We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best western Knersbourough” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Knaresborough
newmarket, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best western Knersbourough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is simply the best hotel we stay in in the UK and we stay all over the country in all sorts of hotels most welcoming and helpful staff Located near Harrogate and York and better than any of the other hotels in those towns

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear A M

Thank you for your feedback, we genuinely appreciate your kind comments, I have passed on to all the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    189
    100
    68
    27
See reviews for
92
288
22
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bradford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I've used the spa here before but never stayed in the hotel so decided to go for the full package and stay overnight. Really friendly hotel staff, very welcoming and charming, and gorgeous hotel. Very traditional feel with stone floor and open log fire but all the modern amenities to finish this to a high standard. We bought the luxury spa package and our room was beautiful with a four poster bed and sash windows. Bathroom very nicely finished with a shower with the jet facilities. Parking right outside the hotel for free. Due to our own delays we didn't get to the hotel until 3pm but went straight into the spa and were able to enjoy this until later in the evening. Nice spa with all the usual facilities of sauna, pool, jacuzzi etc. Massage was included in our package and it was amazing, I felt so relaxed afterwards. Dinner in the Storm restaurant was fantastic! Breakfast (also included in the price) was great too. We were able to use the spa on the day of our check out. Overall a really lovely weekend and only a short walk from Knaresborough town centre. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Jade S

Thank you for your kind comments, the whole team are delighted that you enjoyed your weekend with us in Knaresborough.

We look forward to seeing you back with us here at hotel soon.

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Great location. Easy parking. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Hotel bedrooms a little tired. Bathroom very dated and shower merely a dribble. Great breakfast. Reception area pleasant but should have spent the money on the bedrooms/bathrooms. Dirty glass left in bedroom and carpet very obviously not hoovered.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank JenniferNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear JenniferNorth

Thank you for your feedback which we genuinely appreciate and I am sorry we did not meet all your expectations.

We have emailed you personally and look forward to discussing your stay with us
as we are committed to "getting it right " for all our guests.

I do hope you will return at some point where we can demonstrate our true capabilities

Kind regards

Ken Hardy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

My mum and dad stayed here so the review is from my mum.

The service is excellent but the whole hotel needs upgrading. The decor, the beds, the wallpapering, the fittings, the bathroom, everything is stuck in the 80's. The exterior is immaculate but the interior leaves a lot to be desired!

I did like the parking availability, location, service from the staff.

Room Tip: If you like the 80's decor any room will suffice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyLovesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear HollyLovesLondon

Thank you for passing on the feedback of your parents, we genuinely appreciate and I am sorry we did not meet all their expectations.

We have refurbished many of our rooms and it won't be long before they are all of a high standard.

I am delighted they found all the staff to be excellent we are committed to "getting it right " for all our guests.

Kind regards


Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Enjoyed very much our stay at this hotel, situated, as it is, in God's own country ! The town of course is delightful, and the hotel lived up to our expectations. Quiet and comfortable bedroom, friendly and efficient service, plenty of parking spaces and enjoyable, if slightly limited, meals.
Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Derek C

Thank you very much for taking time to write about your stay with us.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us.

We very much look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Many thanks and kind regards,

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stopped en route from Edinburgh to London and glad we did. Timing meant we had no time to visit Knaresborough but the quick glimpse we got means we are determined to return.
Hotel was lovely -gemütlich as Germans say. Warm welcome, beautiful fresh food, wood fires, lovely grounds and a small spa and pool -what more could a weary traveller ask?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMHEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear D and M H

Thank you for your kind comments I have passed to the whole team.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Many thanks and kind regards,


Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,405 reviews
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
3.1 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa

Property: BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
Address: Bond End, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel is as full of character as it is convenience, when you're not enjoying a good nights sleep, you can relax in our recently refurbished Imagine Health & Spa with a swim, treatment or work out.You'll not only enjoy the sights and sounds of the traditional market town of Knaresborough, but also the opportunity to take in beautiful river walks and historical landmarks such as Mother Shiptons Cave and the Castle ruins ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dower Hotel
Best Western Knaresborough
Knaresborough Best Western
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing