spotlessly clean, contemporary and inviting. We were just really after a quiet place to talk with and take Theo and possibly a takeaway, a few beers and be alone so please don't take that as a negative point. As it turns out my Sous Chef was once the pastry chef at The Dower House and can verify the food is excellent.
For those of you with dogs I can recommend the Crown Inn just up the road for a warm welcome and if they are not serving food you can bring in a takeaway!! That's what we did but I strongly advise against the little Chinese takeaway across the road...shockingly overpriced and tasteless!
Back to the Dower House...we did not utilise all of the facilities at hand including the swimming pool, steam room, sauna and Gym, or in fact the restaurant but I can assure you that the team there know how to look after you.
Again I would like to express my sincere gratitude for all involved for what was a brief yet very memorable little break.

Room Tip: Ask about dog friendly rooms closer to the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaneChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Shane,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. I am delighted to read that you & your father, not forgetting Theo enjoyed your time with us and I can assure you it was a pleasure to welcome you.

Do not hesitate to contact me again if you need a little break home from home.

Kind regards

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston Spa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

My friends and I have had a lovely weekend at the Dower House in Knaresborough. Hotel is full of character, food is delicious and I liked everything on the menu! The "Imagine" spa is quite small but lovely - small pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, foot baths and ice; as well as excellent treatments - I had the Asian massage, with hot stones. Great value deal!

Room Tip: There are old and modern rooms -so ask for what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Penny

Thank you so much for your kind comments relating to your stay with us. These are discussed in detail with the staff and the positive comments always give us a great buzz and are a real motivator.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to you returning in the near future.

Kind regards

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We visited The Dower House Hotel as a group of 13 ladies wanting an afternoon of relaxation and pampering in a Spa followed by dinner. We arrived at 1.30pm and were met by incredibly friendly and helpful staff who showed us around The Spa and explained the schedule for the afternoon and evening. Each of us also had a 30 minute treatment and the whole afternoon ran so smoothly. By 7pm we were thoroughly relaxed and were escorted through to the restaurant area where we were greeted with a nice cold drink of something bubbly and shown into a private dining room by manager Ken Hardy. We had a beautiful 3 course meal. The staff were very friendly and there was always somebody available to help but they were also very unobtrusive. The staff are a real credit to the hotel. The hotel has a lovely atmosphere and is very clean. Considering we were a reasonably large party of normally very busy and harrassed mums, the whole afternoon and evening ran effortlessly and as a result we all went home feeling very relaxed and spoilt! I have no hesitations in booking again and hopefully we will be returning for a similar visit in a few months time - I expect with a few extra ladies!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Charlotte B

Thank you so much for taking time to write about your stay with us.

We are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us, I have passed your comments on to all the team.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Many thanks and kind regards,

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cudworth, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Had a night at the Dower House on DB&B food was very good, staff very good, evening meal was really good. Will recommend i.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Phil C

Thank you very much for taking time to write about your stay with us.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us, I have passed your comments on to all the team.

We very much look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Many thanks and kind regards,

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,447 reviews
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
3.1 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa

Property: BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
Address: Bond End, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel is as full of character as it is convenience, when you're not enjoying a good nights sleep, you can relax in our recently refurbished Imagine Health & Spa with a swim, treatment or work out.You'll not only enjoy the sights and sounds of the traditional market town of Knaresborough, but also the opportunity to take in beautiful river walks and historical landmarks such as Mother Shiptons Cave and the Castle ruins ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dower Hotel
Best Western Knaresborough
Knaresborough Best Western
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing