We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding at the Dower House 28/4/2012” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Knaresborough
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding at the Dower House 28/4/2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

This venue was a brilliant choice for our wedding reception. We stayed the night before and the night of our wedding and enjoyed first class treatment. There were a couple of issues on the day, but, as the bride there weren't many that I was aware of as the staff and guests sorted between themselves and the ones I was aware of I have raised with them directly. Wedding aside though, the stay was lovely, the room was lovely and the staff were lovely. All in all a nice place to stay with great food and nice company.

Room Tip: We stayed in the honeymoon suit which was spacious and a good place to get ready as a bride. Just wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJDwithMCLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    189
    100
    68
    27
See reviews for
92
288
21
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Hotel is warm and inviting, staff are friendly and helpful and the Spa was so relaxing. The locally sourced food was cooked to perfection, with plenty of choice at both breakfast and evening meal.
A perfect 3 night stay just the break we needed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B0st0nChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear B0st0nChick

Thank you so much for taking time to write about your stay with us.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us, I have passed your comments on to all the team.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Many thanks and kind regards,


Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We have just returned from an overnight Spa break at the lovely Dower House Hotel. The break was booked as an early Birthday treat and what a lovely, relaxing treat it was! The Spa, whilst not huge compared to some, was perfectly lovely and the staff were friendly and helpful. As part of the Spa package we had access to the pool, steam room, foot Spas and hot tub as well as a 30 minute treatment (I chose the hot stone massage which was divine!). We also had complimentary refreshments in the Spa - tea, coffee etc as well as chilled water and juice.

The package also included Dinner in the hotel - 3 courses - and offered choice and great quality - I had the chicken which was delicious! The hotel rooms were clean and spacious and the breakfast was delicious - loads of choice, cereals, yogurts, pastries, fresh fruit and juices, teas and coffees plus a cooked to order hot breakfast.

The staff were very friendly and helpful both in the restaurant and the Spa and the reception staff were very welcoming. All in all we had a lovely stay here and cannot wait to return. The Sunday night Spa break offers amazing value for money. Looking forward to our next visit already!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jodanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Jodanners

Thank you for staying with us. We are so delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay.

Your comments have been passed onto the whole team, positive feedback gives us all a real buzz.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Feedback from our members following our recent holiday.

"Hotel was excellent - best ever"

"Hotel and food were both excellent"

"Everything passed along with a friendly and happy atmosphere - most enjoyable"

"Manager and staff were efficient, helpful and very kind".

Room Tip: All rooms were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathrynV1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
To all our new friends from Probus Club of Castle Donington, it was a pleasure having you stay with us for the week in April.

We are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us, I have passed your comments on to all the team.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards


Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Booked in for the 2 night spa break. Excellent spa facilities. All staff both in the hotel and in the spa were friendly, helpful and welcoming. Ate in the restaurant and found the food to be of a high quality and generously proportioned. Knaresborough is full of little boutique shops and although not a big place is ideal for shopping for out of the ordinary goods. The bedrooms are of a good standard, clean, comfortable and well equipped. I requested an iron and ironing board from reception and received it within 3 minutes! Would definitely stop here again.

Room Tip: I upgraded to a double room so have no idea what a single room is like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear Victoria

Thank you for staying with us. We are so pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay.

Delighted you enjoyed our spa facilities, we are very lucky to have a great team here at the Dower House Hotel & Spa positive feedback gives us all a real buzz.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards.

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed for a three night walking holiday in the area. The weather was terrible but the hotel and its location made the stay really enjoyable.
The staff created a very pleasant friendly atmosphere and were always anxious to provide what ever assistance they could.
When planning the trip we had intended to eat in local restaurants, but changed our mind after eating in the hotel on the first evening. We found the hotel menu offered a good varied choice and the quality and presentation of the meals was excellent.
Our room was comfortable, fairly large, warm, clean and well furnished and was cleaned thoroughly each day.
We only used the pool and spar in late afternoon but found them clean, warm, inviting and very quite.
The Dower House will be our first choice when visitng the area again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ray_sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Ray & Shiela

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us, If only we could arrange better waether.

Your comments have been passed onto the whole team, positive feedback gives us all a real buzz.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards.


Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
236 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel again for a few days when in Harrogate for business.
Again I was not let down, simply a great hotel, well run with a great leisure centre and pool, which is all free to hotel guests.
I did not eat meals here, due to work commitments, but if the breakfast is anything to go with, the meals must be great.
Keep up the good work.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jman26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Jman26

Thank you for staying with us again, it is always a pleasure to welcome returning guests.

Your comments have been passed onto the whole team, positive feedback gives us all a real buzz.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,394 reviews
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
3.1 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#3 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa

Property: BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
Address: Bond End, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel is as full of character as it is convenience, when you're not enjoying a good nights sleep, you can relax in our recently refurbished Imagine Health & Spa with a swim, treatment or work out.You'll not only enjoy the sights and sounds of the traditional market town of Knaresborough, but also the opportunity to take in beautiful river walks and historical landmarks such as Mother Shiptons Cave and the Castle ruins ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dower Hotel
Best Western Knaresborough
Knaresborough Best Western
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing