We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rudding Park Hotel(Follifoot)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate(Harrogate)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimberley Hotel(Harrogate)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (694)
Filter reviews
695 results
Traveller rating
261
222
107
69
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
261
222
107
69
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteam roomleisure facilitiesminute treatmentsmall poollovely hotelthe hotel managerrestaurant staffwedding receptionevening mealweekend breakbusy roadstaff were excellentcouldn't faultroom was largefood was lovelylots of choiceenjoyable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
435 - 440 of 695 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stopped en route from Edinburgh to London and glad we did. Timing meant we had no time to visit Knaresborough but the quick glimpse we got means we are determined to return.
Hotel was lovely -gemütlich as Germans say. Warm welcome, beautiful fresh food, wood fires, lovely grounds and a small spa and pool -what more could a weary traveller ask?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMHEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear D and M H

Thank you for your kind comments I have passed to the whole team.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Many thanks and kind regards,


Ken Hardy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Just back from staying 3 nights at this hotel, lovely big clean bedroom, huge comfortable bed. Very good breakfast and good choices on dinner menu on all three nights, food was just excellent all served nice and hot with good selection of vegetables. Staff all helpful and very friendly. You can have a lovely walk down by the river. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puntoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear puntoman

Thank you so much for taking time to write about your stay with us.

We are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us, I have passed your comments on to all the team.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Many thanks and kind regards,

Ken Hardy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Recently stayed here for a few days on business and was happy enough with my accommodation. Room dated but clean. Bathroom a little rough around the edges but ok. Breakfast was excellent, both hot and cold options. Meal at night was also very good and the menu changed every night we stayed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cdjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Cdjnr

Thank you very much for taking time to write about your stay with us.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us, I have passed your comments on to all the team.

We have refurbished many of our rooms and hope to have them all done to a high standard..

We very much look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Many thanks and kind regards,

Ken Hardy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed 1 night (Saturday) in Sept 2013. Location is good close to town centre and Shiptons Cave/River Nidd. Very charming old fashioned building, plenty of car parking. Staff very helpful and friendly and downstairs area is beautiful, log fire in the bar area. We ate in the restaurant, 2 courses and wine was £60 but it was very nice freshly cooked food.

Biggest disapointment was the room as others have stated, clean but dated and tired, shower was a trickle. Drab decor although bed was big and comfortable. Paid £114 without a breakfast included !! Definately over-priced and for that reason would not stay again. Paid £90 for room only in Harrogate earlier in year and the room was fantastic, spacious and modern.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Den N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Den N

Thank you very much for taking time to write about your stay with us.

Although you enjoyed aspects of your stay I was sorry to learn that your accommodation was disappointing and please accept our apologies for this.

We have refurbished many of the rooms and it won't be long before they are all of a high standard.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to fully restore your faith and that you may stay with us again in the future.

Many thanks and kind regards,

Ken Hardy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The best thing about this hotel was the location to the wedding I was attending.

Otherwise I think it was highly overpriced. The room was worn, the bathroom very old fashioned (or just old - broken bin, shower curtain, a door that wouldn’t shut properly unless you slammed it etc.

The bar and the food were great as was the breakfast. The staff were friendly although did a disappearing act when I was trying to check out.

And the spa area looked great. I used the steam room and the Jacuzzi and was very impressed with the surroundings.

I don’t think it was worth the money though…

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hum01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear hum01

Thank you for your feedback which we genuinely appreciate and I am sorry we did not meet all your expectations.

We have been refurbishing many rooms and bathrooms throughout the hotel and hope to have them all to a high standard very soon.

We are committed to "getting it right " for all our guests. I do hope you will return at some point where we can demonstrate our true capabilities

Kind regards

Ken Hardy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews