We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, small friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Knaresborough
Beaminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great service, small friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We had a really enjoyable 2 days at the hotel, very friendly, local staff and very good food. Breakfast was cooked to order which is a great bonus, dinner very good indeed. We had the large room 28 which was just above the spa and pool, handy if you intend to use it. Our only problem was that we couldn't get wifi in the room although we were offered a booster cable, and one of the staff turned it on/off to try and improve it. Wifi was very patchy throughout the hotel, if you were working then it would be a real problem. Hotel was in a good position for Harrogate, just a short drive away. There was one room with access from a disabled parking spot outside the door. Small bar area but a good sized lounge with open fire. It looked like some of the hotel had been refurbished, but parts were quite shabby particularly the corridors and carpets.

Room Tip: Room 28 is a very large room at the end of a corridor and close to the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rauma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Rauma

Thank you very much for taking time to write about your stay. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us.

We very much look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Many thanks and kind regards,

Ken Hardy
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    190
    102
    68
    28
See reviews for
93
293
22
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

We have not long returned from a lovely stay at The Dower House. All staff were very friendly and welcoming. We made good use of the Spa and both myself and my husband had a treatment, my deep tissue massage has to be the best massage I have ever had. We ate in the Storm restaurant on the evening there was plenty to choose from on the menu and the food was really nice. Breakfast the next morning was fantastic I had a full English and the portion was huge, a great way to start the day. I would highly recommend this hotel for a lovely little spa getaway.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Kerry F

Thank you for staying with us and your feedback, we genuinely appreciate your kind comments, I have passed on to all the team.

It was a pleasure to welcome you to the hotel and we all wish you well on the arrival of the lttle one.

Kind regards

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We booked this hotel with Tesco vouchers and asked if we could pay the extra to upgrade when we arrived at the hotel,no problem.When we booked in we found we had been upgraded to a superior room free of charge! The room,28, was at the end of the corridor and was light and airy with a huge bed and a lovely modern bathroom. It was very warm and we had to use a book to prop open the sash window but that was fine.
The only slight niggle was that the Spa was below our room and there were treatment rooms opposite ours but this wasnt an issue as everyone was quiet but it was noisy first thing in the morning as the staff opened up for the day and again last thing at night.
The breakfast was great,freshly cooked to order with lots of cereals,fruit and toast,the staff were really helpful and service was very quick.
The bar area had a log burner and very comfortable chairs and daily newspapers.We didnt have dinner in the hotel so cannot comment.
The hotel is very close to the train station and you can easily get to Harrogate or York but Knaresborough itself is a delight with good pubs and a couple of superb restaurants, can really recommend 'Carriges' especially the early bird menu which was fantastic! So much so we went twice!
We are looking forward to staying at the Dower House again soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caznsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear caznsteve

Thank you very much for taking time to write about your stay.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us, I have passed your comments on to all the team.

We very much look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Many thanks and kind regards,

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed at the Dower house hotel because I needed to be near Harrogate but not pay Harrogate prices. I checked in early at 12.00pm with no extra charge. We had a little afternoon Tea (Tea and scones) the scones were divine! After the scones we headed to the spa were we relaxed for a while the cleanliness of the spa was 2nd to none!
After having a big night out in Harrogate we got back to the hotel and were greeted by night staff that were very friendly and happy to chat.
Breakfast was great and the checkout receptionist was very efficient.

Room Tip: We had a room near the spa which was handy if your going to want to use it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Robert E

Thank you for staying with us and your review.

I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay here in Knaresborough and that the night porter was very friendly & chatty, he will be delighted he has helped to ensure your stay was enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Dower House & Spa in the near future.

Regards

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

First the good news; a sincere welcome, very friendly and helpful staff, great location for the town plus tourist attractions and walks, plenty of parking, a pleasant bar and sitting area, nice dining room and lots of choice for breakfast. Our 'superior' (their description, not mine) bedroom needed a complete make over - a strange mixture of mainly useless furniture, 1980s decorative ideas, a very dated bathroom featuring a dribbling mixer shower combined with the taps (remember those?), no hot water after ten p.m. and sash windows that were difficult to open. The lack of ventilation meant the windows had to left open so my wife couldn't sleep due to the near constant traffic noise from the adjacent A59 also meaning the room was cold or we woke with headaches. Breakfasts were excellent with everything from super healthy through to the Really Full English and the selection of table sizes meant we could sit with different groups of friends. Dinner was stuck in the tradition of the worst of British food - duck pate that needed a sharp steak knife, soup and main courses so salty, that meant with the strong sauces the flavours were killed. The desserts were so sweet that it was difficult to differentiate between the dishes. I should have ordered the cheese and biscuits - that looked good and my friend polished his off. The night porter was particular helpful when a very late night cuppa was required. Environmentally, it also lives in the past - an inefficient heating system, lots of wasted water waiting for the hot version to appear and filament bulbs galore, mostly left on all night. We had a great week end thanks to the company but we won't be back. Ironically there is a Spa (Imagine) that has been added to the hotel and has obviously had a lot invested in it...........priorities?

Room Tip: One away from the road with a modern bathroom - if that exists at the hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watchman077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Watchman077

Firstly thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback, it is through our guest’s comments that we can improve on our standards and level of service we provide.

Although you enjoyed aspects of your stay I was sorry to learn that you would not return, We have refurbished many of the rooms and it won't be long before they are all of a high standard.

We received some very positive feedback from your group and we look forward to them returning in the future.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to fully restore your faith and that you may stay with us again in the future.

Once again thank you for your constructive comments and rest assured we genuinely care and will act upon them

Many thanks and kind regards

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newmarket, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is simply the best hotel we stay in in the UK and we stay all over the country in all sorts of hotels most welcoming and helpful staff Located near Harrogate and York and better than any of the other hotels in those towns

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear A M

Thank you for your feedback, we genuinely appreciate your kind comments, I have passed on to all the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I've used the spa here before but never stayed in the hotel so decided to go for the full package and stay overnight. Really friendly hotel staff, very welcoming and charming, and gorgeous hotel. Very traditional feel with stone floor and open log fire but all the modern amenities to finish this to a high standard. We bought the luxury spa package and our room was beautiful with a four poster bed and sash windows. Bathroom very nicely finished with a shower with the jet facilities. Parking right outside the hotel for free. Due to our own delays we didn't get to the hotel until 3pm but went straight into the spa and were able to enjoy this until later in the evening. Nice spa with all the usual facilities of sauna, pool, jacuzzi etc. Massage was included in our package and it was amazing, I felt so relaxed afterwards. Dinner in the Storm restaurant was fantastic! Breakfast (also included in the price) was great too. We were able to use the spa on the day of our check out. Overall a really lovely weekend and only a short walk from Knaresborough town centre. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Jade S

Thank you for your kind comments, the whole team are delighted that you enjoyed your weekend with us in Knaresborough.

We look forward to seeing you back with us here at hotel soon.

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,452 reviews
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
3.1 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa

Property: BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
Address: Bond End, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel is as full of character as it is convenience, when you're not enjoying a good nights sleep, you can relax in our recently refurbished Imagine Health & Spa with a swim, treatment or work out.You'll not only enjoy the sights and sounds of the traditional market town of Knaresborough, but also the opportunity to take in beautiful river walks and historical landmarks such as Mother Shiptons Cave and the Castle ruins ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dower Hotel
Best Western Knaresborough
Knaresborough Best Western
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing